We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #17 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
colombo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed last week and found that the reviews of previous guests was spot on! Staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient, all what we expected and more. The Gym was very well equipped, and the pool was clean and inviting. Breakfast at the Souled out restaurant was decent enough and the location was perfect. Most places in the city were easily reachable by cab. A tip- do not use the budget taxis if you want to sit comfortably at the back- use the executive cabs instead. They cost double, but you ride in comfort! We will be back......

Room Tip: Choose a high floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooter051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    286
    43
    13
    9
See reviews for
241
291
41
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The room is very comfortable and staff very kind. There are many facility, really helpful. It's very pity I came along!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yuppybat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here at the end of March and must firstly say i cannot really think of anything wrong to say about this hotel. Check in was done both quickly and efficiently , and all details for the reservation were correct. We were greeted by all staff with a 5 star welcome and smile. The porter was quick to bring the bags to the room and his explanation of some of the room facilities was well done. The room has all the luxurys of home....fridge, washing machine / dryer, shower and seperate bath, tv, dvd player and stereo. Plus there is the hotel services of in room dining, free wifi , a safe , laundry service. The swimming pool , fitness centre and lounge area on the top floor are of a high standard . The room was well serviced every day . But one little minus point for the hotel is if you take the breakfast next door it does not have much variety, but the hotel points i have noted make up for this small downpoint. Check out was done just as check in was. Overall a first class stay. And a special mention to the two girls on the reception , Jenz and Raych, and the porter Zuhir....They really do the hotel proud. And one last point. If you are worried about location..it may seem a distance from the centre but it is not that bad. Metro is nearby and the Petronas Towers are only a short walk away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Munchkin740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Me and my family LOVE IT very much, we stayed in Somerset Ampang 4 days 3 nights (24 - 27 March 2012). The hotel is in Ampang road, about 10-15 min walk from Ampang Park train station (we walk in slow pace since we bring our Grandma in this trip). It is in HCB tower (if I am not mistaken), so if you want to ask to the local just say the tower name instead of Somerset Ampang because it is better known as the HCB tower.

We booked for the three bedroom premier apartment but a week before we go there we receive and email that said they will be upgrading us into 3 rooms of one bedroom apartment because of some reason, we accepted it, and when we come to the hotel it is a very good offer since all of our apartment is very good, comfortable, fully equip, and really nice one.

The most excellent feature (at least for us) is the bathroom with big window viewing the city, really nice to take a bubble bath at night and enjoying the city view full of light like a star in the night. LOVE IT so much

The infinity pool is also a nice experience we can swim there while looking at petronas tower at the back ground, it even have a Jacuzzi in the corner of the pool, and child's pool. What else do you asking for?

The staffs are really friendly and helpful

So as far as we can say it is the cherry on top of our visit to KL Malaysia. Love it Very Much

Room Tip: choose the premier rooms type
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianP_BundaF-V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed with my friend on 18/03/12, i ask my friend to check in on behalf of me. Is kind of weird they did not show the registration card to my friend and just straight away ask them to give deposit. When the Credit card having some problem, they seem like not so patience to my friend already. This is first part that i feel not so good to my friend.....Anyway the room was awesome, it was nice for the family and friends gathering....another thing that i confuse which is i book a room with 3 bedroom but i only able to get a free parking for 1 slot, lastly they have to use the walkie talkie to page each other to get approval for my another parking slot.....anyway i stil will come back to this hotel as i like the room so much....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kennethkck89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We satyed here in Feb 2012 for 2 nights, and are going back in March for another two nights, the place is great if you are travelling with tech savy kids, free wifi !The hotel is very central and and easy walk to KL towers, the breakfast has a large, changing selection and lots of choice for fussy eaters. The rooftop pool is also a must for the hot afternoons. The 2 bed apartments are well equiped, thanks for the washing machine( boys will be boys). A few other reviewers have mentioned the busy road in front of the hotel, well yes there is sort of busy, but if you have half a brain it will be no problem, we have 3 boys 7, 10 and 11 and they found it not a problem! Its nothing compared to say roads in Phnom Penh etc. Overall this is a great hotel to stay at be it for shopping or sightseeing.

Room Tip: Try for room on the Towers side, you might get a peak ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IJArchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2012

It took me over a week to pick a hotel as the lower priced hotels are usually smoke filled and have a lower standard of cleanliness and i didn't want to spend 500rm+ for a name brand, clean, smoke free hotel. The hotel exceeded my expectations in every way. The studio room was a touch small but i did ask for a baby cot in it. The only suggestion would be for them to have porta-cot's rather then full size cribs, which didn't leave much room to walk around. Every thing was super clean. ( I'm super picky about cleanliness) they let me check in 2 hour early and have a 1 hour late check out. GREAT HOTEL, SUPER FRIENDLY STAFF, DECENT BREAKFAST , & CLEAN

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 98picky_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
8.6 km away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
5.1 km away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#15 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,024 reviews
2.5 km away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
2.1 km away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#24 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
1.1 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur

Property: Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Address: No 187 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#22 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the prestigious Embassy Row, Somerset Ampang offers stylish accommodation and unrivalled city views of the Kuala Lumpur City Centre. Its prime location provides quick access to the city's business, shopping and entertainment district, marked by Jalan Ampang, JAlan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Tun Razak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing