We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Nearby Hotels
Furama Bukit Bintang(Kuala Lumpur)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$140
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$80
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Seri Pacific Hotel Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$85
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$125
US$100
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$21
US$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$201
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,632)
Filter reviews
2,632 results
Traveller rating
1,762
606
158
59
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,762
606
158
59
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolonial cafeorchid roomtower wingold wingjunior suitehigh teasmoke housecolonial feelcontango restaurantcigar roomold railwayfour poster bednew towernational mosquedrawing roomshuttle busbird park
Filter
Updating list...
2,178 - 2,183 of 2,632 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A charming hotel I would say. Beautiful room, very sexy.Taxi drivers doesn't know this place. Luckily I knew the where about otherwise we will be frustrated. The shuttle service gives you a great option to the important places in Kuala Lumpur which I feel an added value to our stay. Staffs are very helpful and courteous. Deco are very nice and gives you the feel of warmth. Very clean rooms and the turn down is excellent with ice in the rooms. The rooms are big and spacious. Overall our stay was a memorable one. keep it up.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarrod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne L, Manager at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Warmest greetings from all of us at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review your experience. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent and memorable stay with us. My team and I appreciate your kind compliments and we will certainly continue to craft Majestic moments and memories for all our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is a veritable gem among the many 5 star properties in this busy, hectic city. Having been renovated to suit 21st century traveler needs yet maintaining a solid feel of its past glory days, the Majestic KL exceeded our expectations. We received a very warm and gracious welcome to the hotel. Kessavan, the chief concierge, was excellent in giving us directions. Wayne, the GM and Lynn, the Heritage Wing manager were at the front entrance to greet us. Very pleasant, helpful, and welcoming, Wayne requested that we treat the hotel like home and the staff as family. Lynn was always present during our stay, making sure that all our needs were fulfilled. It felt like we were indeed at home and among family!

Our room, the Governor's Suite in the Heritage Wing, was magnificent. Excellent furnishings, decor, and amenities...impeccable all around. The butler service was excellent...so attentive, personalized, and professional.

The hotel's location is unbeatable. Walking distance to many of KL's must-see and do sights and yet the hotel felt peaceful and away from the hustle and bustle of the big city.

Afternoon tea was a very enjoyable time. Quality food and service. I also enjoyed the great music played live by the resident pianist, Ooi Eu Jin. This wonderful gentleman is so talented and is a living legend...I congratulate the hotel for retaining his services. It was also a lovely experience to wander around the Heritage Wing and feel the history that is being preserved.

We will definitely keep the Majestic KL on our itinerary when we next travel through Malaysia. We will also highly recommend this hotel to those discerning travelers who can appreciate historic buildings and wish to be spoiled by terrific service. Another golden YTL property!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne L, Manager at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Warmest greetings from all of us at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review. Your gracious and kind comments have been shared with the team and we are delighted that we have exceeded your expectations. My team and I appreciate the opportunity to be of service to you and your family, and we truly look forward to welcoming all of you back “home” soon for more Majestic moments with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We decided to experience The Majestic as there was a promotion for the rooms.
The highlights:
-the spa . YTL spas and masseur always do a good job.
-proximity to city centre and free shuttle bus to main destinations
- the friendliness of most of the
staff
-breakfast buffet variety is awesome

Areas of improvement :
- we went fr tea at the cafe there and were not well informed by staff about the high tea buffet available
-price is exorbitant .

Overall good hotel but it lacks the wow factor for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamini D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne L, Manager at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Warmest greetings from all of us at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at the Majestic Spa and we appreciate the constructive feedback on areas for us to improve. My team and I thank you for the opportunity to be of service and we truly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2013

During a two-week challenging work trip to Malaysia, the Majestic Hotel was an oasis of calm and comfort to come home to each day. The rooms are gorgeously appointed, meticulously clean and very well-designed for the business traveler. The staff are uniformly hard-working and make you feel at home immediately. They are very hard-working and deserve many accolades. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. One of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in in a large city. Located across from the old railway station, a lovely building and within walking distance of the Central Market for handicrafts. The next time I am in Malaysia, there is no question that I would stay at the Majestic again. By the way, the exercise facilities are great and they have a lovely pool. Afternoon tea is a real treat--they have a gorgeous room filled with orchids if you can manage to get in--it is very popular. Something for everyone here. Try the spa too, and ask for Jacylynn for massage. She was very good and very sweet. Oh--and the food--there is an impressive buffet set every day...not just your usual buffet, but a trip around the world with western, Indian, Chinese and Japanese food and scrumptious desserts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the old railway
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccalamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne L, Manager at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Warmest greetings from all of us at the Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur. Thank you very much for this excellent review. We are delighted to read that you found our place an oasis of calm and comfort to come home to each day. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you and we appreciate your kind words of acknowledgement. My team and I share the same sentiments that you will be missed, and we truly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The 7 phone calls it took to confirm the reservation for four friends and I to have the much-promoted Afternoon Tea at the Majestic Hotel Tea Lounge should have been an indicator of things to come. Silly me to imagine that the challenge of making the reservation would be the only negative!

A stroll through the hotel and its beautifully appointed rooms took us to the gracious lounge where Afternoon Tea was to be served.

There was a beautiful Orchid Room en route, but sadly the doors were locked, leaving us only able to stare through the glass at what was a stunning display of orchids with tea tables set amongst them. Obviously only for the chosen few!

An intimate lounge across from the Orchid Room was also tightly locked -- a very unfriendly hotel, it would seem.

The waiter serving must have doubted my ability to pay the price of the tea -- he reiterated the price of the tea to each of my guests as they arrived, much to my discomfort. Was that really necessary?

Tea was served, and waiters attentive. But in the typical style of a mass market hotel, the food was abundant but what it delivered in quantity was sadly lacking in quality.

There was simply far too much food -- about 12 different cakes and pastries, in addition to four full sized scones for each serving, meant to be shared by two people. It may have been better if it had been served in stages, but having all that food crowded on a small coffee table was a major turn off. There was nothing dainty about this tea!

The tea was perfectly brewed, each guest had their own teapot service, and the scones (raisin and plain) were lovely, though there was barely enough cream and jam to go with the 4 large scones.

The cheese ball was tasty but far too large (bigger than a golf ball and much too heavy in texture), the scotch eggs were average, the curry puffs clearly bought frozen off the rack -- there was far too much pastry and not enough filling.

The various cakes (every other one seemed to be a cheesecake) were forgettable, and the eclair was tasteless.

The sandwiches fared better, but were a bit too dry.

Service was a mish mash of attentive and non-attentive. The waiters were quick to attend to you when called, but seemed not to notice empty tea cups, used plates etc even when our guests had obviously finished with their tea.

We decided to pop in at the Smokehouse to take a look as we left, but had to walk through a corridor filled with smokers who had stepped out from a nearby event. Obviously not much thought had been given to where smokers could congregate.

Paying for parking was another challenge -- signs at the carpark said parking tokens were to be purchased at the restaurants and reception, but the Tea Room had run out and the staff asked us to please go across to the reception in the New Wing to get some.

Why on earth a hotel needs to have a parking system like this defies logic -- they are obviously over-staffed in that they can afford to put staff on duty at each level of the car park to sell these tokens when the easier route would surely have been having one attendant at exit collecting payment or carpark machines where guests do a self-pay.

Our exit through reception was painful to say the least.

After picking up the aforementioned car park token (no receipts issued), we had to wait in the lobby for the lift, while being bombarded by some pretty loud and very bad music coming from the ballroom foyer upstairs, which overlooks the lobby. Certainly suggests that the layout of the hotel wasn't thought through -- why would you have the foyer of your biggest event & party venue open out onto the lobby of what is meant to be a stately, gracious hotel?

All in, disappointing to say the least. I'd give it a 4 out 10.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bentong66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne L, Manager at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Greetings from all of us at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We truly apologize for the frustration and disappointment you experienced on your recent visit. Rest assured that we will take the necessary corrective actions to deliver a better experience for you in the future. We appreciate the opportunity and trust in us to serve you, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews