We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,544)
Filter reviews
1,544 results
Traveller rating
908
474
97
37
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
908
474
97
37
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler service top floor pillow menu welcome drink breakfast buffet large bathroom excellent hotel malate area robinsons mall five star hotel robinson's place late check security bathtub beggars nightlife bay
Filter
Updating list...
1,006 - 1,011 of 1,544 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

For years, we used another hotel in Manila. This trip, we decided to try something different, and found the Pan Pacific in the same neighborhood. What a pleasant surprise!

The Pan Pacific is located in Malate, which is not exactly an upscale area, but has pretty good shopping and dining options, and lots of local colour. There is a large, modern mall complex about one block away, and lots of smaller shops and restaurants. I walked all around the neighborhood at night, with cameras, and never felt unsafe.

The hotel itself is nicely decorated, and the rooms are fairly large, clean, and comfortable. The bed was excellent - very comfortable, with a variety of pillow types laid out. There is a hotel restaurant on the 21st floor, and a number of concession restaurants inside the attached dining complex. The hotel restaurant offered a good selection of local and international dishes, and everything we tried was well prepared.

But what makes this property special is the staff. From the time we checked in, every person we met called us by name. Everyone was warm, friendly, and professional. The butlers (concierge) were very knowlegable about the local area, and always on the spot with recomendations. Thea, in particular, helped me plan a great day around town on my day off from work. I had a problem with the television, and the engineer arrived quickly to make the minor adjustment.

Check in and check out was quick and efficient. The hotel offers good value for money, and a very comfortable stay. What more can one ask for?

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBP_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubreyAda, Manager at Pan Pacific Manila, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for finally trying our Hotel during your recent stay in Manila. We are glad that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay.

We completed our room renovation last year and we are happy that you liked your room. Thank you you for the recognition of the service of our Butlers, most especially Thea. She is really a gem. We have passed on your comments to the entire Management Team and the rest of the Butlers to inspire them more to give only their best.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Thank you very much.

Sincerely,

Aubrey Ada
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This hotel is fabulous. The staff on reception were great as we were checking in, providing us with cold beers at the same time!! The lobby is spacious, clean and modern (slightly weird that they have a sniffer dog at the entrance though, but he was very courteous anyway!).

We only stayed here one night, but the executive rooms are well worth the extra money. Great views over the city, as well as a massive sunken bath which overlooks them. I was almost tempted to spend the evening in the bathroom rather than go out and see Manila.

The hotel is fairly central, and there are a few bars close by. The street bars sell very cheap beer (around 40p a bottle), so it's nice to be able to get drunk on the price of one pint in London.

The beds are really comfy and they even provide a 'pillow menu' - something I've never seen before!

Would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Choose an executive room for great views over Manila.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubreyAda, Manager at Pan Pacific Manila, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing about your pleasant experience during your recent stay in our Hotel.

We are glad that you liked every aspect of your stay and you noticed our pillow menus. Our aim is to personalize the service and caring that we provide our guests and the pillow menu is just one of the ways we try to give our guests options and choices so they will be more comfortable and at Home.

We sincerely look forward to your future visits.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Aubrey Ada
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel is truly beautiful. Staff are friendly and helpful. You are greater with a welcome drink which is nice, we went for the White wine, which was delicious, and needed after our journey there.

The room is comfortable, bed extremely comfy. Bathroom is nice, with a tv in there, for bath time watching! A nice powerful shower. Nice luxury toiletries provided.

The pool area is lovely, hot tub as well as a main pool. The pool bar was good, but they had run out of most things by the evening and we were not allowed to order from the downstairs bar.

We did not eat at the hotel, as we thought it was a little pricey, but the mall area adjoining the hotel had several nice restaurants, a great Japanese which was reasonably priced and a coffe shop where you can get a great value hot breakfast.

Main negative is the area. Really awful at night time. We felt quite unsafe at night. We were accosted many times by beggars who would not leave us alone, and were tricked into going not a girly bar by someone saying it was a steak and lobster restaurant! We had to laugh!

There is a good mall nearby, but was not open during our stay.

Hotel airport transfer is expensive - get the hotel to order an airport taxi at half the price, or a normal taxi at even less!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubreyAda, Manager at Pan Pacific Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for spending your summer vacation with us.

We are glad to know that you had a memorable stay over the summer holiday. During our room renovation last year, we have made our rooms fore functional and contemporary so our guests can continue to enjoy the comfort and warmth that our rooms are known for.

We have taken note of your comments about the availability of the drinks at the pool as well as the improvement needed in our vicinity.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to be of service to you again on your next trip to Manila.

Thank you very much.

Sincerely,

Aubrey Ada
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Positives:
Clean spacious room
Nice swimming pool
Friendly staff
Efficient airport transfer
Negatives
Breakfast food was cold- either air conditioning too high or buffet heating too low
Long wait for check out -it is also not polite to loudly tell the guest that the room has to be checked first before check out process can be completed. Makes yoi feel like a criminal!
Loud music from disco or club ( better to choose a room with bay view to avoid this)
All in all a hotel to be recommended

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubreyAda, Manager at Pan Pacific Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying in Pan Pacific Manila.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and you liked our room, the swimming pool and the friendliness of our Butlers.

However, we have also noted your comments about the breakfast, the long wait and the improvement we can do at check-out. We have shared these comments to the relevant managers for proper attention and action. As for the noise from the nearby establishment, we are monitoring them weekly so as to avoid disturbance to all our guests.

We sincerely hope that you will come back and visit us once again.

Sincerely,

Aubrey Ada
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Room 2022 - 3 nights.

A good size room, a very comfortable bed, and nioce and quiet. Good air con. Safe, with tea and coffee facilities. Iron and board. The room had a good bathroom, lots of hot water and a nice jacuzzi bath. Good TV with a wide choice.
Service was excellent from check in to departure. The swimming pool, I found OK - biggest issue is that there is no locker at the pool, not a good area to change (a toilet) and nowhere to keep your clothes.
There is a 7/11 store across the road - good value to buy cool drinks, etc, rather than high price mini bar.

Breakfast very good on level 21. Good vue, good food and good service.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank expectantcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubreyAda, Manager at Pan Pacific Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to share your memorable experience with us.

We just completed the renovation of our rooms last August 2011 and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your room. We have noted your comment about our swimming pool and we will certainly keep that in mind when we do some enhancements in the swimming pool area in the future.

We certainly hope to see you again in the first and only Butler Service Hotel in the Philippines, Pan Pacific Manila.

Sincerely,

Aubrey Ada
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews