We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have some little improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Mansion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Manila
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
337 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
“They have some little improvement”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Finally, they got their lower floor "no signal" issue resolved. The manager personally wrote to me and explain that the problem ahs been fixed and I really appreciate that. The manager even offer to take of my reservation personally if I will to stay there again. Of course, I am a nobody so I would not want to inconvenience him.

This time, they gave me a third floor and the staff explained to me high floors are for Premier rooms. I can accept this and I request for a room which is away from the main road. The staff says yes, it is away from the main road.

To my surprise, the room (338) is actually just outside the main road. So you can hear all the horning of the cars. Fortunately it is not that bad.

Hot water can be a little bit inconsistent but the water pressure is good. Air con is noisy and there is really no way to shut it out.

Will stay there again if I am going to stay in Malate.

One thng, their internet access is still chargeable but their neighbour Executive Plaza or Las Palmas (?) is giving out free.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mousehunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    99
    70
    18
    13
See reviews for
39
61
72
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed in premier room on two separate occasions, for 2 nights, then 3 nights, at the beginning and end of a visit to the PI's. Quiet, very clean, comfortable. A/C was good. Friendly staff at front desk and housekeeping. The price is very reasonable for Manila.

The hotel restaurant is fine for breakfast. The hotel is right in the heart of the Malate district. It's 5 minutes at most to Robinson's mall, a high quality mall with lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zsea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerico68, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are extremely happy that you had enjoyed your stay at Riviera. It is our goal to provide friendly service at the best value in town. We hope that you will pick us as your hotel of choice whenever you are in Manila.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I reserved a premier room for 2,280 peso about a week before I was supposed to stay there. When I arrived at 4-5p the staff said all premier room was already given and offered a suite for 2,550. I was amazed, I had a reservation and now have to pay more. I countered with 2500 peso for the nite. She said wait a moment and seemed to go ask someone. She came back and said okay 2500. They gave me a the studio facing the street. The room was clean enough. The air conditioner was and a swamp cooler that was mounted in the window. Biggest issue,I could hear taxi honking on Mabini street. I knew I was only going to sleep there for a nite after going out with friends. Didn't think the taxi honking would still be there at 4am. I didn't sleep very well at all due to this. Got up and moved to The Charter house in Makati instead.

Room Tip: check that room doesn't face the busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surewinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerico68, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Sir,

I would like to apologize for the misunderstanding. It is definitely not company policy to release reserved rooms and upsell the guest to a more expensive room. I have looked into the matter and it was due to a mistake by the reception staff. We have since credited your account for the price difference between the reserved room and the rate that you paid back into your account. You may use this credit for your future stay with us.

I would also like to apologize about the noise. It is normally quiet at night time and it may have been a one-off incident with the taxicabs. Just to be sure, you may request a room in the back or on a higher floor to avoid the noise when you check in with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manila hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Most things at this hotel range from average to good, but by comparison to others and a cheap price make this a fantastic place to stay.

It is well located yet relatively secluded from the on-street racket. Service is polite and attentive, starting right from the front door. Rooms are clean and have good facilities; though there is a small element of luck involved in just how good (we stayed twice on the same terms but certainly had a better room second time around).

Don't expect luxury, but a modest and well priced haven from the busy and chaotic city.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterJohnCotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This is a good hotel in the centre of the action close to food outlets shopping centres and entertainment. the room was large the beds just regular double not queen. the staff were very helpful especially the doormen always able to point you in the right direction. good value for money, next door to money changer, 7-11 and casino across the road.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzLordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, KY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The deluxe room had a GREAT air conditioner; room was clean; included breakfast was adequate; good location; sink drained slowly; one room lamp was missing the switch knob; good value for the price

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kentucky_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

i stayed at the riviera mansion for 12 nights from sept 26 to oct 8 , i have stayed here 3 times now and im always pleased with everything . the girls at the front desk are terrific and very helpfull , for 50 dollars i got a big room on the 15 th floor with a balcony , facing the city a great view , great location near the nightlife and robinson place is only 2 blocks , you wont get a better deal in manila

Room Tip: ask for a room at rear of hotel no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fishmanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Rothman Hotel
#9 of 108 in Manila
282 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#15 of 108 in Manila
238 reviews
Malate
The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Palm Plaza Hotel
Palm Plaza Hotel
#36 of 108 in Manila
247 reviews
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#11 of 108 in Manila
254 reviews
Ermita
Lotus Garden Hotel
Lotus Garden Hotel
#20 of 108 in Manila
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Mansion Hotel

Property: Riviera Mansion Hotel
Address: 1638 A Mabini Street, Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Mansion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing