We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Nearby Hotels
US$228
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$135
US$81
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$252
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Almont Hotel Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$140
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ryokan 
Ryokufuso(Kyoto)
US$261
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Reviews (2,565)
Filter reviews
2,565 results
Traveller rating
1,525
765
195
54
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,525
765
195
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanjusangendo templenational museumtouzan barken yokoyamatrattoria settecomplimentary taxijapanese restaurantmk taxiconcierge deskbeautiful hoteltrain stationthe general managera short taxi ridewet roomzen gardenwestern style hoteldeluxe room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,689 - 1,694 of 2,565 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2006

The Hotel has been adequately described and lived up to its description as sleek, stylish and luxurious. Our deluxe balcony room was particularly luxurious (wait til you see the bathroom!), and although the internet was not free (unless you roam in the lobby), it only cost about $70 for a whole week of unlimited use (7-night stay).

The even greater bonus was the location of the hotel. It is walkable from Kyoto Station, but a cab is better especialy if you have luggage (only 570-640 yen for the short ride). Many temples/shrines are walkable from the hotel (Sanjusangendo is right next door), and there is a train line (Keihan) which is a 5 minute walk away that will take you up to the Gion district and to the major shopping areas for only 150 yen each way (more if you travel further).

The concierge staff was freindly and extrememly helpful. The gym was small but well-equipped. In room shiatsu massage only cost 8000 yen per hour!! And as a perk, we were invited to the bar for a "free cocktail", which ended up being a total of four free cocktails for the two of us and two free platters of tasty appetizers!

Overall, I have no reservations in recommending this hotel to any traveler (pun intended).

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank lilnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2006

What a great place the Hyatt Kyoto is! It's sleek, stylish, and warm all at the same time. The photos on their website do accurately represent the look and feel of the hotel, and most importantly the rooms. So many times the guest rooms end up being much smaller than what the photos show. Not here!

We were pleasantly surprised at the size and overall comfort of our 4th floor king room. Our room was tastefully decorated in a modern Japanese decor . We especially loved the bathroom set up. Roomy combo shower/bathtub space encased in obscured glass, two steps up from the sink and toilet area. The bed was nice and firm, and we had a large plasma tv. The mini bar had a great selection too.

For dinner, we tried two out of the three restaurants on site. One of the best values is the Italisn restaurant, Trattoria Sette. Their pizzas were fantastic (try the Kamo Eggplant pizza) and the pastas just about average. Like most restaurants we encountered in Japan, non alcoholic drinks were on the high side (700 yen for sodas, 1200 yen for a large San Pellegrino). Did not like the Kaiseki dinner at Touzan at all and felt that the set menu of 12,000 yen per person was a bit steep for the quality we got. We should have ventured out for more dinner options, but were too tired from sightseeing all day and gave in.

The hotel and restaurant staff were always courteous, helpful, and attentive. Everyone spoke English very well.

If you think you might extend your stay, here's a tip. Check out the published room rates on the hyattregencykyoto.com website first. They were 6000 yen lower than what the hotel front desk offered when we decided to stay an extra two nights.

If we were to return to Kyoto anytime soon, Hyatt Regency Kyoto is the only place we would consider.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank 2bayareatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2006

The Hyatt Regency Kyoto is one of the best hotels we have stayed in!

As our second stop on a 3 week tour of Japan, we were amazed at the level of personal service we received from the fantastic hotel staff from the moment we arrived.

We went for a Deluxe Twin on the 1st floor which was huge, well presented, extremely clean and with fantastic views over the hotel garden. The ceiling hight and full length windows meant we got to enjoy the view, we even had room service one night and sat looking at the stars while we ate, truly amazing.

We decided to stay on for an extra 3 days during Obon and the hotel staff went out of their way to get us a good rate for the additional nights, cancelled reservations for us at the hotel we decided to cancel (another Hyatt hotel), and even though we had to move rooms, they transfered all our luggage for us so we just left in the morning to go sight seeing and came back to our new room.

Our second room was a standard twin but again the quality was astounding. Extremely light, airy and exceptionally clean although not as big as the deluxe rooms.

The hotel is located far enough away from the centre of Kyoto to be quiet, but close enough to travel by taxi (roughly £5 to the city centre) and was a great base for us as we explored Kyoto and the surrounding areas.

We'd definitely recommend the hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Kyoto as it's a great base and offers great service and value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Indigo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2006

We just spent four nights at the Hyatt Regency Kyoto, and thought it was a wonderful little hotel. We originally intended to spend two nights but then changed our plans and booked another two. We hesitated between a deluxe room and a regular guest room, but after visiting both, easily decided to stay in one of the basic guest rooms as there is extremely little difference between the two (the deluxe rooms are slightly larger, and have bigger windows; everything else including amenities, beds, bathroom, plasma tv and dvd player etc are rigourously identical).

We have a beautiful view of the garden, and thought the bathroom was stunning. It comes in three separate bits: a beautiful bathroom and rain shower behind a translucent (but unless I am mistaken, I think, not transparent) glass door, a high tech toilet in another small room, and then sink etc in a mini 'bathroom hallway', walls are in pink marble and floorings in a beautiful black stone. The room itself was very tastefully decorated and felt as pleasantly new as it was (the hotel opened on 15 March 2006). It also included a plasma screen tv and dvd player, and there is a small but nicely balanced dvd library. Lightings were excellent and the beds were good.

We tried two of the three restaurants, a grill room which uses a wood-fired oven, and a Japanese restaurant. Both were truly excellent, of a quality which is in fact quite rare in hotels and thus, we abandoned our normal routine of systematically going out to eat to also enjoy some of the hotel offerings. The third restaurant is Italian. We also used room service, which was stylish and offered an excellent 'garden breakfast' which would correspond to 'top quality continental' offerings, the sort which, to me, makes the whole idea of adding eggs et al. unnecessary (but a full breakfast is available too albeit quite a bit more expensive). Finally, following an invitation to a cocktail by the hotel manager, we tried the bar which was beautiful and served an excellent range of drinks and chose to return because it was so pleasant.

We experienced none of the 'starting difficulties' mentioned by previous reviewers, which suggests that perhaps, the hotel has already managed to reach cruising speed after only four months? Our only negative comments would be that using the internet is quite expensive as compared to many other hotels in Japan where it is often free, and that the charge for fresh squeezed juice with the breakfast was quite prohibitive, but these are very limited problems.

Finally, we really wanted to mention the extreme kindness of seemingly everyone in the hotel, from front desk to concierge via waiters, cleaners, beauty therapists, and even the hotel manager. The whole team, it seems, made everyone's (and certainly our) stay extremely enjoyable and help making the Hyatt Regency Kyoto an outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank eurolondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews