We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design perfection - superb service - just great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Ranked #8 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Enjoyed our first stay here very much.
Brilliant hotel located minutes from Kyoto station and just next door to the Sanjusangendo Temple which is an absolute must to visit while in Kyoto.
The hotel itself is an architects dream - beautifully designed inside especially.
The lines and thoroughness in every detail is just such a joy to walk around.
Do visit the church on the basement floor - so simple and elegant in its design.

The service from the front desk, the bell desk, the concierge, and the house staff is second to none.
The room we had while small had everything we needed and for once all the electronics were easy and intuitive to use. lovely view of the small beautiful garden.
We will definitely come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nikolai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 2,528 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel has a dash of elegance and simplicity, yet it doesn't fail at being modern. It's avg. 10 minutes walking to get downtown, the restaurants were good, in general. The staff was nothing but kind and pure, it felt like a small place you could happily be in. The only problem w/it was the shower, the doors were see through so the showering schedule was also a time where the rest of the room couldn't walk past the restroom so they wouldn't catch a peek of the person showering.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Emily Gramos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

This is a very well run hotel with impecable service. Breakfast was excellent, they booked a great guide for us and we're very helpful in every way. The rooms are not incredible, but I would stay again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank letsgovamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Two of our hotels in Japan had amazing bathrooms and bathtubs - is that a Japanese thing? I loved it. Our suite at the Hyatt had a separate toilet "room", a space with two sinks and then another "room" that included the shower and a huge, 6'x4' wooden box-like bathtub. At first we didn't think it would be comfortable it but it definitely was. We were upgraded to a suite. It had a very large entry way, which was kind of wasted space, another space with a counter top, sink and mini-frig. There was then a "room" with tatami mats and a low table with four seats. The hotel set this up with a bed for our daughter. The futon mattress wasn't overly comfortable. The room and the bedroom overlooked a pond with koi and a nice garden. The room is listed as two twin beds but they are really close to full size beds. Enough room for a couple to share a bed. There was another counter top area with a Nepresso machine and electric kettle for hot water with complimentary coffee and tea. There was a sizable walk in closet. We loved the pajamas shirts they provided. The concierges were very helpful with transportation and restaurant reservations. We have a family member with a food allergy and they were very helpful in calling restaurants for us. It's a bit of a walk from the main train station but there is a subway line two blocks away. There are some shrines/temples that you can walk to. It's about a 20 minute walk to the Gion. A very nice place to stay, though it's not cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CANJGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

First room we were given was the size of a shoe box even though we were supposed to have been upgraded. After complaining, we were moved across the hall to a beautiful suite with a view of a garden and pond. Although the hotel was a little removed from everything, overall it was quiet and we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was also fantastic and my husband really enjoyed the traditional Japanese breakfast (this needs to be ordered the day before otherwise you have to wait).

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

A hotel that met every expectation and more! Rise early and get free Nespresso and Muffins in the Lobby! Don't miss the elegant Geisha dancing in the lobby 6pm nightly. She socializes with the guests afterwards. So authentic! Spacious rooms. The rain shower transformed my body. Comfy beds that melt away the aches and pain. Hearty food and ravishing reds to satisfy your palette. Kyoto kindness is genuine and endearing at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

The Hyatt Regency doesn't look like much from the outside, but it's lovely as soon as you enter those sliding glass doors. The lobby has an incredible ceiling/wall installation, and the restaurants also feel chic and modern.

The service here is world class. We particularly loved one of the concierges, Jen. My husband and I were talking to her one morning about our agenda for the day, and I pulled a fresh water bottle out of my bag. Jen immediately offered to take the plastic wrap off of it for me! They do everything they can to make their guests comfortable.

The ipads in the room have very good information about Kyoto, places to see, hotel amenities, etc. You can also order dozens of complimentary items on the iPad to be delivered to your room (any normal toiletry, various chargers, hangers, nail polish remover, hair straighteners, etc, etc).

The thing that's keeping me from giving the hotel is the bedroom. They are perfectly comfortable, but they're on the smaller side and pretty straightforward. We were given a room on the first floor to start, and we asked to be moved because it was quite dark and cramped. The hotel was happy to move us to the 3rd floor and we enjoyed more natural light there, but it was still a small room.

The hotel also offered a complimentary taxi to the airport, and that was much appreciated too!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKH1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 407 in Kyoto
640 reviews
City Centre
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
City Centre
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#13 of 407 in Kyoto
3,174 reviews
City Centre
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 407 in Kyoto
1,321 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#16 of 407 in Kyoto
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Kyoto

Address: 644-2 Sanjusangendo-mawari, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0941, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#4 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $417 - $799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Kyoto Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing