We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and lovely”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Lumpur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Happy Cat Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Lovely place with a little back open space and nice big iguana.M aybe hard to find when arriving late at night haha Good location
The women's working there were so lovely helping with everything.

I'm allergic to Cat but we got the front room wish was very nice as I left left the window open at night and it did the job !
We had so much luggage moving from Canada to Australia, the owner let us leave our big bags while we went traveling around in Indonesia ! So nice of him, it made our travel so much enjoyable.
Nights are quiet at the hostel, ppl are respectful.

Nothing to do with the place but I found that the travelers spent all their time on the internet not interacting much with one another but this as nothing to do with the place itself .
We will def go back !

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mylène L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Happy Cat Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

Last April 2016, I and my office friend went to Kuala Lumpur for 2 days. We were there to took some break in the middle of our routines. Before we did it, we searched few trip application and browsed some hostel based on location (near public transportation), cheap like backpackers' needed, clean, and cozy. We surfed that information from travellers' reviews. Then, we did short-listed and compared each other. Finally, we decided to try Birdnest Guesthouse as our first hostel experienced.

I remembered, when we arrived at Birdnest. It was raining hard and lack information to found this hostel. Luckily, we met a man who had stayed in Kalimantan, Indonesia. He showed us the route to the hostel and taa daa we arrived safely!

We met the receptionist and they're very nice persons. They carried us to the room and showed us the facilities. I just known them that they're volunteers in Birdnest Guesthouse. Yes, I adore with they're service.

Along with our stayed at Birdnest, I felt the cozyness of their room. Also, I like the concept of this hostel. Embedded with my room door, it was bird and it definition which painted boldly. Then, I found "Alice In The Wonderland" painting hanged on inside my room. Pretty Cool, I thought. The facilities inside my room was really acceptable. It was an Air Conditioner with fan, so you could choose what you want to switch on, with good condition. The bed with its particulars like blanket, pillow, and bed cover were comfortable and clean. The two- small tables which placed beside bed were really old and defect. The lamp in our room was not lighter than I thought before. There's just 2 night-lamp without electric-lamp. It made our room were so nebulous and lil bit cranky to pack our stuff to bags in the night.

For the toilet, there's shower with heat and cool water, wastafel with mirror, and water closet. They're in the good condition. So, we're comfy to take a bath and did morning routine. Hihi. Also, Birdnest provided breakfast with 2 choice, toast with cheese or toast with jam. They gave us one porsion of fruits and self-service tea/coffee/syrup.

Overall, for me, Birdnest is one of top-list hostel in KL because located near Pasar Seni MRT Station, closed with Central Market and Petaling Street for shopping and culinary. Also, it's near Go-KL Free Bus route. So we can enjoy the city tour freely.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank devina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Based in Chinatown, Birdnest hotel great for backpackers... Such a chilled out vibe! Cats and iguanas (are in a cage) are also in the hostel! Showers and toilets are together... They aren't the cleanest toilets I've been in! Great location!

Right next to the Pasar Seni LRT station! Where is also a FREE bus called the GOKL bus... Which is just outside the hostel at the bus station directly next to the train station! If you google GOKL free bus, you will get the routes of the buses. They go all over, however you have to get the purple line, to the pavilion and then the green line to the Petronas Towers for example! It is very easy to direct where you want to go and it is free :)

The only thing I would recommend when staying in Birdnest is that you have aircon room! It is extremely hot in Kuala Lumpur and very hard to sleep when you only have fans!! :)

We would stay again :)

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Maisie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here in KL for two weeks on a budget. The owner Willi went out of his way on many occasions to make sure we were taken care of. He really cares about the people that stay at his hostel and it is a great place to meet other backpackers! There's a few big markets, a bus & train station, and tons of food options around the corner or within 10 min walk, yet quiet at night. Great location!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2016

Nice:
The decoration (feel really good about it, unlike these cold basics concrete places), the wooden floor (give a nice touch), safe, cheap and great location.

Bad:
The wooden floor (noisy), few bathrooms (and even less with wester toilets) and you have to cross the kitchen to get there, hotter than other cheap place to stay, the girl in the office not friendly, no water filter/distributor and the worse mattress I ever seen

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr-Rays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

really liked this guest house , it's a lovely place to stay but as i said in the title there are a few things they need to get improved : first of all the toilets, sometimes you really need a mask to get in the stench is too much , floor really delicate , you can hear people walking from your room it's not a big deal but at the night time when would you like just to relax or sleep is a bit annoying for the rest the place is nice with kitchen ,small garden , living room .

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank de4thelement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Cool Place, Alot Art, Great friendly People, Relaxed Atmosphere, Cheap Dorms and Single Rooms!
Took care so long for over a week of my luggage and let me stay even the day without sleeping there.
And there is Birdnest one just around the corner with a nice rooftop, where you're free to go! With cool night events.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveljunkeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 km away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#4 of 278 in Kuala Lumpur
444 reviews
0.6 km away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 278 in Kuala Lumpur
776 reviews
0.5 km away
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 278 in Kuala Lumpur
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
#17 of 278 in Kuala Lumpur
171 reviews
1.0 km away
Paper Plane Hostel
Paper Plane Hostel
#3 of 278 in Kuala Lumpur
84 reviews
1.5 km away
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
#22 of 278 in Kuala Lumpur
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Cat Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Cat Guesthouse

Address: 64 Jalan Hang Kasturi | 1st Floor, Kuala Lumpur 50050, Malaysia (Formerly Birdnest Guesthouse 2)
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 278 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $12 - $12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing