We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in the heart of Osaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Ranked #28 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in the heart of Osaka”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Spent 3 nights in this hotel, it was our 1st time to Osaka so we had no idea of the location. This hotel is in the heart of Osaka, close to the shopping districts & subway/JR lines.
The hotel itself is very beautiful, rooms are big & comfortable.
The majority of staff speak english so that helped a lot. There was free WiFi throughout the hotel.
The restaurants were expensive within the hotel but great eating can be found only a few minutes walk away.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    825
    195
    44
    28
See reviews for
573
522
151
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

They wouldn't let us check in before 3pm (it was 2.30pm) when we returned the second time so we had to wait, the reception staff service was average and my friend had to spell her name 3 times and be asked her first name a few times after that til they understood. She has a simple English name. Room view is spectacular, close to amenities. The room itself needs more control. I was scanning the channels and ended up scanning the porn channels. Why is this not controlled??? I was pretty disgusted, what if a child was controlling the remote?

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yodaahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
86 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights here in a king bed room. The location is right above Osaka's Namba Walk with tons of retail shops and every imaginable restaurant. There is a large and well stocked supermarket in the basement of the hotel for snacks or drinks. In addition, the JR Namba station is there as well making commuting throughout the area simple using JR or several private subway lines. The room was well maintained. I would rate this at least a 4-star property with service to match.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlinfoolSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

just like all the review this hotel is perfectly located in osaka central. if u are travelling to osaka for the first time this hotel allow u to explore the city easily. once reached at kansai u can just take OCAT bus and arrive to the bus station (OCAT) next to this hotel. if you are taking the train it also arrived at the namba station which actually below this hotel but u need to walk some distance underground. accessibilty to other areas is easy whether u on train, bus or foot. we walk most of times!!
Near this hotel u can easily get the best food and variety of food with reasonable price comparing with shinsaibashi or umeda area. food really great here especially near namba market ie sushi, seafood and if u lucky enough u could get KOBE beef for a good price instead going all the way to kobe.
just oposite the main road u already reach dotonburi and shinsaibashi. here is where all the night spot, bar and hang around spot located.
i very pleased with our hotel as i does offer nice environment and room facility comparing other hotel nearby. the reception is very helpful in giving information and also the hotel is providing many illustrated map which i found very helpful travelling around.
room here may not be very big as in japan but for our deluxe room i am happy and comfortable enough for a good rest. check out the Cathedral chruch at level 22 lobby..

overall i do recommend this hotel especially if u not familliar but it might be abit expensive.. make sure u choose for non smoking room to avoid smell of cigarettes.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Had a good 2 night stay here. Would not let me check-in 2 hours early, but I think that is standard for Japan. Bar/restaurant was hideously expensive, but lots of options nearby. Free wifi in lobby that extended to room. Nice clean room, good view, OK size. Pillows were rock hard, asked for a softer one and got one that was harder still! Got it at around 40% off which made it good value. Hard to find, exit station at B1 and look for signs, then take lift up to lobby.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun_h_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Straight up, fantastic location.

The hotel is pratically above the JR Namba station. We had the JR Pass so it meant that taking the Loop Rail route is very convenient.

It is also located close to the Dotonbori and Shinsaibashi which was great for late night strolls.

The reception front desk is actually on the 22nd floor and all rooms above the 23rd floor, bit unusually but you are pretty much guaranteed a room with a view.

Rooms are small and there is no room safe.

I paid ~ $100 AUD per night and thought this was good value.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces north-east and you'll have a view of the entertainment area. Our one was w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelAndCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Pros:
- Central @ Namba station. Walkable to Dotonbori, Shinsaibashi, etc
- Food Market underneath - includes everything you can every possibly need, including a fresh cooked food section. Opens from 9am to 12am.
- Right next to JR Namba (literally on top of it) or subway Namba stations.
- WIFI is available
- Very classy rooms

Cons:
- None really. Hotel a bit hard to find at the start.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#24 of 307 in Osaka
755 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 307 in Osaka
1,350 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Namba Oriental Hotel
#30 of 307 in Osaka
624 reviews
Hotel Nikko Osaka
#19 of 307 in Osaka
1,876 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
Hotel Il Cuore Namba
#58 of 307 in Osaka
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka

Property: Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Address: 1-2-3 Minatomachi, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0017, Osaka Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Namba, central Osaka, Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka is a modern hotel that held its grand opening back in the summer of 2009. There are many popular areas within walking distance of the hotel, which is also directly connected to Namba Station. The guest rooms, located on floors 24 through 31, are designed in the image of a British manor house / stately home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity.ca, Rakuten, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing