We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Capitol Hotel
Ranked #52 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel on 24 March for 3 nights. I should say the hotel has a perfect location - not far from the shopping malls and the mono rail. Breakfast was really superb with a lot of variety from typical local dishes as well favorite international foods. Our room was on 11th floor facing to Petronas twin tower. It was really such a great view . I would definitely recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grace_mtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    542
    233
    52
    30
See reviews for
217
371
122
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and myself stayed at this hotel on the 22nd of March for 4 days. The main reason for our stay was the Malaysian GP. The hotel is located right in the heart of KL and everything from mono rail to shopping centres was in easy reach. The hotel was more than I expected for the price we paid, the rooms were clean and tidy with great views of the beautiful city. We also had no problems with housekeeping. The breakfast choices were more than ample with enough choice to satisfy the fussiest of guests ( Like myself! ).
I had read a lot of reports about the noise levels at this hotel. We were on the 12th floor and yes, you could hear a little noise but nothing you wouldn't expect from a hotel right in the heart of the city centre.
I would not hesitate to recommend or use this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Great views of Petronas towers and the higher the floor, the less noise you will hear overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ade32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Capitol Hotel was a little overpriced in my opinion, costing me almost $80 per night, but I suppose hotels in Malaysia are generally a little dearer than other comparable places I'm used to such as Bangkok.
Anyway, the hotel itself was in a good location, walking distance to the Bukit Bintang monorail station, Jalan Alor for its food options, and all the local shopping options. Most taxi drivers seemed to know where it was as well.
The room windows were certainly not double glazed, and indeed some of the noise from the street permeated into the room, but up on the 14th floor I didn't have any real trouble sleeping. My room also had a great view of the Kuala Lumpur skyline, including the Petronas Towers. A nice place to spend an evening sipping a cold beer after a long day's walking, looking out the window!
The in-room facilities were standard, and included a TV, fridge, air-conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, iron, safe, hairdryer and good sized bathroom/shower. The shower was not as clean as it could be, with soap scum visible on the glass, though my room was serviced daily.
Breakfast at the hotel really stood out, with some effort gone to in terms of presentation of the restaurant. Food options were good, with "western", Asian and Indian foods available. The theme in the breakfast area was a bit tropical, with some nice little touches like flashing LED neon-style lights etc. and I didn't feel unwell after eating there.
The in-room wi-fi also worked reasonably well, though it was a bit annoying having to log in every time - it was an unsecured network that asked for your login through the web browser, rather than at the time of establishing a network connection. This prevents everyone around the place getting hold of the password and just using it for free if they're nearby I suppose, so fair enough.
The staff were polite, and upon checkout I really appreciated the girl asking if I had remembered everything, including passports and anything in the room safe. On this occasion I hadn't forgotten anything, but I've been known to be forgetful in the past!
Overall this hotel is a good option if you want to stay near Jalan Bukit Bintang without spending excessive amounts of money. I'd recommend it for couples, solo travellers and business travellers.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Capitol Hotel is located on the back of Bukit Bintang and Sungei Wang shopping centre. Not far from it you can reach electronic mall, not to mention Pavillion and Berjaya Times Square are all within foot-reach.

It's a small hotel with no pool, but we weren't looking for one anyway. Breakfast was quite good, and even when they say it's served on 6am, we found that before 6am they're already open (need to eat before catch morning flight).

Porter was always ready to help you with stuffs, call a cab, or offer umbrellas when it rains. Unfortunately there were only two elevators that run slow. The lobby itself was pretty quiet.

There are lots of nearby food stalls to eat, and at night can get noisy but it's still tolerable. Small convenience stores are around the corner comes in handy because they open late at night. The fact that we can go through Sungei Wang's back door is very convenient, as from there we can take shortcut to the main Bukit Bintang road and reach the train or to Pavillion or Lot 10.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view to Petronas and not facing the alley to get less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lunathique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Was very disappointed by this hotel. What I read about it and the pictures I saw of it did not live up to reality. The rooms were on the2nd floor opposite Low Yat Plaza ,and it was very noisy all night. The house-keeping left a lot to be desired. The only good thing I can say is that the breakfast was good and it was in walking distance to some good malls.

Room Tip: Ask for a room Away from Low Fat Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbryabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Have stayed in KL few times now - but this was first at Capitol Hotel - lovely hotel.

Obv v central location - can't think of any negatives.

Staff super nice - breakfast at hotel was really good - my booking had wifi included as part of deal which is really handy.

Room Tip: I booked 'Capitol Deluxe' which gives you great window views - particularly of towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ourmaizcay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This hotel really has a very good locations! It's just right beside Sungai Wang Plaza, just a stone throw away and also located in front of Low Yat Plaza where you can get cheap computers gadget! The room is cozy & big. Have been staying with this hotel more than 10 times already.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rolandho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 km away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#81 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.1 km away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#78 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.5 km away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#50 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#60 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.3 km away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#47 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#40 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Property: Capitol Hotel
Address: Hotel Capitol Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bulan | off Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#35 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#37 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Kuala Lumpur
Capitol Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing