We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and design; avoid Manzo restaurant nearby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Ranked #13 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Very well-designed, spotless room. We were on the second floor, facing away from the street, so it was very quiet. The window faced the wall of a neighboring building, so the hotel had placed a planter with tall bamboo that provided a relaxing "view."
Service was excellent, and most personnel spoke English quite well. Breakfast buffet was superb in quality, although unchanging day-to-day.
Concierge personnel were very helpful with directions and advice, with one exception: don't let them send you to the Manzo restaurant down the street. The food was mediocre and it was the only establishment we encountered (in 2 weeks in Japan) where the waitresses were genuinely rude.
Tip on internet access: for the cost of one daily service, we were provided with a wireless router, enabling us to use two computers and two smartphones at once.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BSOfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,403)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,288 - 1,294 of 2,404 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

The room is very beautiful and well maintain. Great location.They look after guest well. Wonderful breakfast buffet and friendly staff. This is my 3rd stay and I will surely return. An A+

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJ1176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We chose this hotel because we wanted something that was safe in terms of comfort. Fortunately we had everything we wanted for our tourism in Kyoto.

The room was small but within the Japanese standards. We had a shower with a delightful Japanese bath.
The breakfast was excellent, as is the restaurant in the same place. The dinner was delicious!

The location was a bit far from the station, and always went by taxi there. Remember that everything is made in Japan by train. But the taxi was less expensive than Tokyo.

The room that we were facing a lush garden with the sound of summer Japanese cicadas. Very beautiful! Furthermore the hotel is right next to one of the most beautiful Japanese temples for me: Sanjusangendo Temple - This alone makes up for the location.

What I liked the hotel was the exceptional service of the Japaneses, very polite and professional. Surely we will be back.

* Be careful not to stay on lower floors, ask to stay in the rooms facing the highest rear of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lluviaxlluvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

It is easy to walk from teh hotel to bus stops, and the buses go to most tourist attractions. The decoration of the hotel is minimalist and zen. I stayed at two types of rooms-balcony king and corner double. The balcony king room, with the large wooden tub and marble floor, is luxury. The corner double, with seperated living and sleeping area, is practical. I enjoy them both. I have decent service since booking. I get an email to book all my needs using e-concierge. During my stay, I easily to get friendly help from the staff, like asking about attraction, DVDs and a humidifier. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shirley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I have stayed at the Hyatt Regency last October / November for 2 weeks and was so impressed with the standards of service, beautiful room/bathroom , great restaurants and fantastic location right next to Sanjusangendo ! Our stay was just wonderful, thank you Ms Shimoda and Ms Sakura for your kindness and professional advises at all time.
Buffet breakfast is delicious, the italian restaurant fantastic and the sushi among the best in Kyoto.I can't recommend the Hyatt enough.We shall be back in April with great pleasure!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharit911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The quiet location is soothing after the crowd of the city. Conveniently situated beside a bus stop and a short walk to the trains, it is very easy to get around. Everything is tasteful - cool but also cold. Still, you can't beat the the bathroom with all its amenities in a fitted drawer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Well_Travelled_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed there two nights. Nice zen room, though our view was of the lower roof and tree tops. Spacious and clean, the deco was tasteful and, well, zen. Minimalist but practical, we liked the uncluttered country feel, and thought the place was clean and well kept. The service staff was extremely helpful and proactive, and offered some good tips for sightseeing. The only main downside was the restaurant Touzan. It's way overrated and very expensive. We ate there and had a Kaiseki dinner on the recommendation of guide books, but we found the beef tough, so unlike the beef we had in far more reasonable joints. That said the restaurant is in a nice setting but that still doesn't justify the high price. Overall, I would highly recommend the Hyatt Kyoto. Comments that it's a little way off from key tourist attractions are true, but remember, this isn't that large a city to begin with.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Singapore_trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#17 of 373 in Kyoto
3,037 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 373 in Kyoto
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#23 of 373 in Kyoto
1,243 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#21 of 373 in Kyoto
897 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kyoto

Address: 644-2 Sanjusangendo-mawari, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0941, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $439 - $866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing