We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly strange but perfect for backpackers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wheelers Guest House
Ranked #179 of 338 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Cheddington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly strange but perfect for backpackers!”
Reviewed 8 September 2010

The whole experience of Wheeler's is strange! Walking up the stairwell into the building leaves you with a lot of doubt about what to expect at the top, but once you get to the floor of the guesthouse, the atmosphere changes straight away! Colourful walls and an outdoor-like feel to it with plants and lanterns. Floors are wooden slats over pebbles in the reception, almost like a spa, with fish tanks on the walls. The rooms are perfect for backpackers: singles, doubles, triples, double and bunkbed, dorms! shared bathroom are all that's available though, sometimes the toilets don't flush properly! But showers are powerful!!! We were unlucky enough to be woken up by an alarm going off outside somewhere but the night before's sleep was fine! Food is served throughout the day, not an extensive menu and sometimes quite slow, but perfect for breakfast! Staff are friendly and always looking for a chat, can help you out with any directions or advice that you might need! Look out for Orangutan! One of the best stays in our 2.5 month trip!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memmabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    20
    26
    23
See reviews for
2
30
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Location: Good location, near Chinatown. Walking distance from one of the big bus stations, and also close to one LRT and one MRT station. A little hard to find, as their entrance is very small. Not the best impression from the entrance, don't use the elevator - it's a little scary.

Staff: One guy was very nice, the other two we met was a little scary, not so helpful and didn't speak great English. The guy who cooks makes ok breakfasts, but it does take a while to get the food.

Room: Found this room disgusting. It was small and only had a window facing the hallway. The bed was ok, but didn't have nice sheets. I used my sarong, scarf and towel to avoid contact with the mattress. Everything in there was just dirty, I didn't even want to touch the floor with my bare feets because it looked so dirty.

Bathrooms: Two shared bathrooms in the end of the hallway. Showers are very good, warm and nice. Toilets did not flush so good, plus it didn't have any toilet paper, so remember to bring some yourself.

Negatives: Half naked staff running around the hallways, seemed like he slept in one of the rooms just beside us. Weird. We did laundry here and some of it came back stained...

Positives: Free barbeque dinner on the rooftop terrace every Friday night. This was a really good dinner, with lots of options. Many people came up here to eat, so that was a huge plus.

Would not go back and would not recommend it. It was cheap and we didn't spend much time there, but not a favorite.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SisselSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Derby, UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

No problems here, simple, effective guesthouse, you can wash your clothes and kick back, just don't expect any more. In the heart of the lively Chinatown and close to Pasar Seni station which gives you access to the twin towers (KLCC) and the main railway station which we took to Singapore. If you need to stay in the hole that is KL then staying here is a good bet.

Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank maccaderby242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

We stayed here with 3 teenagers and a six year old. The walk up the stairs was enough to make me think again, but once we reached the reception area it improved. The staff were OK not overly friendly at the beginning of our stay but by the end they were quite pleasant. The rooms were tired and in need of a new paint job and the bunk beds squeaked intolerably . The shared bathrooms were dirty and needed a makeover. No hot water. I guess if you are after just a bed to crash it would be OK, but i wouldn't recommend for an extended stay or a stay with kids. The roof garden is more a cement garden and you are not allowed to take your own drinks up.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rounsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I enjoyed three nights here in Wheelers guest house. very affordable and rooms were clean and comfortable. It was in an ideal setting, a quick taxi from the airport got us here at all hours in the morning and we were immediately giving a room to stay in while we waited for our own at no extra cost! Its next to all transport from buses, mono rails n trains and loads of shopping centres and shopping streets around.
Breakfast here was lovely. Staff were so friendly and were always on hand to give advice and help you! I'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey86Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

It's well located, one block away from the China Town, and near the railway stop. The building is not clean at all.

The room only have bed, fan, and light. Don't expect a waste bin.

Internet is avaiable in the lobby, they have 2 computer (it isn't for free). For the wifi you have to pay, but at the time that we've visited it doesn't work.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Escaloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2008

Super friendly hosts!

The Sunroof is a great venue to meet fellow travelers and swap stories with them.

The aircon room cools instantly.

Fast internet connection at the lobby. They also provide pocketbooks/
novels for the bookworm backpacker.

Wheelers provide power hot and cold showers, which is cool. It's hot walking around KL.

Near two LRT stations (Plaza Rakyat and Pasar Seni), and the Puduraya Bus Station.

Located in Jl Tun HS Lee which is in the center of Chinatown.

Cool, cool, cool place! Will definitely come back!

  • Liked — Price, friendliness of staff.
  • Disliked — The elevator opens then closes in one second. Ride in a hurry!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank UnlockableRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.6 km away
Irsia Bed & Breakfast
Irsia Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
148 reviews
0.1 km away
Matahari Lodge
Matahari Lodge
#24 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
287 reviews
0.2 km away
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Raizzy's Guesthouse
#3 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Natalie Guesthouse
Natalie Guesthouse
#73 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
31 reviews
0.3 km away
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#165 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
55 reviews
0.2 km away
Birdnest Collective Cafe & Guesthouse
Birdnest Collective Cafe & Guest...
#19 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheelers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelers Guest House

Property: Wheelers Guest House
Address: Wheelers Guest House 131-133 Jalan Tun H S Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new Management, Wheelers Guest House is one of the famous budget hotels amongst backpackers in KL City. With new affordable rates, better atmosphere and free services, you'll get more bang for your buck. Wheelers is not like other typical budget hostels, We actually care about our guests and try to make their stay as pleasant as possible, with knowledgeable friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere So whats changed since Feb 2015? Free Toast & Jam Breakfast from 7 - 11am. 24 / 7 Reception 24 / 7 Free tea & Coffee (mainly so our receptionist doesn't fall asleep) Free High Speed Wifi on both floors, and on the roof Rooftop area (cant really call it a terrace yet... But its being slowly improved) Free Baggage storage Free transfers to Penang & Melaka (we have hostels there as well, and its subject to availability) No Hidden Costs So next time you are in KL, come by and check us out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wheelers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheelers Guest House Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing