We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Dirty and bad breakfast” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The 5 Elements Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The 5 Elements Hotel
Ranked #123 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Torremolinos, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty and bad breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This hotel could be a good 4 star hotel but......
it is not clean , the windows of the rooms are dirty, the floor of the room is not realy clean.
The sheets on the bed do not have a white color but look like they are never washed, and have dirty spots on it.
The aircondition is very noisy, the breakfast looks good, but everyting is cold even the noodles and egg are cold.(we had breakfast at 9 ) The bathroom is not clean. We found black hair on the pillows the first night. We have no dark hair.
With good management this could be a good hotel
we never come back here, 2 more nights to go

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanstuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    137
    93
    31
    22
See reviews for
84
73
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed at the hotel over the Christmas holidays. It was not too bad actually. Check in was fast and the guy at the check in counter, I think his name is Karl, was very friendly. We booked 2 Elements Superior Twin rooms. When we went up to our rooms, housekeeping was still there, apparently waiting for the towels and bottled water to arrive. One room was fine - clean if you can ignore the slight stains on the bedsheets. The other room has faulty plumbing, a not very clean bathroom and of course the slight stains on the bedsheets. The air-conditioner is very noisy but very, very cold. Breakfast is, well, not too bad if you are not too fussy about food. Better to eat at Petaling Street nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoonWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in 5 elements hotel during my visit in KL last week. I am very dissapointed with this hotel.
The hotel's lobby looks nice & the rooms decoration (wallpaper) makes the rooms look new and pretty as shown but other than that..everything is bad..
Bed bugs inside the pillow and bed...got bed bug bites during 1st night. The walls of the rooms is very thin where you can hear people talking and when they close the door, not having a good rest during the stay.
The towel given is very dirty and the bed linen was very dirty with blood stain.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alicegoh2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

I stay at the hotel recently for 2 nights. The hotel was nice for the wallpaper and LCD TV other than that most of the things is old. I some time do accept and understand stain towel and bed sheet as long as they do wash it (i assume) but for this hotel is too much with blood on towels and bed bugs worst of all. During my first night stayed i got bed bug bite and request to change room ask them to check make sure the room bed sheet and towels is clean.
The hotel did change and upgrade my room but the bed sheet and towel is still dirty at least it no longer has bed bug. I don't think is worth the price to stay at this kind of hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvintwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

formerly it was furama hotel.this hotel is just opposite Swiss Inn.the room looked old or very old.the bathroom was bad.the worst was condition of the towel.it should not be used anymore.the management was very stingy in this case.the bed linen was old too.the only good thing about the room is the SHARP lcd tv.the carpet needed to be changed as well.
food can be found in abundance outside the hotel especially at nite.variety of food especially Chinese.McDonalds, KFC & Starbucks are just a few minutes away. the famous Petaling Street with thousand-and-one types of imitation goods can be found here.Pasar Seni LRT station to places like KL CC is apprx 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel. Puduraya bus station is just 5 minutes walking distance. breakfast was included in the price of rm170 nett for an Element Superior Single room. not much variety of food at breakfast. not really essential as one can easily find better food outside and nearby. in short, location is good , that is all!

Room Tip: u do not really need breakfast! explore food available outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KelvinPg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Far North Coast, NSW
Level Contributor
206 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed here and were very dissapointed. The bed linen was dirty! The towels were so old they could be a collectors items! The air-conditioner was so loud on all speeds. The walls were paper thin. Smoking from the next room came through to ours via the air-con! The tap in the bathroom just rested on the sink! We arrived to find an 8th of a toilet roll left and had to ask 3 times before we got more. The wireless did not work ...we tried 2 different floors to access. Breakfast was very basic - no juice, 2 fruits to choose from. Mainly Asian style foods supplied.That is more than 5 reasons not to stay here, but that is the truth. The ONLY good thing was the location - but there are many hotels in this area anyway.

Room Tip: Higher up less road noise - but still evident on 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4evaLuv-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel recently for 3 nights. The hotel is in a very nice location, close to the buzzing China town and central market. Also there are many places to sample chinese food, and for the coffee lovers, starbucks is just round the corner. The rooms on the lower floors of the hotel are not well maintained, and smell of smoke, even though they are non-smoking rooms. On the higher floors 10th - 14th, they are bit more expensive but with little difference in ambience.

On the first night we had a room on a higher floor with a leaking sink, and toilet that could not flash. The maintanance guys came and left with no word. The next day i complained at the reception and they changed our room. All rooms have adjacent doors - might be good for large families, but did not work for us, as our neghbours happened to be very noisy at night. The bathrooms are poorly maintained, with stained floors and walls.

Well, i was not expecting 5 star rooms, but the management need to maintain the place better.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kairetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 km away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#46 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.2 km away
Ancasa Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ancasa Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#107 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 km away
Lantern Hotel
Lantern Hotel
#78 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.4 km away
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#52 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Transit Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Transit Kuala Lumpur
#54 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The 5 Elements Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 5 Elements Hotel

Property: The 5 Elements Hotel
Address: Lot 243, Jalan Sultan (Chinatown), Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The 5 Elements Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 5 Elements Hotel - a uniquely themed boutique hotel in famed Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur that offers hotel rooms at affordable rates plus highly personalized service. No longer are tourists visiting Chinatown limited to just the budget hotels and travellers' inns here which offer guests the basics of accommodation. We honestly feel that hotel guests deserve not just affordability, but also comfort and security - plus that touch of the unusual which makes a stay truly memorable. Our aim is to make everyone who comes to our establishment say, "Hey, I found a really cool place to stay in KL!" Our boutique hotel is inspired by traditional Wu Xing (五行) philosophy - reinterpreted for the discerning modern traveller who seeks something beyond the ordinary. Here, water, wood, fire, earth and metal - the Five Elements essential for universal balance - set the theme for a contemporary, chic ambience and a refreshing service experience. At The 5 Elements Hotel, guests have the perfect gateway to discover the many charms of Kuala Lumpur's Chinatown and nearby Petaling Street. Your hotel room here is your oasis of calm amidst all the hustle and bustle. A place to rest and rebalance all the elements of mind, body and soul. Stay with us for a one-of-a-kind hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The 5 Elements Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing