We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One the great new modern/classic hotels of the 21st century”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Ranked #9 of 406 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Incredible interior design, from a renowned Japanese firm, plus white glove service from every door. Much more inviting and attractive than its local neighbors, as well as having interior restaurants among the most attractive we have seen anywhere else in the world. Don't miss the temple right next door, nor the bar below.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MacDonald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 2,512 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017

The service was excellent, especially in the casual restaurant on the lobby floor. The hotel does not have a regency club and feels more like a Park Hyatt. we did have an upgraded suite room with 1.5 baths, living room and bedroom which was lovely. For regency club amenities they allow one drink per room guest per night in the bar downstairs and there are no snacks available. The staff were helpful and all spoke English. At 6:15pm in the lobby they have a maiko dancer dressed in geisha outfit perform a few dances and then you can take pics with her. This was a nice touch. Across the street from the hotel is a museum and next store the beautiful buddhist temple Sanjūsangen-dō with 1000 buddhas - this was my favorite temple and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annham0324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Fantastic hotel all around. Service level is exceptional both at front desk and excellent concierge service who were very helpful in making recommendations and reservations for dinners as well as how to see the sites in the most efficient manner. Consistently high service level at all times from all the staff at the hotel. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Location is excellent as not far from train station and across from Kyoto museum and next to temple.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank jadon06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel has a very beautiful and modern design. But the breakfast range not so many, they have only international breakfast like any kinds of egg, salads, fruits, oatmeal & cereals, breads, potato, BBQ meat, but they don't have any local delicacies / Japanese food. The place is quite nice, there is a bus station in front of the hotel. The front desk was also very helpfull, they help us showing the direction, and also give us some maps of Kyoto & they also have one day Kyoto bus ticket to sell. All of the staffs were very nice, polite, and helpfull.
The bedroom has a very unique design, they have integrated iPad inside every room to help us to choose the hotel menu. They also have bathtub & shower inside the bathroom.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank karlapranoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

I booked through on line for the deluxe room. I plan to pay more for deluxe room than a regular room coz I need more space as it said bigger. And I supposed everything should be better than regular.

But i arrived in a room on basement floor, which they claimed it is a garden floor. The window is looking at a wall of bamboo shade and also see the toilet sign on the far end.

However, The front desk managed to change my room to regular room, right away. It is nicer even though it is smaller, and I pay less too. So avoid the Garden floor. There is no garden.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We just had dinner here but it was such a great one it is worth putting a review down for it.
Service was very kind and great and accommodating.
We did the set menu which was outstanding and had a view of the Japanese garden.
Very fancy and elegant place to take a date to, definitely.
Loved the decoration, atmosphere and music.
Great find.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AlexiaPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed a night and as my mother needed disabled facilities, this is a great choice. Room is spacious, clean and functional! It is a bit out of the central Kyoto town centre but otherwise it is quiet and we had a restful sleep. Breakfast does the job though can be improved

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Cheryl810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 406 in Kyoto
634 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#13 of 406 in Kyoto
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#16 of 406 in Kyoto
934 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#21 of 406 in Kyoto
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kyoto

Address: 644-2 Sanjusangendo-mawari, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0941, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $356 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing