We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
42
12
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
12
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housejapanese culturekaiseki cuisinehigashiyama areajapanese breakfastcottageemperorcraftsmenluxuryauthenticityhostsfushimiryokanenglishbus
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 58 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2018

We stayed three nights after having been in Hong Kong for Chinese new year and in Osaka. We were delighted to be upgraded to the stand-alone cottage behind the main house. The hospitality of the staff, the food (we had a kaiseki dinner the first night we arrived) and the room was just excellent. Tomoko-san who received us speak very good English and served us dinner and helped us with our plans in Kyoto. We visited the eastern hills and the nearest temple, Ginkakuji, is only 10 min walk, then we walked south along the Philosophers Path, to many interesting sites. We also walked to a subway to get to other sites. We could have caught a bus but just enjoyed walking. Most memorable stay. Will definitely return again in spring next year.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2016

Had a 2 night stay here last week, Beautiful Japanese cypress building which was built for the uncle of the Emperor.
Make no mistake this is a very expensive room at almost $600au per night plus meals.
The bathroom facilities are shared with other guests and futons are the only beds.
Paper thin sliding screens for door which forces you to be quiet.
whilst it's a Japanese experience it's far from 5 star. I would have expected more service and breakfast included in the price.
Have been and seen but will not be back for this kind of money

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelm858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2016

Our best and finest stay at a Ryokan. we absolutely loved it and also enjoyed the tasty Kaiseki. The staff was amazing and we were treated like royals :) Thank you for the incredible stay. Can't wait to come back .

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

Accommodations are traditional but perhaps could be updated. We stayed in the hanare, which is a separate building from the main house. The food was terrific and the people were wonderful. You are made to feel like either visiting family or royalty. The Japanese gardens are beautiful. The surrounding neighborhood is quiet. The property itself is serene.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Cocolin0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2016

We had a lovely stay in Yoshida-Sanso for two nights in late March. We had one night in the main house and another in the Hanare (the private cottage) which was great. The grounds are well maintained and a pleasure to be in. The staff were fantastic - very attentive and helpful. The food was delicious! This is a very unique experience - totally different from your standard hotels and we were very glad that we stayed here. Although - two nights were enough on the tatami mat for me!

Stayed: March 2016
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews