We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and bad breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The 5 Elements Hotel
Ranked #116 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This hotel could be a good 4 star hotel but......
it is not clean , the windows of the rooms are dirty, the floor of the room is not realy clean.
The sheets on the bed do not have a white color but look like they are never washed, and have dirty spots on it.
The aircondition is very noisy, the breakfast looks good, but everyting is cold even the noodles and egg are cold.(we had breakfast at 9 ) The bathroom is not clean. We found black hair on the pillows the first night. We have no dark hair.
With good management this could be a good hotel
we never come back here, 2 more nights to go

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hanstuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed at the hotel over the Christmas holidays. It was not too bad actually. Check in was fast and the guy at the check in counter, I think his name is Karl, was very friendly. We booked 2 Elements Superior Twin rooms. When we went up to our rooms, housekeeping was still there, apparently waiting for the towels and bottled water to arrive. One room was fine - clean if you can ignore the slight stains on the bedsheets. The other room has faulty plumbing, a not very clean bathroom and of course the slight stains on the bedsheets. The air-conditioner is very noisy but very, very cold. Breakfast is, well, not too bad if you are not too fussy about food. Better to eat at Petaling Street nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoonWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in 5 elements hotel during my visit in KL last week. I am very dissapointed with this hotel.
The hotel's lobby looks nice & the rooms decoration (wallpaper) makes the rooms look new and pretty as shown but other than that..everything is bad..
Bed bugs inside the pillow and bed...got bed bug bites during 1st night. The walls of the rooms is very thin where you can hear people talking and when they close the door, not having a good rest during the stay.
The towel given is very dirty and the bed linen was very dirty with blood stain.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alicegoh2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I stay at the hotel recently for 2 nights. The hotel was nice for the wallpaper and LCD TV other than that most of the things is old. I some time do accept and understand stain towel and bed sheet as long as they do wash it (i assume) but for this hotel is too much with blood on towels and bed bugs worst of all. During my first night stayed i got bed bug bite and request to change room ask them to check make sure the room bed sheet and towels is clean.
The hotel did change and upgrade my room but the bed sheet and towel is still dirty at least it no longer has bed bug. I don't think is worth the price to stay at this kind of hotel

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alvintwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

formerly it was furama hotel.this hotel is just opposite Swiss Inn.the room looked old or very old.the bathroom was bad.the worst was condition of the towel.it should not be used anymore.the management was very stingy in this case.the bed linen was old too.the only good thing about the room is the SHARP lcd tv.the carpet needed to be changed as well.
food can be found in abundance outside the hotel especially at nite.variety of food especially Chinese.McDonalds, KFC & Starbucks are just a few minutes away. the famous Petaling Street with thousand-and-one types of imitation goods can be found here.Pasar Seni LRT station to places like KL CC is apprx 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel. Puduraya bus station is just 5 minutes walking distance. breakfast was included in the price of rm170 nett for an Element Superior Single room. not much variety of food at breakfast. not really essential as one can easily find better food outside and nearby. in short, location is good , that is all!

Room Tip: u do not really need breakfast! explore food available outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KelvinPg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed here and were very dissapointed. The bed linen was dirty! The towels were so old they could be a collectors items! The air-conditioner was so loud on all speeds. The walls were paper thin. Smoking from the next room came through to ours via the air-con! The tap in the bathroom just rested on the sink! We arrived to find an 8th of a toilet roll left and had to ask 3 times before we got more. The wireless did not work ...we tried 2 different floors to access. Breakfast was very basic - no juice, 2 fruits to choose from. Mainly Asian style foods supplied.That is more than 5 reasons not to stay here, but that is the truth. The ONLY good thing was the location - but there are many hotels in this area anyway.

Room Tip: Higher up less road noise - but still evident on 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4evaLuv-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel recently for 3 nights. The hotel is in a very nice location, close to the buzzing China town and central market. Also there are many places to sample chinese food, and for the coffee lovers, starbucks is just round the corner. The rooms on the lower floors of the hotel are not well maintained, and smell of smoke, even though they are non-smoking rooms. On the higher floors 10th - 14th, they are bit more expensive but with little difference in ambience.

On the first night we had a room on a higher floor with a leaking sink, and toilet that could not flash. The maintanance guys came and left with no word. The next day i complained at the reception and they changed our room. All rooms have adjacent doors - might be good for large families, but did not work for us, as our neghbours happened to be very noisy at night. The bathrooms are poorly maintained, with stained floors and walls.

Well, i was not expecting 5 star rooms, but the management need to maintain the place better.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kairetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 km away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#56 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
1,037 reviews
0.1 km away
Ancasa Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ancasa Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#126 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
689 reviews
0.4 km away
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#50 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.4 km away
Hotel Transit Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Transit Kuala Lumpur
#69 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
255 reviews
0.4 km away
Pacific Express Hotel
Pacific Express Hotel
#92 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 5 Elements Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 5 Elements Hotel

Address: Lot 243 Jalan Sultan, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $36 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 5 Elements Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 5 Elements Hotel - a uniquely themed boutique hotel in famed Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur that offers hotel rooms at affordable rates plus highly personalized service. No longer are tourists visiting Chinatown limited to just the budget hotels and travellers' inns here which offer guests the basics of accommodation. We honestly feel that hotel guests deserve not just affordability, but also comfort and security - plus that touch of the unusual which makes a stay truly memorable. Our aim is to make everyone who comes to our establishment say, "Hey, I found a really cool place to stay in KL!" Our boutique hotel is inspired by traditional Wu Xing (五行) philosophy - reinterpreted for the discerning modern traveller who seeks something beyond the ordinary. Here, water, wood, fire, earth and metal - the Five Elements essential for universal balance - set the theme for a contemporary, chic ambience and a refreshing service experience. At The 5 Elements Hotel, guests have the perfect gateway to discover the many charms of Kuala Lumpur's Chinatown and nearby Petaling Street. Your hotel room here is your oasis of calm amidst all the hustle and bustle. A place to rest and rebalance all the elements of mind, body and soul. Stay with us for a one-of-a-kind hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The 5 Elements Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing