We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
20
5
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
5
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurants in the area japanese style room rice shrine snow english
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2017

It is just in the middle of nowhere (but very close to a really beautiful lake), no restaurants after 6pm, no shops... no even having a car helps, so maybe it is a good idea to get dinner there. silly of me we didn't book it, so we just had something in one of the local noodle shops, but the breakfast was excelent. we had western and japaneesse breakfast, bread, rice, eggs, ham, juice, coffee, zalm, fruit... it was really good. and the owner also very friendly, he speaks very good english. The rooms/ facilities are just ok.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pepusina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

On our stay in Nagano we spend 3 nights at the Oshi Ryokan.

We were received and treated with great hospitality and friendliness during our stay.

We are a family of four ( parents and two teenage kids) and had one Japanese style room for us. It was a decent size room with plenty of space for us four.

The setting of the Oshis Ryokan is very nice and we found it also very quiet and relaxing.

One evening we enjoyed the dinner and it was exceptionally good and delicious Japanese food, all prepared fresh and with great care and a big variety (vegetables, meat, fish, noodles)

Parking is not an issue, right in front of the hotel.

There are some restaurants in the area but supermarket shopping is very limited so make sure you take stuff from Nagano.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank StefanS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

it is just excellent!!!! 3 min walk to bus stop. room is super big, and the host takes care of you like your family member! food is gorgeous. if you are looking for a peaceful and relax place to stay, here you are! it is also value for money!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Viiiick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2017

Oshi Ryokan was a highlight of our honeymoon in Japan. We took the meal option (both lunch and breakfast) and it was amazing, the food was top quality and the serving and presentation were wonderful.

As for the accommodation itself, we had a spacious room and the staff were helpful in every way. Some of the facilities were a bit older, but nothing which would hinder our experience. The location is very nice, there is a beautiful temple in the forest just a couple of minutes away. If you choose this accommodation, definitely go for the meal options it really enhanced the experience!

The bus stop is also just a few minutes away, it took us some time to figure out how to get there but in the end the bus ride turned into a scenic experience.

I guess some of the facilities would need some refurbishing but the food well makes up for it.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank IlyaPolop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017

Have stayed for the past four summers at Oshi's ryokan & it is a major part of my trip.
Food cooked by Tomoko equals a five star restaurant & having meals there should not be missed. Oshi-san & his spouse speak English & constantly "go the extra mile" for everyone. Their kindness makes you feel welcome. Bus stop is a three min walk & lower temple across the street. Hope to be back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank j0an08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews