We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Japanese experience!”
other travellers have booked this property
It was repaired Gion historic district building by Kyoto City Gov.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
It was repaired Gion historic district building by Kyoto City Gov.
This is developed as Gion style facade. World Heritage Site ‘’Yakusugi’’ dining solid wood table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
It was repaired Gion historic district building by Kyoto City Gov.
This is developed as Gion style facade.
World Heritage Site ‘’Yakusugi’’ dining solid wood table
11 traditional old fashion size (wide size) tatamis room.
High Class White Mother-Goose Futons are provided on Tatami Room
Hand made by Shigaraki ware bathtub with shower facility, adjacent to garden
Hand made by Shigaraki ware bathtub with shower facility, adjacent to garden
The modern Japanese toilet Washlet
Japanese high class furniture manufacturer 'MORISHIGE' leather sofa with lacquer
Large capacity drum-type washer-dryers provide in the closet
Lighting effects by Antique lamps
The Gion Festival takes place annually in Kyoto July 14-17.
The Gion Festival takes place annually in Kyoto July 14-17.
Try a rickshaw ride
Night viewing of illuminated trees is also popular.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture, Kinki

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Linda H
Little Hartley NSW
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Japanese experience!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Gion House is in a great central location, convenience stores, buses and trains are all within 8 minutes walk. We suggest you walk through the quiet streets, (around 5pm) you will often see a Geisha on her way to work. Gion House gave us a wonderful traditional Japanese experience, there was a warm and cosy feeling as soon as we walked in, the house had everything we needed and all were in excellent working order, WiFi is strong. We stayed for 5 nights and loved the freedom of being self contained. We found wonderful little local restaurants close by, we had the best Okonomyaki, turn right out of the house and 2nd left. All our emails were answered promptly and after payment through PayPal we were given full directions to the house with easy self entry instruction (in english and japanese, which the taxi driver appreciated) There is a great antique shop next store which we spent several thousand yen in. We have wonderful memories Kyoto and we would highly, highly recommend a stay at Gion House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Traditional Japanese experience, in a warm cosy atmosphere
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipsfroma...
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Stylish, compact and very Japanese!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 for a stay in June 2012

As it turns out, these machiya are becoming quite rare, and this is an example of an especially nicely renovated one. It is cozy, be prepared for that! But for a group of three or four, it's much better than two hotel rooms or a suite. And the details are incredible. Not a nail used to build the entire place and the Japanese cedar and polished wood are just perfection. We loved the pocket garden and the bathroom with it's sunken 'pot' for a bath. The whole place is plain in that aesthetically beautiful Japanese way, but there are plenty of high-tech touches; the bathroom dryer and toilet have all the bells and whistles, there are two air-conditioners, a convection/microwave oven, and the space-aged washing machine was a wonder! The house was super clean and there are good instructions for everything, which you may need to refer to. Downside would only be that it's very close to the road - the way all Kyoto machiya are - so traffic noise is quite loud. You could move your futon away from the upstairs window and it might help. Speaking of futons, the firm side is too firm! Turn it over and add the extra layer if you need to and you'll have a good nights sleep. The neighbourhood is great, a short walk to two lovely supermarkets and Kinninji temple across the road is beautiful - don't leave it until the last evening to explore like we did! It's not so much a tourist area, even though it's in Gion, but that makes it nice. It's a mix of residential and quirky little shops. Yes, we even bumped into a Maiko a block or so away! She was the real thing and took off, walking incredibly quickly in her zori! She melted into a doorway before we could get a decent photo...oh well, we'll have to come back and try again! We saw her as we walked to a small, and very basic, children's playground so if you have kids you can fight through the smokers to use the playground. We could only stay for three nights - unfortunately - and it was nowhere near long enough. If you get a chance to go to Kyoto, choose this machiya, you won't regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The round bath-tub is like a giant pot!
Liked least: road noise, slippery wood floor.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Reviewed January 13, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Waiki5
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
“Dream accomodation!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed in Gion house with our 4 and 6 year-olds for 8 nights in December 2012. It was great!
We took the advise from Mr. Tanaka to take a door-to-door transport service from Osaka airport to Gion house. It worked like clockwork and we did not have to carry a thing!
Location of the Gion house is super, we could walk to many attractions like Yasaka shrine, Chion-in temple, Keninji, Gion. Walking to the next subway station or bus station took also just 10 min.
Shopping was easy as the closest grocery store (where we got our dinners) are just 5 minute on foot. For more shopping we could walk 10 min to Gion district where we got all our souvenirs.
We really loved the neighborhood that gave us the real experience of living in a Japanese community.
The house is very cozy, and stylish. Very clean. There were clear instructions for how to use the appliances in the house. Floor heating works good. Not to mention the bath tub where we enjoyed a hot soak after a long days walk in Kyoto.
We can only recommend the Gion House to those planning their trip to Kyoto, it made our vacation so perfect! We will surely stay their again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the house
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Reviewed December 31, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco
Reviewed November 28, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dallas Texas USA
Reviewed October 24, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing