We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Cat Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2015

I had a wonderful stay in Birdnest Guesthouse and didn't encounter any hygienic problems while I was there. The place is clean, and the atmosphere on the roof top was really great. On my first night they had an open mic night, and backpackers from other hostels joined in what turned out to be a great party, with cheap beer and beer pong;). On Saturday, the next night, the guys (buskers) from Australia played again, a Czech guy from the hostel joined them, and they really rocked the rooftop :). On my last night I chilled with Willi and the gang, played some darts with two competitive;) German girls and had yet another great night (btw, I lost). Lots of backpackers were returning for the second or third time...probably because the place is just across the bus&train station, or just because it feels like family. The only thing that I missed was the filtered water, but I bought a cheap 5L mineral water can, and all was fine. Thank you Willi for being such a great host!

Room Tip: Spend your night on the rooftop, it's a great place to chill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2015

I 'spontaneously' spent about 4 months in birdnest and in the end it was hard to leave. I loved the artistic atmosphere and with some paintings and drawings I supported Willi, the super nice owner, with his new guesthouse. Also the staff and two cats are lovely and the personal contact as well as the cozy furnishing gives you a homelike feeling. The open common area / terrace has a bright and friendly design and the location of the the guesthouse is great (Central Market, MRT, Chinatown, Busterminal...). I met some wonderful people in those months and will come back to visit asap :)

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

My stay was overshadowed by the little lake cat urine I found my shoes lying in on the morning of my departure. If you stay at birdnest, make sure to not leave your shoes on the stairs as the cat walk around freely (my shoes werent the only ones that were wet). The smell of cat urine is very penetrant and almost impossible to get rid of (washing machine won't help).

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jennyjenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

it was really cheaper but our room had a bugs infection.
they have some animals in the hostel and the room was too hot and we had problems for sleeping.
we nevertheless will return there.
the hostel has a good location, it is close to train station and china town.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank aleixaleix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

I stayed 10 days in Birdnest Guest House in July 2015. I checked the reviews on Tripadvisor beforehand and I was satisfied once arrived.
Willi, who runs the place is a very nice guy, he gave me some tips what to visit in the city. Also there are always fellow backpackers to hang out with, very open minded and lovely persons, all around the world.
I liked the colorful paintings and rooms and the whole hippi feeling in this hostel.
Moreover it has a perfect location (Chinatown) and the wifi is free. Last but least, the rooms are clean and there fans.

Perfect place to stay in KL for backpackers!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gyongyver988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We stayed here for three nights and then came back for another two nights. We stayed in the fan room and really enjoyed it. The bed was clean and there is a good vibe in the hostel. The wifi was okay. I have to admit there are not many toilets/showers - only 4 but they were also always clean. The walls are thin but while staying there all the guest were respectful and we were never bothered by loud noise. The location is great, everything in walking distance and the LRT station Pasar Seni is just a minute away.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiss_globetrotter86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 days and came back later for 2 days just because the athmosphere was so relaxed. So many people With great storys to Tell and on top of tjat they have a fantastic rooftop terrace where you feel like you are all reserved and alone in the middel og KL, Big thumbs up for the place. Nice rooms, friendly staff and awesome location.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Gustav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 km away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#4 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
453 reviews
1.5 km away
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
#22 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
335 reviews
1.6 km away
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
#11 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grocer's Inn
Grocer's Inn
#66 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
69 reviews
0.8 km away
Step-Inn Too Guesthouse
Step-Inn Too Guesthouse
#7 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
80 reviews
0.1 km away
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
#14 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Cat Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Cat Guesthouse

Address: 64 Jalan Hang Kasturi | 1st Floor, Kuala Lumpur 50050, Malaysia (Formerly Birdnest Guesthouse 2)
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 307 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $12 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Happy Cat Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing