We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Probably not again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Plaza Hotel
Ranked #39 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Probably not again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

Closeness to the bars, nightclubs, and mall
What can I say/ This was my first time staying at this hotel although I think I get frequent flyer miles at their sister hotel, The Executive Plaza. At check in I found I could not get a smoking room or high floor. Why you may ask there was no reason. The front desk personnel could only tell me that the entire hotel was fully booked! That was untrue because upon check out there appeared to be housekeeping staff cleaning out virtually my whole floor. The lobby was packed as there appeared to be some sort of conference or somethiong and the crowd to check in was significantly heavy. Other than that mini drama things went very well in terms of relative quiet when I finally came to bed as well as my wake up call was prompt and thorough. Check out was a breeze. Cons - Difficult to meet basic requirements

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelescitypi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    78
    73
    22
    19
See reviews for
28
47
45
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bellegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

Some bad reviews on this site made me a little scared. We choosed because of the budget. The hotel was oke and staff very friendly. We first had a room with twin beds but thet day after they let us change room.
No one reason foe a bed review. Go and try.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RafBellegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

I stayed at this hotel on a number of occassions. The cleaning staff are great and so is security but reception deal with you - a bit like you may deal with a dog.
Altough I reserved many weeks ago there was no record of it. I finished up in a smoking area - not the best place to be in the Philippines.
Internet is very expensive.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Australiamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

we stayed there at palm plaza for about a week cuz of my medical at st. luke extension clinic its too bad the receptionist there are not friendly we'r already paid the room in full payment but when we check in they wer asking thousand for deposit without their explanation why, and the room was so small very small we stayed at the room in seventh floor we paid about seventydollars a night and no bath tub they are really suck they just want your money so dont stay plaza hotel anymore, there are some good hotels around manila in malate to stay in.. , so far the roomboy there are good they always ask if u like them to clean your room. this is really true so dont waste your money here at this hotel ...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank mia237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manila hotels

Narvik, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

Since I was there july 2009 (several stays-transferred there then from the 5-star Diamond Hotel. go there or to Pan Pacific if you want luxury) they have finished renovating the lobby area.
The rooms are basic, and of VERY varying size. I have had rooms there so small you can barely fit the (somewhat hard, but I like it) queen size bed. Most are ok tho'.
The wares in the minibar and snackstray vary a bit, but so far they seems at least to have check on what is there when I arrive. Laundry service is ok. (and they were honest enough not to try on my wifes silk wedding dress after it had a grease stain on it after the wedding.. when I asked the receptionist to ASK them. She was all: yes Sir, certainly Sir, of course Sir, until I made her check with the laundry if they actually could. they declined, wich I see as positive.) Housekeeping is ok, and gives good service (usually) if you call them for an electrical socket adapter for instance, they will normally bring it to your room prompte.
Doorlocks can be a bit fidgety, especially if you extend your stay. (programmable card-locks). They do have technical staff in the house who fix it promptly .
Food in the restaurant is definitely edible, but I often go to a nearby restaurant for food.
Hotel breakfast is ok, and they have an excellent coffee machine and will make you an espresso or cappuchino... but not included in breakfast price :)
Anyway, it's got a great location and reasonable prices, so I imagine I will use it again.
The staff also recognize me by now and upgrades my room plus downgrades my price, so I cannot complain.
Never saw any cockroaches or other insects, and the lobby is brand new, but the elevater is still just one, and the rooms and facilities are plain.
Still, not worse than that I took the chance of installing my parents and my brother and his wife there for a couple of nights, after they tired of the splendour (and priciness) of Pan Pacific next door, on their way to my wedding.
The small travel agency desk downstairs is very helpful. in July I used them to get flights to El Nido, Palawan for my fiancee and myself. I guess they made some mistake, because the following day they called me, and a lady from the main office came with an envelope with some money I had been overcharged, a form to sign, and lots of apologies. (it was some campaign that I had not benefited from) What can you say, it is the philippines.... people are friendly if not always overly competent. Just smile at it, and enjoy.
To transport my family, my wife and myself to the province for the wedding, we hired the hotels big taxi. friendly driver, good car... too bad it had absolutely terrible suspension (broken shock-absorbers perhaps?) Not saying not to use it, just make a trial run if you are going far. Price for the car is negotiable.
In fact the most annoying part of staying at the hotel (well... besides they run the AC in the lobby so hard it is an arctic climate there) is the street outside, with its moneychangers, beggars and sellers of sunglasses, belts, wallets, viagra, and whatever... but it is Malate/Ermita, so what can you expect :)
Be sure to spend your internet time before it expires (irritating feature).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeafarerNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila
Rothman Hotel
#13 of 110 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Riviera Mansion Hotel
#27 of 110 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#11 of 110 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Hostel 1632
#37 of 110 in Manila
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#18 of 110 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Plaza Hotel

Property: Palm Plaza Hotel
Address: 524 Pedro Gil Corner M. Adriatico St., Malate, Manila, Luzon 2004, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Palm Plaza Hotel - it's all about LOCATION! Right across the hotel building is the tourist belt area's largest shopping mall (Robinson's Ermita),complete with shops, restaurants, bars cinemas and more. The hotel's strategic location puts it in the middle of Central Manila's top hospitals, universities, banks, night life and a mere 5-minute walk to Roxas Boulevard's famous Manila Bay sunset.A 10-minute walk into the city proper brings one into the convenient Light Rail Transit (LRT)which brings you all over the metropolis main areas of commerce, business, gov'te and educational centers.The hotel offers FREE WI FI in its public areas & guest rooms; basic in room amenities & services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Palm Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Plaza Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing