We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best on my list” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka
Ranked #4 of 296 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“One of the best on my list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is my first stay in a Fraser Residence, albeit not my first stay in a Fraser property. It is my first stay in the Fraser Nankai, though.

That said, this is one of the best places on my list. And I have stayed in many hotels worldwide. Why?

1) Great Location
- its directly opposite one of the main train stations in Osaka where the high-speed airport shuttle train (Nankai Rapi:T) terminates. It is also opposite the Namba subway station which is on the main (red) Midosuji line.
- It is opposite good shopping (Namba Parks, Takashimaya Osaka)
- There is good food all-round (Ippodu is directly opposite the main door, En is at Takashimaya which is less than 10min walk away, Hozenji Yokocho alley where you find old-style restuarants is also within walking distance).
- It is within walking distance to major sights (Shinsaibaishi-suji, Dotombori, Ebisubashi shopping street, one subway stop from Kuromon-Ichiba market)
- There are (24hours) convenience stores and hole-in-the-wall eateries just to the left and right of the main door

2) Good friendly staff
- They spoke good English
- They were very helpful e.g. arranged for us to check-in asap even though we arrived much earlier than expected and the room was still being cleaned.

3) Good quality
- the rooms were spotless and had a very light, airy feel. Good decor. Very pleasing on the eye.
- the rooms, especially bathroom were a good size and not one of those pigeon holes you expect in Japanese cities.
- bed, couch, even the desk chair were plush and very comfortable. My children dozed off very easily.......
- all mod-cons including a very high-tech washer-dryer and induction cooker stove. They even supplied the eating utensils for a family of four, dish-cloth and washing up liquid (with a very clean sponge). Very nice touch.
- and the view was excellent (if you get a room on a high floor) cos the Fraser Nankai is one of the two tallest building around this area
- The front desk also sells the all-in-one Day pass for the Kaiyukan aquarium so you do not need to trek far to get it. They seem to sell the Kansai pass as well.
- It is quiet and you never heard the trains.

4) Good Price
- we paid JNY 14,000 per room per night, inclusive of taxes and breakfast. But this is for one of the larger rooms. Yes, it is pricier than some of the other brand name hotels but it is not the most expensive I have experienced in Japan.
- I understand that there are special deals which do not include breakfast or involve some of the slightly smaller rooms which are cheaper.

5) Family and Group friendly
- we noticed many families and also business groups at breakfast
- the front desk will loan you umbrellas when it rains
- the front desk will help you check reservations, if necessary....very necessary if you don't speak a word of Japanese.
- Fraser will email you English and Japanese instructions on how to get from the Nankai-Namba train station (via Nankai Rapi:T train) to the hotel. This is especially useful if you need to show the instruction sheet to local Japanese folk at the train station - they will read the Jap text and tell you which way to go if you really get lost. But it is fairly unlikely cos instructions are very clear.

I do have 2 minor grouses, if I must (dig hard to) write some down.
6) Breakfast is of a limited variety and doesn't include the usual cold-cuts, choice of cereals and bread/pastries. It is provided by the restaurant next door - Massa. You access it via a side door from the lobby. Don't get me wrong, the food at Massa is really not bad. Just that breakfast is a fixed menu (Set A, B, C). They do change the Set A slightly every day by swapping eggs sunny side up with a hard boiled egg or scrambled eggs and swapping bread buns with toast. Set A is easily the most popular cos it has a fist-full of salad, 2 finger-thick pork sausages, eggs and toast. Set B and C swaps the sausages and eggs for cereals and fruit.

7) In the dead of the night, when it is dead-silent, you can hear traffic noise emitting from the air vent / cooker hob fume extractor. We found it very amusing actually, albeit it does get louder when those uber-motorcycles or fast cars zoom past the flyover. You don't hear anything in the day, though and not when you are in the bedroom or bathroom.

Overall, my family and I thoroughly enjoyed our week-long stay. It was a great base for us explore Osaka.My children made themselves at home almost immediately. And the location made is very convenient for us who were travelling with small children and plenty of luggages.

Some tips.
a) You should opt for the Nankai Rapi:T Alpha train rather than the Beta train cos both are the same price (JNY 1390) but the Alpha train is faster. But if you dont mind an extra 15min journey, not having a reserved seat, risk having to squeeze with locals going on their daily business, you can opt for the regular express (JNY890). Rapi:T takes 29mins (Alpha) and 39mins (Beta) to get from KIX to Namba.

b) walk out of the Nankai-Namba train Central exit, walk down the Namba Parks escalator, turn left at the underpass and walk toward the traffic light where you can see MacDonalds. Cross the street towards the hole-in-the-wall Okonoyaki stand and viola, you are at the Fraser Nankai main door - it is opposite a Pachinko slot gaming arcade. In fact, if you look up and over the flyover when you are on the escalator, you will see the Fraser Residence.

c) To get to Takashimaya, walk thru the underground shopping mall @ Namba Parks. Then, exit the main door of Takashimaya to get to the Ebisubashi and Shinsaibashi shopping streets. There is plenty of good restaurants on the top floors and the basement food arcade is a gem chock-full of colourful bento sets, cooked food, gift sets and fresh produce. If you are keen on discount bentos, wait til about 1900hrs when they slash prices prior to closing for the day at 2000hrs.

d) walk thru Ebisubashi-suji to get to Dotombori. Should not take you more than 20mins.

e) If walking is not your thing, the Sub-way is extensive and not that expensive. Typical fares for 2-4 stops cost us JNY200 and we even took an 8-10 stop journey for JNY230. That said, children under 3 travel free.

f) Go to Kuromon-Ichiba market to buy fresh foods like strawberries (they are unbelievably good, so good you can even smell the fragrance from 2metres out), freshly grilled scallops and freshly prepared Unagi (grilled eel).The prices are unbeatable and you will notice many local housewives buying....always a good sign.

g) skip the Ferris Wheel at the Hep Five shopping mall and take the one at the Tempozan mall near the Kaiyukan aquarium. The view of better and it is less crowded. You can buy a Aquarium-Ferris Wheel combo ticket on-site.

Room Tip: rooms 06 and 05 are the larger rooms on each floor. These are likely the Executive rooms which are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank B0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    247
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
360
274
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Just back from Osaka 2 wks ago. Fraser, great location, very clean room. Its easy to get to Fraser from Kansai Airport. Room equip with mini kitchenette & washing machine with dryer comes in handy! Breakfast menu was quite limited but enough to fill your stomach. Family mart & Macdonalds just across the streets. Overall, great hotel! I will recommend Fraser to those who intend to travel to Osaka!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank crystal1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel is very conveniently located next to the train station. Service was also excellent! We tried to make reservations at a very popular restaurant in Kyoto and the staff had to try very hard to get us a table with the right menu. All these came with a great price tag.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Singap0reTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

If you are planning to visit Osaka, Japan. I highly recommend Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka in Nambanaka Naniwa-ku. This hotel offers studios and apartments with free speed WIFI. Business or leisure, this place is definitely a good choice.

Location – take the express train from Kansai Airport to Namba Station (approximately 40mins). The Residence is just less than 5 minutes walk from the station. In the station, there will be signboard directing you to the right exit to the hotel, so don’t worry. It is walking distance to Takashimaya departmental store, Namba Park, the very happening Dotonbori, Shinsaibashi and Den Den Town.
Hotel Staff (frontline) – speak English, very friendly, helpful, kind and pleasant. They will brief you about the hotel from A-Z and give you information about the places of interest around the hotel.

Room with free WIFI – spacious and clean. Interior and lighting was good. In room facilities is excellent equipped with kitchen cabinet include fridge, microwave, electrical stove, kettle, complete kitchen utensils. Bathroom with bathtub and an electric warmer seated toilet. A set of toiletries and hairdryer for the guest. For room entertainment come with LCD TV with satellite channels, DVD player and VCD stereo. Most remarkable is the in room dry cleaning washing machine. I packed all my clean cloths home for the first time on my so many overseas holidays.

Café – friendly and helpful staff. Cosy and comfortable environment. Really enjoy the continental breakfast. Few choices to choose from the breakfast chart.

Others facilities and services – fitness centre, sauna room, business centre, PC corner, 24-hour reception, concierge, security services, housekeeping services, laundry and dry-cleaning services and airport transfer service.

We will definately come back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank SanHec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

A great location close to everything, top value for money. Each room has a washer/dryer combo unit which was a great help (and they sell washing liquid too!). Good english speaking staff, breakfast is included though small portions (great okonomiyaki place on the corner fills the hole for 130 yen). Room size is more than sufficient and beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwgcwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed 8 nights (family of 5 - 2 adults and 3 kids under 6) in a 2 bedroom apartment - on holiday.
The location is outstanding - right next to the airport express, the local train system, a large mall complex, and a very efficient Japan Tourism office counter.
The amenities in the apartment are top-notch. The breakfast arrangement at the ground-floor cafe is kind-of basic - limited selection, set plate etc, but not a big minus, especially when there are several food options within a minute's walk.
We will miss the massage shower jets in the bathroom, and the electric WC seats!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNottIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We booked two rooms (one for ourselves and one for our two adult children) at Fraser Osaka in January 2012 for 3 nights. Its location across the road from the Nankai station, 5 minutes walk from the subway and 10 minutes walk from the JR station means you have access to all parts of Osaka at your finger tips. The size of the rooms, the fact they are self contained (allowing you to eat in and do some washing if necessary - thanks DM) and cleanliness of the place, the friendly and excellent service by the staff (most of whom spoke English), the breakfast inclusion and restaurant all add up to make this a must stay place for your next visit to Osaka. There are many eating shopping opportunities nearby. We arrived late in the evening and after checking in and unpacking headed out for something to eat. We didn't go far as opposite the hotel was a noodle restaurant which served us the best noodles (and beer) we had on our holiday. All up impossible to go past for your next trip.

Room Tip: All good from what we saw. We were allocted floor 2, and offered an upgrade on arrival but the floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CairnsOConnors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 296 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#28 of 296 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka

Property: Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka
Address: 1-17-11 Nambanaka, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0011, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Osaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#11 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the first International Serviced Residence in Osaka. Ideally located for business ana leisure, just 2 minites from the airport train staion. Ideal for long term stay as well as short term, from 1 night. Fully equipped with Washing/Dryer machine, Kitchennette, and connected free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing