We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Cat Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Very welcoming family environment, excellent location and prices. I certainly didn't expect the comforts of a 5-star hotel but clean bedsheets should be a staple for every type of accommodation... And bathrooms could do with some improvements too. Maybe just not my cup of tea, if I was 18 I would have probably loved it. Make sure you don't get the room next to the road as it is extremely noisy. NO A/C.

Room Tip: Keep far from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2017

Stayed here last year over Christmas and loved it. The owner is so friendly and helpful, spent many a days chillin on the rooftop. Cheapest place I could find in the area and it's an ideal location, would definitely recommend for any travellers looking to make pals and keep it cheap

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rosa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

On the doorstep of busy Chinatown you enter a different world and will find quiet and clean rooms, fully equipped shared kitchen and spacious common areas for a very affordable price in KL situated right between sentral (trains), pudu (bus terminal) and not far from Bukit Bintang (malls and entertainment).

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

So i stayed here for 1 night(sadly it's full house a day after that ) . Once i climb up to the reception counter,2 sweet mat salleh girl welcome me.as i expected i only saw mat salleh stayed there.haha but not a problem at all!eveyone is so nice!staying at a room with bunk bed for only rm20 per head?perfect for my unexpected plan!love it ❤️❤️

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Normaziah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Whenever I'm passing through KL this is always the hostel I choose. Willie the owner is awesome and very helpful. 2 of the times i stayed he took me and others to the large night market on the outskirts of KL. Free coffee all day and use of a kitchen. Best rooms are AC. Nice atmosphere. centrally located. Would definitely stay again !

Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
Thank Katatiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

This is the best place to stay in Kuala Lumpur

The relaxed atmosphere, incredible staff & top quality rooms make this the best place to unwind and meet people in KL.

It's situated in the most convenient spot. Free city buses outside the door, KL station 1 minute away, Hop-on/Hop-Off tourist buses, China Town & Central Markets around the corner. So if you want to be a tourist in KL look no further, but if you also just want to stop in and continue your journey it's also amazing for getting where you need to go.

The managers here are the most amazing people you'll ever meet in your life. Max, Nati and Willie are the 3 musketeers who will do everything they can to help you. From knowing where to eat, where to visit and how to ensure your time in KL will be memorable.

I cannot give a high enough rating or review for this amazing Hostel. It's been an incredible eye opening experience and it's all been thanks to the Birds nest Guesthouse.

Also the 2 cats are the greatest thing ever :)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing, especially the ones with air-conditioning :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

We just walked in and we knew it was nice place. The owner is open to any new idea to improve the place. They always making evening activities that you can join for free. Is a real backpackers place. Best place in KL. The place is clean and is good for the price.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Rubio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 km away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#5 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
453 reviews
1.5 km away
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast
#23 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
335 reviews
1.6 km away
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
#11 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grocer's Inn
Grocer's Inn
#67 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
69 reviews
0.8 km away
Step-Inn Too Guesthouse
Step-Inn Too Guesthouse
#7 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
80 reviews
0.1 km away
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
#14 of 307 in Kuala Lumpur
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Cat Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Cat Guesthouse

Address: 64 Jalan Hang Kasturi | 1st Floor, Kuala Lumpur 50050, Malaysia (Formerly Birdnest Guesthouse 2)
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 307 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $12 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Happy Cat Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing