We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always on the agenda” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanjusangendo Temple

Sanjusangendo Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
US$92.01*
and up
Private Highlights of Kyoto Tour
Ranked #5 of 1,010 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Originally named Rengeoin Temple, this site has taken on the name of the great hall within which houses 1001 life-sized, wooden statues of Kannon, the goddess of mercy.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“always on the agenda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

everytime I visit Kyoto, I come back to this special temple

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,665 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,682
    769
    190
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
424 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Stunning statues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Very interesting the 1001 statues of the god Kannon arranged row upon row in a very big wooden building. In the center there is a large statue of more than 3 meters of the same god sitting, dated of 1254. The golden statues glow in the dark hall and it's a shame not to be allowed to photograph .... Is it worth buying a book in the souvenir shop. You can easily get there by bus. When we visited it, in the beginning of February, the place was not crowded and we could calmly appreciate the statues.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mariafaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Convenient Location & Easy to find.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

From Kyoto Station, go to D2 and take any bus. It goes to sanjusangendo and Gion area. Very convenient and easy to find. If you have 3 hours to spend, recommend to visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank meteorstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No cameras allowed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

The sanjusangendo hall is unique with its 1001 statues, but the entrance to the hall is quite pricey in comparison to other tourist spots and you cannot take photos in the hall. My friend & i went without knowing and we were quite dissappointed as it was quite a beautiful sight. I would give this place a miss due to the amount of crowd, price and because we cannot take photos of the 1 thing that was truly unique.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ariffaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really cool and a great way to start Kyoto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This temple was really interesting. The inside was filled with statues that were detailed and amazing to look out. The grounds surrounding the temple were beautiful. There were trees and ponds and during the spring there would be beautiful flowers. This was the first temple I had gone to in Kyoto and it was definitely a good way to start the day.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank wallabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanjusangendo Temple also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Sanjusangendo Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing