We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Apartment in Osaka”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka
Ranked #4 of 307 Hotels / Ryokan in Osaka
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“An Apartment in Osaka”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Fraser Hotels are setup more like long-stay rooms than a typical hotel and this one had all the amenities, most of which we didn't need including a futuristic looking washer/dryer and kitchen.

What we liked best about the Fraser was the room - it was large by Japanese standards and its location right in the heart of Osaka and next to the well connected metro stations. Within the hotel's vicinity are the major shopping and food areas of Osaka.

There was a nice living room with a tv and couch which made the moments we spent in the hotel as comfortable as being at home.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfo2mnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    258
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
384
283
25
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
277 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here for 5D4N in mid March. Location of the hotel was excellent, just opposite Nambo Station and Takashimaya Department Store. The apartment room was very spacious, well equipped and offered good value for money due to 2 months advanced booking. There is a 24-hour gym and a sauna. Although the receptionist was very cool while we checked in, services were very efficient (within 2-4 minutes) when we requested for assistance. There was free WiFi in every room but for computer rental, charges are Yen 100 per 15 minutes or Yen 2,100 per night. There were additional 50 channels (including BBC, CNBC, CNN, Discovery Channel, movie and cooking channels, etc.) For the washing machine usage, it cost Yen 100 per pack.

The above good things about the hotel were covered by most of the other reviews. However, there are still many areas for improvement. The coolness of the reception staff was very non-typical of Japanese culture but their male staff were slightly better. We only found out later from the hotel directory that welcome drink is available on the day of check-in, however, guests have to ask for it. We think this is a bit mean. Breakfast at the restaurant is so basic that you will get tired of it on the 3rd day already. There are just 3 menus: (A) Bread (a piece of toast on 1st day and 2 small buns on 2nd day, then repeat again), salad (just 3 pieces of lettuce), egg and 2 short sausages. (B) Bread, salad, fruit (1 slice of grapefruit and pineapple) and yogart. (C) Cereal, salad, fruit and yogart. In addition, there was unlimited orange and grapefruit juice (quite good) but unlimited tasteless tea and coffee. Some of the cups in the restaurants had stain and the housekeeping didn't clean our cups properly as stain still remained in the cup.

Most shocking which happened was that my mom (who has poor memory) managed to open the room next door with our key. Once she noticed the room looked different, she closed the door and managed to locate the right room. After we returned, we got a survey sent from the hotel to us. I filled out the survey with everything mentioned above but there was no response from the hotel. Wonder whether the survey was sent out as a formality and none of the management bothered to read through them.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cutiedoggy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
フレイザーレジデンス南海大阪, マネージャー at Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you very much for choosing Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka, and
appreciate for your comments on Trip Advisor.
We are sorry for late reply, however we have been checking our card securities, and
it is working correctly. We would like to pay close attention to our security future.

Once again, we are appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you.
Best Regards
Masahiro Yoshida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

It's difficult to fault this place. The location is perfect, literally across the road from Namba Nankai station that has a direct link to Kansai Airport. Next door to the station is the large Namba Parks shopping mall where you can find pretty much anything you might need. The neon madness of Dotonbori and its surrounding shopping malls are a short stroll away and everything else in Osaka is easily accessible from the nearby subway line. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern. We booked this place primarily for the small kitchen in the room, but got two added surprises. First there was a combined washer/dryer in our room and it was free! When you're overseas for a few weeks, this is a godsend. Secondly, we didn't need the kitchen, because we got free breakfast every morning in the restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel. Oh, did I mention the restaurant is a tapas bar/restaurant come night time?! We had tasty and cheap paellas, washed down with sangria. One tip for reaching this hotel. If you are coming from Kyoto by train, you will get off at Osaka Station and will think that on the map the Umeda subway station (where you get the subway to Namba) is a short walk from Osaka Station. It's not a short walk at all and with suitcases, it was a stressful experience (even mid afternoon on Sunday was like rush hour). If you can find another way to get from Osaka Station (or Kyoto) to Namba - take it. Having said that, the stress of our arrival was more than cancelled out by the ease of our departure for Kansai Airport from Namba Station on the Airport Express.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4leaf1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I stayed in the service apartment for 4 nights in Feb 2012. I particularly like the air humifier and purifier machine provided in the room because air conditioning always makes hotel room dry. The hotel location is excellent,just opposite Nankai Station and great department store, supermarket and shopping mall. The breakfast that came with the room package was not terrific but sufficient to give you a kick in morning

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Fraser Residence - we had a studio suite which was very well equipped but the room configuration was poor - small sleeping area large laundry/kitchen component but no seating for eating - one chair at desk! Bathroom adequate and well equipped. Too many cupboards again taking up circulation space. Breakfast adequate in Spanish Restaurant below - included in our "deal". Great location close to station easy train access to all parts of Japan and Kansai Airport - walking distance to shops!

Room Tip: We had a high room on 13th Floor which had an open aspect across the station and surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulACTAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is my first stay in a Fraser Residence, albeit not my first stay in a Fraser property. It is my first stay in the Fraser Nankai, though.

That said, this is one of the best places on my list. And I have stayed in many hotels worldwide. Why?

1) Great Location
- its directly opposite one of the main train stations in Osaka where the high-speed airport shuttle train (Nankai Rapi:T) terminates. It is also opposite the Namba subway station which is on the main (red) Midosuji line.
- It is opposite good shopping (Namba Parks, Takashimaya Osaka)
- There is good food all-round (Ippodu is directly opposite the main door, En is at Takashimaya which is less than 10min walk away, Hozenji Yokocho alley where you find old-style restuarants is also within walking distance).
- It is within walking distance to major sights (Shinsaibaishi-suji, Dotombori, Ebisubashi shopping street, one subway stop from Kuromon-Ichiba market)
- There are (24hours) convenience stores and hole-in-the-wall eateries just to the left and right of the main door

2) Good friendly staff
- They spoke good English
- They were very helpful e.g. arranged for us to check-in asap even though we arrived much earlier than expected and the room was still being cleaned.

3) Good quality
- the rooms were spotless and had a very light, airy feel. Good decor. Very pleasing on the eye.
- the rooms, especially bathroom were a good size and not one of those pigeon holes you expect in Japanese cities.
- bed, couch, even the desk chair were plush and very comfortable. My children dozed off very easily.......
- all mod-cons including a very high-tech washer-dryer and induction cooker stove. They even supplied the eating utensils for a family of four, dish-cloth and washing up liquid (with a very clean sponge). Very nice touch.
- and the view was excellent (if you get a room on a high floor) cos the Fraser Nankai is one of the two tallest building around this area
- The front desk also sells the all-in-one Day pass for the Kaiyukan aquarium so you do not need to trek far to get it. They seem to sell the Kansai pass as well.
- It is quiet and you never heard the trains.

4) Good Price
- we paid JNY 14,000 per room per night, inclusive of taxes and breakfast. But this is for one of the larger rooms. Yes, it is pricier than some of the other brand name hotels but it is not the most expensive I have experienced in Japan.
- I understand that there are special deals which do not include breakfast or involve some of the slightly smaller rooms which are cheaper.

5) Family and Group friendly
- we noticed many families and also business groups at breakfast
- the front desk will loan you umbrellas when it rains
- the front desk will help you check reservations, if necessary....very necessary if you don't speak a word of Japanese.
- Fraser will email you English and Japanese instructions on how to get from the Nankai-Namba train station (via Nankai Rapi:T train) to the hotel. This is especially useful if you need to show the instruction sheet to local Japanese folk at the train station - they will read the Jap text and tell you which way to go if you really get lost. But it is fairly unlikely cos instructions are very clear.

I do have 2 minor grouses, if I must (dig hard to) write some down.
6) Breakfast is of a limited variety and doesn't include the usual cold-cuts, choice of cereals and bread/pastries. It is provided by the restaurant next door - Massa. You access it via a side door from the lobby. Don't get me wrong, the food at Massa is really not bad. Just that breakfast is a fixed menu (Set A, B, C). They do change the Set A slightly every day by swapping eggs sunny side up with a hard boiled egg or scrambled eggs and swapping bread buns with toast. Set A is easily the most popular cos it has a fist-full of salad, 2 finger-thick pork sausages, eggs and toast. Set B and C swaps the sausages and eggs for cereals and fruit.

7) In the dead of the night, when it is dead-silent, you can hear traffic noise emitting from the air vent / cooker hob fume extractor. We found it very amusing actually, albeit it does get louder when those uber-motorcycles or fast cars zoom past the flyover. You don't hear anything in the day, though and not when you are in the bedroom or bathroom.

Overall, my family and I thoroughly enjoyed our week-long stay. It was a great base for us explore Osaka.My children made themselves at home almost immediately. And the location made is very convenient for us who were travelling with small children and plenty of luggages.

Some tips.
a) You should opt for the Nankai Rapi:T Alpha train rather than the Beta train cos both are the same price (JNY 1390) but the Alpha train is faster. But if you dont mind an extra 15min journey, not having a reserved seat, risk having to squeeze with locals going on their daily business, you can opt for the regular express (JNY890). Rapi:T takes 29mins (Alpha) and 39mins (Beta) to get from KIX to Namba.

b) walk out of the Nankai-Namba train Central exit, walk down the Namba Parks escalator, turn left at the underpass and walk toward the traffic light where you can see MacDonalds. Cross the street towards the hole-in-the-wall Okonoyaki stand and viola, you are at the Fraser Nankai main door - it is opposite a Pachinko slot gaming arcade. In fact, if you look up and over the flyover when you are on the escalator, you will see the Fraser Residence.

c) To get to Takashimaya, walk thru the underground shopping mall @ Namba Parks. Then, exit the main door of Takashimaya to get to the Ebisubashi and Shinsaibashi shopping streets. There is plenty of good restaurants on the top floors and the basement food arcade is a gem chock-full of colourful bento sets, cooked food, gift sets and fresh produce. If you are keen on discount bentos, wait til about 1900hrs when they slash prices prior to closing for the day at 2000hrs.

d) walk thru Ebisubashi-suji to get to Dotombori. Should not take you more than 20mins.

e) If walking is not your thing, the Sub-way is extensive and not that expensive. Typical fares for 2-4 stops cost us JNY200 and we even took an 8-10 stop journey for JNY230. That said, children under 3 travel free.

f) Go to Kuromon-Ichiba market to buy fresh foods like strawberries (they are unbelievably good, so good you can even smell the fragrance from 2metres out), freshly grilled scallops and freshly prepared Unagi (grilled eel).The prices are unbeatable and you will notice many local housewives buying....always a good sign.

g) skip the Ferris Wheel at the Hep Five shopping mall and take the one at the Tempozan mall near the Kaiyukan aquarium. The view of better and it is less crowded. You can buy a Aquarium-Ferris Wheel combo ticket on-site.

Room Tip: rooms 06 and 05 are the larger rooms on each floor. These are likely the Executive rooms which are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank B0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Just back from Osaka 2 wks ago. Fraser, great location, very clean room. Its easy to get to Fraser from Kansai Airport. Room equip with mini kitchenette & washing machine with dryer comes in handy! Breakfast menu was quite limited but enough to fill your stomach. Family mart & Macdonalds just across the streets. Overall, great hotel! I will recommend Fraser to those who intend to travel to Osaka!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank crystal1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#10 of 307 in Osaka
1,350 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
Holiday Inn Osaka Namba
#26 of 307 in Osaka
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Hotel Monterey Grasmere Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka

Property: Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka
Address: 1-17-11 Nambanaka, Naniwa-ku, Osaka 556-0011, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Osaka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Osaka
#4 Luxury Hotel in Osaka
#11 Business Hotel in Osaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the first International Serviced Residence in Osaka. Ideally located for business ana leisure, just 2 minites from the airport train staion. Ideal for long term stay as well as short term, from 1 night. Fully equipped with Washing/Dryer machine, Kitchennette, and connected free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Residence Nankai Osaka Hotel Osaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing