We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stopver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent stopver”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I booked a stay here on each leg of a family trip to Australia and we found that it really took the sting out of our jet lag. Our room was extremely comfortable: great beds and pillows, wonderful shower and pleasant touches in the room e.g. a kettle and teabags (often an annoying omission in luxury hotels), a decent iron and ironing board, free mineral water and lots of free fruit.

The breakfast buffet was enormous in terms of choice although I would have settled for a smaller range of food cooked to order. My daughter however was walking on air at the sight of the chocolate fountain and the choice of pastries. Next time I would consider upgrading to the Horizon Club for a more peaceful atmosphere at breakfast: the main restaurant is busy and noisy and not somewhere to linger with coffee and the papers.

the staff were very helpful: offering hotel umbrellas during a downpour, supplying first aid when my daughter grazed her leg, offering lollypops as we waited for a taxi.....nice little touches that were all appreciated.

The pool area is small but comfortable and we appreciated the free fruit and iced water. The lobby is an inviting space for tea or drinks. We mainly ate in the LG2Go cafe for quick and cheap sandwiches and drinks but found room service fast and pretty reasonable in price for a hotel of this quality.

I loved our stay here and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ajb287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,056
    1,352
    347
    76
    48
See reviews for
1,264
2,991
417
1,282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,422)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The 3 of us stayed in a very spacious apartment suite for 3 nights. The rooms, staff, location, amenities (best hotel gym I've seen), rates (suite deal), cleanliness, maintenance were all true 5 star luxury. Fast check in / check out, great extras in the room ( fresh fruit daily, tv in bathroom, 1.5 bathrooms, quiet). Comprehensive selection for breakfast and happy hour in Horizon Club was well worth the extra cost. We chose the Shangri - La for it's #1 ranking on Trip Advisor and weren't disappointed. We will definitely stay there again on future trips to KL and will consider other Shangri -La hotels in other cities.

Room Tip: Go for the Suite Deal if its available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davymob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We booked a Horizon room and when we checked in we were offered an upgrade to a suite for a reasonable price. We took that offer and I have to say that the suite we got was great.
Overall the service at the Hotel was very good and all the staff was very professional.
The Horizon lounge was very good, the service great and the food and beverages excellent.
We also tried the breakfast in the Lemon garden café and it was the best breakfast buffet that I have tried ever.
I can only recommend this Hotel, and we will definitely go back there whenever we stay in KL.

Room Tip: Stay in a Horizon club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riojawikinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We hadn't even stepped out the car and they greeted us with such a welcome, we were not allowed to touch our bags, everything was going to be taken care of. We were greeted by Leah, she showed us to a special desk and within minutes we were greeted by someone else who presented us with a large bouquet of roses and wishing us a very Happy anniversary. We checked in and that point Leah said she would take us up stairs to our room, well we thought it was a room, because that is what we had booked in the Horizon Club. Leah opened the door and started to show us around at that point we realised this was not a room, but a suite!!!! tears flowed and we thanked Leah so much for what they had done to make our anniversary so special. Leah left us after a very thankful hug from us, saying anything she could do for just to let her know.

We started to settle in when the door bell rang, it was chocolates for us, then it rang again, chocolate anniversary cake this time with candles, again it rang, fruit basket etc, then the pursar asking if there was anything we would like done. What a perfect start to our holiday. Breakfast was great it was very exclusive in the Horison Club and we loved it, but the highlite of the stay at the Shangri-La apart from our beautiful suite was the cocktail hour in the Horizon Club, especially on the day when we can back from volutering at the Elephant sanctuary, we walked into the Shangri-La went to the HC lounge and drank geogeous cocktails and had beautiful nibbles before relaxing in our large bath in our suite. From start to finish the Shangri-La fulfiled our dreams and more. They made our silver wedding anniversary so very special and for that we thank LEAH and the SHANGRI-LA HOTEL GROUP.

TIPS, although we had access to the Horizon Club lounge we didn't use it as much as we should have done. They serve afternoon tea from 15.30 to 17.00hrs this includes, rolls, sandwiches, pastries, cakes etc. From 17.00hrs to 19.00hrs (i think this is the correct time, don't quote me) you can stay in the HC lounge for cocktails and canapes, really beautiful tasting canapes, hot and cold All included in the price you pay for the room.

Room excellent, food really good, staff exceptional, they made our holiday. THANK YOU AGAIN

Room Tip: Do upgrade to a Horizon Club room, it well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelyJerseygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Friendly efficient service, in the heart of the city, a beautiful pool to relax by, and a lovely comfortable room with a view of one Petronas Tower (end-on to its twin, so the other is hidden from view!), and an easy 10 minute stroll away from the Towers and the KLCC Mall.
We stayed for four nights to relax and get our bearings in KL. Well worth the extra cost to upgrade to a Horizon Club room: not only do you get an unlimited breakfast, but happy hour drinks and snacks in the evening make it a great haven.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Horizon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I Stayed in many 5 stars Hotels in KL. First time I try Shangri-la, truely a different experience.
Warm welcome when touch down the Hotel, pleasant feeling when communicating with the staffs.
Room- very clean, good bedding,
Location - walking distance to nearby shopping district.
Lobby - big lobby lounge and very relaxing.
Swimming pool - pool is small but some added value ( 2 lifegurads are there )
Breakfast - very crowded, lack of service. ( short handed ).

Overall, is a luxury Hotel and very comfortable stayed. Will choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Payoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney - Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Many of the previous reviews cover nearly all aspects of the hotel, so I will just add my vote.

Great hotel, quality staff and a central location. This is what a true luxury hotel should be like!

I just wish some of the other guests could behave as well as the staff :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidK-aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.7 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.9 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,573 reviews
1.2 km away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,496 reviews
2.3 km away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.8 km away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing