We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, small room....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Ranked #50 of 308 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
USA
Level 6 Contributor
791 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 504 helpful votes
“Good location, small room....”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

You can't beat the location right next to Osaka/Umeda Station. There is a station entrance "Albi" (a shopping mall leading to the station) right outside the hotel front door.

The room has a decent bathroom for such a small room. Free internet (with cable). TV only has one English channel. (BBC)

If you have a lot of luggage or plan to be in the room a lot, this could get a bit claustrophobic. There is a lot of noise from the railway yard next door as well.

Only one room key is provided for two people. Depending on your situation, it is less than ideal.

Overall... good value for the price (booked early online via hotels.com) but not CRAZY about the property.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the street side rather than "track" side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonewithnomoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    393
    170
    26
    5
See reviews for
143
160
113
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Reached Kansai Int'l airport at about 2130 hours. We took the JR train to Osaka Station and reached before midnight. Osaka was a huge station! The underground passages and shopping arcades really confused us! ? Be sure to exit from SAKURADORI exit from Osaka Station,after which you will see a little mall (Umesan Koji), passed through the mall and you will see the hotel on the right. The hotel is located on a quite street and could be quite dark if you return to your hotel late.

Our double room and bed were small, and they do not provide kettle. Only a mug with hot plate to warm it. Room and toilet are clean. Not much amenities but good enough for two of us.

It was about a 3 min walk to JR Station, with lots of mall around you. You wont be hungry or lack of shopping. Overall, pleasant stay and would recommend if you are on slightly budget tour.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plum55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Country Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Our flight into Osaka was a late night arrival, we wanted a hotel close to Osaka Station; non smoking room, clean, comfortable, and affordable; we were satisfied with our on-line choice for three nights. We chose a triple bedroom which came at a reasonable cost, our bed requirements were for two, the extra bed space was convenient for laying out our clothes etc.
There was limited drawer and hanging space, a small fridge, TV (some channels free some pay to view.) Bathroom compact, but very functional, immaculately clean, good hot water pressure, good amenities. A little quick boil stainless steel kettle was handy for hot beverages. Most Japanese hotels supply only green tea so with our little supply of coffee, black teas and sugar we always carry, we could vary our in room beverages. A plus with the Nishi, the windows could be opened, our room had an uninspiring view onto other buildings close by but was not noisy even with window open all night.
The Hearton Nishi Umeda is a little difficult to find and travellers wanting a handy map to help with the location of the hotel on arrival, may find the handy Osaka Station City map; which is a plan of all levels of the Osaka Station. http://osakastationcity.com/en/ Take the map with you and head for the Umesan Kouji shopping arcade marked on the map. 1F in the area of the Sukurabashi Gate. Also if you see directional signs for the Albi Department Store you are on the right track. Umesan Kouji Shopping Arcade is reached by crossing a wide,usually very busy zebra crossing with lights. Follow the arcade through to the very end, cross the diagonal, quieter zebra crossing and directly in front is the Garden Restaurant which is part of the Nishi Umeda Hotel.
The Mountain Coffee Cafe near the hotel end of the arcade, has very good coffee, and light breakfast and lunch selections. If you are a non smoker it is better to use this cafe when it is not too busy with Japanese businessmen. The Albi Department store also has milk, grocery lines etc.
From Osaka International Kansai Airport (50 Kms to Osaka Station) we used the JR Kanku Kishuji Rapid train which took 64 minutes and cost Yen 1160. Tickets were purchased upstairs from Arrivals from ticket office staff opposite the JR Train gates. This train service has various stops along the way, the service we caught did not require a station change. Look up the excellent Hyperdia website for train times etc. Stops and announcements in English were given clearly throughout the journey.
While wandering through the underground arcades of ultra modern Osaka Station, find time to seek out the nearby Hanshin Department Store's Food Department, for an amazing selection of all things edible. A great selection of Bento boxes, Wine, chocolates, breads, pastries, and all things delectable and tempting, and beautifully displayed in the perfect Japanese way.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hitchiker_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Upon getting off the JR airport express, this is about ten minutes of walking as described on their website,only difficulty is finding the right exit which took me a while.
Even after finding the exit, it 's a challenge to find the walk path depicted; the walkway turned out to be part of a shopping/center lined with restaurants and shops.
anyway, the rooms are typical japanese dimensions, so are the bathrooms.
There is free internet in the rooms, and free wifi in the lobby area.
As with all japanese hotels, they score perfect in cleanliness.
I stayed on the 14th floor, didn't experience any noise from the trains mercifully.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subtarget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taree NSW
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

If you are looking for luxury this is not the hotel to stay at.
The room and bathroom are very clean and the bed comfortable.
The room is not large but adequate, as we were out all day sight seeing the only time we were in the room was to sleep.
Plenty of places to eat nearby in the little arcade or in the train station.
The staff were polite and helpful on the front desk.
We used the train system to get out and about and this is absolutely brilliant, two minutes walk and you are in the station. Great when you come back to the hotel in the evening.
Definitely recommend for position and value.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pietjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmond
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The hotel is an average business hotel in Japan, but our room was larger than we are used too in this country. Room was very clean and modern with also tea facilities. The only thing that was a bit disappointing was breakfast. Because of the huge amount of guests, this was held in a large conference room on the 3rd floor, is merely looks like a canteen in the office. The buffet was okay with Western and Japanese choises.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joost32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Typical Japanese business hotel - tiny room intended just for a sleep. Entertainment and space you will have to find elsewhere. Bathroom was actually fairly spatious compared to the rest of the room. At approximately 5000JPY a night for a double it was a good value. Would have hoped a place this size had a chance to employ at least one front desk person a shift with better english proficiency, but alas.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PINELights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Monterey Osaka
Hotel Monterey Osaka
#41 of 308 in Osaka
727 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Osaka Daiichi Hotel
Osaka Daiichi Hotel
#46 of 308 in Osaka
530 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel Granvia Osaka
Hotel Granvia Osaka
#51 of 308 in Osaka
1,405 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Hotel New Hankyu Annex
Hotel New Hankyu Annex
#84 of 308 in Osaka
405 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
Umeda OS Hotel
Umeda OS Hotel
#120 of 308 in Osaka
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda

Property: Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda
Address: 3-3-55 Umeda, Kita-ku, Osaka 530-0001, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Osaka Station / Umeda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 308 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hearton Hotel Nishi Umeda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearton Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing