We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Ranked #9 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2015

In fact, I was surprised by this hotel where everything exceeded my expectations, initially i chose the hotel because of its location and the price as the location of the hotel is excellent and everything close to it, the Kyoto Museum is located across the street from the hotel and more than a bus stop outside the hotel. And for the building was very special and wonderful. and my room was very comfortable and the view was on the hotel interior garden. hotel facilities as well as excellent, especially the bar. And what I liked most about this hotel is the high level of service from all the staff.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Abdulla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 2,512 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2015

After a bustling visit to Tokyo, this was a respite! The service is A+++ from the Hyatt staff. Our generous room overlooked a beautiful courtyard, extremely comfortable bed, the bathroom is enviable. Welcoming lobby - particularly at night - a good place to hang out. At first we thought the location was a bit off from our ideal of Gion, but it turned out to be spot on. Near everything we wanted to see. Downtown is a quick cab ride---and while that's fun, we were happy to not be in the hustle. The meals at the Grill were just so-so and at hotel prices, but made for an easy start to the day.

Room Tip: Main floor (was very quiet) and overlooks the courtyard with large windows. Upper floors have much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erininportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Good points:
- central location
- good design
- good value for money
- very clean
- all staff speak english perfectly
- nice small garden

Bad points:
- some public spaces and rooms are needed renovation
- very poor breakfast

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anton_Pekkari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015 via mobile

- :
Location: not really central so you need to get a taxi, a bike or buses for every major temple or garden located further north
Room: to be honest it's quite large. If you get a standard room you will get a view on either the parking, the entrance of the hotel or the very noisy street.
Curtains are not good enough to avoid morning lights at all, so get a sleeping mask.
The room's cleanness is OK. Although you can see stains in the carpet and on the sinks and marble area in the bathroom.
Noise: Like I said you will hear some noise from outside the hotel because of the street but also from the inside. It means that from your room you can hear the person upstairs flushing the toilets, so get ear plugs
Staff is helpful although sometimes very cold. I don't know if this is how they are asked to behave but they have nothing to do with the very nice and warm Japanese people you will meet during your trip in Japan, and this is the reason why we were so surprised. It feels like Hyatt has trained their staffs like an American one and not taking into account the Japanese hospitality standards.
Breakfast: at 9.30 which is peak hour for breakfast, be ready to wait about 15 minutes to get a table(!!)

+ :
Decoration is nice and tidy especially in the lobby which is quite impressive
The bar is beautiful.
Italian restaurant is pretty good although being a tiny bit expensive to me.

It's a pretty good hotel but the details I mention above are really disappointing versus its cost and its standards.
Not the best hotel in Kyoto: I have done better.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ju0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

We just spent 2 nights at this pleasant Hyatt Regency, well situated in Kyoto, opposite the National Museum and adjacent to the outstanding Sanjusangendo temple. The concierge and staff generally were extremely helpful. A very good grill restaurant on the ground floor, which also served an excellent breakfast buffet. The room was a little basic, although a superb shower. A Nespresso machine (now a feature of many good hotels) would be a good investment, also a thicker quilt on the bed! The spa was terrific. Overall, strongly recommended but I’d encourage the hotel management just to add a few more luxury touches to the room for the tariff charged.

Room Tip: Avoid smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephend355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Stayed two nights just now and can highly recommend this hotel. We stayed in the Hotel Granvia Kyoto on our last trip and this was a mile ahead in terms of the room, the facilities, service and ambience. We stayed two nights and found the positives to be the hotel itself, it feels new and mid-luxury, the staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast in the morning is fantastic - a lot of choice and nice surroundings. The best bit was the bed and the bathroom. Two fantastic nights sleep (which has been rare this trip as often the beds are like rocks and the duvet is thin) but we both slept soundly. The bathroom is also spacious, luxurious, fantastic large bath for 2 and power shower and for once, plenty of towels and bathrobes. If you do laundry, the prices are reasonable compared to some other hotels. The three downsides for us were (a) the room service - we ordered two hamburgers to break up two weeks of Japanese food and for an American hotel it was awful. A burger overcooked and lacking any taste, accompanied by 3 potato wedges, dry. An utter waste of money (£60 incl two Asahi beers) and revolting to boot. Also the maid service left a lot to be desired, instead of clearing away old cups with old teabags in them from breakfast he/she merely covered them with a tissue! He/She also left the empty beer bottles and other things obviously rubbish left over from the night before. (c) Wifi - slower than a tortoise unless you pay the premium. A good hotel, worth the money, but avoid eating in the hotel and explore Gion for dinner!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Stayed at Hyatt Regency Kyoto for only a night so it was not possible to try the hotels spa features. But the helpfulness of the staff was wonderful. We were given all sorts of help in locating antique shops and temples, and given umbrellas to stay dry in the downpour outside.
Our room was showing signs of becoming outdated, but bed was great. So also was the view of the luscious green gardens with it's pool with Carp swimming slowly. A real Japanese treat.
We ate a meal in the restaurant and the food was very well prepared, and we were well attended to.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the gardens are quite and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tord E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 405 in Kyoto
634 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 405 in Kyoto
3,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#17 of 405 in Kyoto
934 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#21 of 405 in Kyoto
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kyoto

Address: 644-2 Sanjusangendo-mawari, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0941, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $356 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Rakuten, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing