We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the vicinity of KL Sentral for the budget traveller”
Review of Hotel Summer View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Summer View
Ranked #62 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the vicinity of KL Sentral for the budget traveller”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We spent two nights in Summer View from 11th-13th March 2012 and found it to be decent. They charged MYR150 per day incl bfast and also MYR100 as security deposit. The breakfast had decent choices. The location is superb and near to KL Sentral (around 100m). So no need of takinga taxi unless you are carrying luggage. The room was a bit small but manageable. The front desk staff especially the gentleman at night were very courteous

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vihar_kol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    238
    99
    3
    7
See reviews for
83
153
50
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I have stayed in this hotel for one night... This hotel is easy access because of near to Sentral... When i reached the hotel i found that they allready prepared my room key this was good... But then they have asked me 100RM for deposit which i dont like as there are some good hotels nearby which dont ask for any deposit... After i reach my room i found that my room was big enough and all the facility was available except refrigerator... AC was very effective... But when i seen bathroom i have got disappointed... It was very small bathroom... Even i have to adjust myself a lot for sitting in toilet... Shower area also was very small... Night was quit well gone as bed was comfortable... In the morning i go to breakfast... Breakfast was sufficient but lag some basic things like omllate which was unfortunately not available and i guess this is the most common breakfast everywhere... Overall stay was fine but you can find more better hotel in same price nearby area...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siddharthsingh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogor, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I agree with the most of reviewers that this hotel is valuable.

But you have to note, when you check-in this hotel, you will be asked for MYR 30 or USD 50 for room guarantee, although you bring the payment received by Agoda.

I have a bad experience when I stay in this hotel, which the TV remote is gone on the second day after we came back from exploring Genting and KL. We used the TV remote in the first day. So I don't understand why the TV remote is gone. As I understood is: only cleaning service staff can enter my room with the hotel rule, that is to make up my room. I reported it to front office immediately and house keeping staff check to my room, but the TV remote is still gone. The hotel does not have back up unit. So, I asked to the house keeping in order to note that the loossing of TV remote is not my responsibility, because I' not in the room since morning, and don't take my MYR 30.

From this, I learn that we have to be careful although so many good comment for this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nice
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

we stayed one night in this hotel which appears to be recent. It's a very good value for money especially in Kuala Lumpur (140 rm per night). The room was clean, quite spacious with a safety box, kettle & coffee & tea. The bathroom is ok, with a shower separated by a shower curtain, a set of shampoo & soap available. The staff is extremely efficient & friendly which is quite rare in Kuala Lumpur (even in so called 5 star hotels). The buffet breakfast is ok with a choice of 10 dishes mostly salty ( sausages, baked beans etc). Also good location close to the railway station. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oksana50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. It was not gorgeous but cozy and comfortable. Nice Receptionist provided me a top floor room in which I enjoyed night view. All equipment and free WiFi were working exactly. Staff was cleaning up my room precisely everyday. I felt comfortable to sleep on the bed with nice linen. Situation was also comfortable. It was easy for me to reach to any town from Central station by train and bus. I recommend this hotel to single traveler or one with friends.

・If you need a Plug, you can buy it at Indie shop across from Seven Eleven.
・No smoking area anywhere inside hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDnori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

This budget hotel is located only 5 - 10 minutes walk to KL Sentral station and only less than 5 minutes walk to Monorail station. Reception staffs and security guards are helpful and friendly. The room is in good size and condition with the plus benefit of free WiFi and in-room deposit box.

Not so huge selection of ABF but it was good enough to keep us going in the morning. Only one down point that the restaurant staff didn't pay much attention to the guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Fatangel_am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I stayed one night and found all the staff to be friendly. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and I found the A/C not noisy. Wi Fi worked well.
I enjoyed the breakfast and thought there was a good selection available of cooked food as well as toast and a variety of fruits.

The location though isn't the best, in Brickfields there wasn't that much exactly out your door but you can travel a short distance to where all the madness is.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuluNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 km away
NU Hotel Sentral
NU Hotel Sentral
#87 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
119 reviews
0.1 km away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#92 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
392 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Sentral
Hotel Sentral
#103 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#50 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
992 reviews
1.2 km away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#69 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
645 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#44 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Summer View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Summer View

Property: Hotel Summer View
Address: # 165 Jalan Sultan Abdul Samad | off Jalan Tun Sambathan 4, Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Summer View 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Summer View is nicely located within a 7 minutes walking distance from the famous KL Sentral Station in Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur. Being in such close proximity to this transportation hub of 6 major railway networks and public transport, travelers have easy access to many major tourist spots, shopping centres, cultural venues and other places of interests in city. At Hotel Summer View, our 98 guestrooms come with either Super Twin or King-sized beds. Our tastefully furnished and cosy rooms are equipped with various amenities to make your stay a comfortable one. All our rooms have in-room individually controlled air-conditioning, attached bathroom with water heater, television, IDD telephone service, complimentary coffee and tea making facilities and complimentary drinking water. Our friendly reception staff is ready to serve you at any time of the day or night as we have 24 hour front desk reception service. With your safety in mind, we have 24 hour CCTV Security System. At Hotel Summer View, we will make your stay a pleasurable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Summer View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing