We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“NO GO! Awful hotel.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malaya Hotel
Ranked #278 of 331 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
England, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“NO GO! Awful hotel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

The room was absolutely disgusting. It looked like there was dried vomit on the carpet, (see uploaded photo) the sink,bath and shower were that filthy we didn't dare to use them and the naff wallpaper was covered with nicotine stains. Not only did it look like the room design hadn't been updated in a very long time, it was as if it hadn't been cleaned for ages too.

The hotel is right in the heart of Chinatown, but right opposite some noisy bars. Because there is no air con you have to have an open window, and don't expect to get any sleep until at least 3.30am because of all the noise. Also when you see a sign on the door which warns you about leaving things in your own room you begin to worry about the safety of your own personal belongings here. First thing in the morning we checked out early and to their credit, without us even asking, the woman at reception refunded us the night we paid for but were not going to stay.

This hotel is really poor value for money in a city full of good value hotels. We stayed at a budget hotel in KL less half the price of this one (£15 instead of £45) and it was 100 times cleaner, quieter and comfier - with more facilities too.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLuckyDucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    21
    25
    10
    15
See reviews for
8
14
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

I called them one day in advance and requested for a room on Friday night. They had reduced their rate from RM136 to RM115 after they got rid if their bar. Im guessing too many tourist get drunk and create havoc.

My room was ok, view was the back of Chinatown. Bed was ok, I slept well but nothing showed on the TV. It was my first time staying here. Someone said about posh lobby below and she is right. Only the lobby is posh. Rooms are very old. Lucikly for me, the curtain shower was new. And we got a bath tub. My pet peeve was the water was dirty and it was yellow-brownish. Leaking pipe somewhere?

I wish the room was brighter. Mine seemed so dark even with the lamps provided.

I paid RM 115 for one night

Breakfast was ok, I ate mini pau, noodles were bad, had some tea, pancakes and toast. Overall I would rate it 5/10. Staff wasn't rude to me. But she DOES LOOK RUDE. So beware.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaltyBodiceRipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogor, Indonesia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

I came to malaya hotel and the staff was only one. And she was so rude to us. We ask about the room and she just answer it with yes or no only without helping. and when we ask about the payment, she told us with high tempt emotion. The room was not so good. The bed was dirty. The bathroom was terrible. The room has got no window so we felt everyday was a night. The breakfast was good enough.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monjunee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

We stayed in this hotel on our way to some where else and again on the way back.

Given the amount we paid the hotel was disgusting. In our room there were stains on the wall and a lot of hair on the bed! We did not venture into the shower as it looked too disgusting and there were some windows that did not shut properly. All corridors were very dimley lit so you couldn't really see the state they were in!

The main problem we had with the hotel was the extremely rude and racist staff. On our way out they tried to overcharge us. We questionned this as we had been quoted a set price and agreed this with them. They got extremely aggressive and their various friends that were hanging round in reception also joined in. For fear of their aggression and that they might get the police if we refused to pay the extra we ended up paying. Once we had paid and were taking our suitcases out a variety of the staff and their friends in reception started screaming various insults about us being white and not welcome.

If anyone is reading this review and considering staying in this place I really really would NOT recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaytimeswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 km away
D'Oriental Inn, Kuala Lumpur
D'Oriental Inn, Kuala Lumpur
#221 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 km away
Winsin Hotel
Winsin Hotel
#124 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel China Town Inn
Hotel China Town Inn
#93 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.1 km away
Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street
Alamanda Hotel Petaling Street
#277 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Seven Nite
Hotel Seven Nite
#211 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaya Hotel

Property: Malaya Hotel
Address: Hotel Malaya Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Hang Lekir, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 331 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Malaya Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Malaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malaya Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing