We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More honesty regards room sizes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #35 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The Parkroyal Kuala Lumpur is a magnificent building and the lobby impressive, not so our Superior room. It  really beats me why hotels use these fancy titles when they can use Standard to indicate their basic room.
Our room was small and most definitely not what I would expect from  5-star hotel. The toilet and shower arrangement doesn't allow for any privacy as both doors open directly into the main room and the hand basin forms part of a half divider within the room itself.
Perhaps the smallness of the room is a reason why this hotel doesn't show room photos on its website.
The bed was not very comfortable and was queen size. It was one of those beds that should one person change position then the movement is felt throughout the bed.
Although the room is cooler than outside I felt as if the air-con was not performing to its optimum which led to a restless night's sleep.
The cleanliness looked fine in general terms and the facilities spot on so no complaints there. The free WiFi in the room was outstanding.
The restaurants and bar facilities were excellent and the staff attentive and obliging. The pool was excellent and slightly chilled which made a dip most refreshing.
A perfect location places this hotel amidst many shopping plazas and only a very short walk to the mono-rail for those who may wish to experience China Town.
In summary I would certainly return but would chose a Deluxe room as this is what I have come to expect from a 5-Star establishment.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 1monday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMoganasundram, Manager at PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at Parkroyal Kuala Lumpur, your Trusted Local Companion.

While I have reviewed your feedback on the size, style and set up of our rooms, I also note that you have rated us very well on our "Service" levels and restaurants. Thank you. Our people are indeed our greatest assets, It is comforting to learn that you have experienced their warmth.

The descrption of our Superior Rooms is availbale on our web and so are the visuals, however the visual does not specify the exact design as you have mentioned. Our Superior Rooms which are 22 square meter in build up, are a hit with the single guest staying over a period of 1 or 2 nights coming here with the intention to shop. As you have suggested the Deluxe and Orchid Club category are suited for both our Leisure and Corporate clientele, and have received raving reviews. I would personally recommend it.

I would like to thank you once again and if there is anything that we can do to make your future stay with us better, do not hesitate to contact me directly. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Parkroyal Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you.


Sincerely, with best regards,

Sharmini Moganasundram
Hotel Manager
sharmini@parkroyalhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,463 - 2,469 of 3,549 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

I would like to compiment Parkroyal KL for making our 4th anniversary so nice and memorable. They did everything they could to really surprised us when we checked-in on the day of our anniversary. From the nice view of our room to the delicate arrangement of rose petals on our bed and not to forget the sweet gesture of a turn down service when we came back from our shopping. Thumbs up!

Good location as it was within walking distance to all the major shopping centres.

However the only let down was that the bathtub had some stains on it and ants were found crawling around the work desk area. Other than these, I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We are regular visitors to KL and although we have stayed at several hotels in the city centre, we keep coming back to the Parkroyal KL.

On this trip we stayed for 7 nights in 2 Family Suites (1506 and 1606), which were very well appointed and very spacious. The only downside was that we were living on a separate floor to my parents, but that is because there is only 1 Family Suite per floor.
When travelling with children, it is so wonderful to have the luxury of extra space for a separate lounge room, huge bathroom and storage area.

The staff at Parkroyal KL are efficient and the friendly concierge staff are always welcoming. I think they all know us by now! I fully commend Sharmini, the Hotel Manager, for her warmth and professionalism and for ensuring our booking and rooms are in order.

Breakfasts are always a highlight when staying at this hotel. There is such a huge variety of food to cater to everyone's tastes; and the local selections are authentic and delicious. My relatives in KL come for breakfast at Parkroyal KL as a special treat, so that is high praise.

Best of all is the location of Parkroyal KL.
Within walking distance is Sungei Wang, Lot 10, Times Square, Pavillion, KLCC, Jalan Alor and Bukit Bintang Walk. Right outside is the monorail if you want to venture further; and of course taxis are at the door of the Hotel. The hotel runs a free one-way shuttle to KLCC but it's not that far to walk, now that the KL City Walk has opened, which connects Pavillion and KLCC by a covered walkway.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Join the GHA Discovery Club (Parkroyal is an affiliate Hotel) and get receive room upgrades and spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tric0660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My 8 or 9 th stay at the Parkroyal and it once again came up trumps. We had 2 deluxe rooms for 5 adults an 2 children and we all fitted in quite comfortably.
There was an initial misunderstanding regarding some roll away beds but a query to the duty manager had this fixed in no time.
The rooms were nice and clean and the staff were very accommodating.
Since my visit last year there have been some comfortable day beds added around the pool area which are a very nice touch. The spa also offers a foot and hand massage by the pool which is 65rm for 30 minutes and was just devine after a solid days shopping.
The location of this hotel is fantastic with less than a 5 minute walk to any of the four major shopping malls nearby.
There is a great food court that is very reasonable under Isetan next door which serves some fantastic local fare.
All in all a great hotel offering a comfortable room at a very reasonable price.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else in KL.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelbourneMaxxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Everything is good with this hotel. Location is great for walk abouts but will be a problem if you're driving here. Entrance is quite hidden from view and because of the location, expect sitting in traffic a lot just to get here. Took me about 2 hrs in traffic just to cover the few km around the area especially when I missed the entrance.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeremyMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here for 3 night in February, we were in a 'Superior' room which was clean and modern but quite small. It was about a half hour in the taxi from the airport, and the taxi back could be booked for a reasonable price from the hotel lobby. It was close to the Bukit Bintang monorail station from which we could get to most places of interest, and also across the road from the Sungei Wang plaza which has some clothes shops, fast food, a grocery store and some ok restaurants. Overall we were happy with our stay here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ExistenceOfChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed in the Parkroyal for 3 nights in May 2012 and we were very impressed, especially for the bargain price we paid for the stay.

I can only assume that we were in their cheapest room type, and while the layout was a little strange (open plan bathroom with a cubicle for the toilet and one for the shower), the room was pretty spacious, impeccably clean and had all the amenities we needed.

Positives:

- The mini bar in the room was probably the best priced I've ever seen in a 5* hotel (especially considering the price you pay for alcohol anywhere in KL) - you really feel like this place isn't trying to rip you off!

- When you walk in the main lobby (this sounds a bit strange!), it smells amazing! The welcome we got was warm and friendly and they were very organised with our early check in.

- The pool is fab, open air and on the 6th floor roof. While we were a bit disappointed that it wasn't on the top floor (we got spoilt with rooftop swimming pools when we went to Hong Kong!), it's still fantastic to swim in the open air.

- Breakfast was included and it was fantastic. Many international options and actually slightly better than the breakfast we had to pay 55MYR per head for in our next hotel (the Rasa Ria in Borneo).

- TV channel selection was varied and the TV (and all the other amenities) seemed modern and well kept.

- There was a huge tray of toiletries in the room, replenished daily with no oversights by the staff.

- There is a separate wifi network per floor (there's one for the whole hotel at Traders we noticed when we went to the sky bar), and it's fast and free.

- Most importantly, the location is amazing! You're right next to several shopping malls and the fun nightlife of Bukit Bintang. Taxis in KL are super-cheap and there is a rank outside if the heat is too much for you to walk to the other side of town.

The only minor downside is that not everyone will appreciate the bizarre room layout. Everything else here is top notch and I will definitely stay here again if we return to KL.

Room Tip: We had a cheap room and loved it! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loulabelle7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.7 km away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
2.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.3 km away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#40 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#45 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
1,545 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,055 reviews
3.1 km away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#14 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
4,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur

Address: Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#25 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#26 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#34 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $87 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star hotel managed by Pan Pacific Hotels Group, is centrally located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's prime business, shopping and entertainment districts. It is only 45 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport and mere minutes from the Kuala Lumpur City Centre (KLCC). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Parkroyal Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Parkroyal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing