We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cheap week away”
Review of Safir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Safir Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Bitez B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 October 2015

We booked 2 weeks before going the end of September so if any reviews are from those who paid less than £150 a head including flights, hotel, luggage and transfer you have got to be realistic! At this price we were expecting the worst but what we got was a basic b/b in a perfect location with a large sparkling and very clean pool amongst very pretty greenery and trees. No other hotel can be seen from the pool area which was lovely and a 2 minute walk brings you to the sea. Breakfast was plentiful with fresh bread, jams, honey, boiled eggs, water melon and cheeses - yes the sausages were bloody awful (as was the tinned ham) but again for the price we paid we couldn't moan. If you want a better breakfast take yourself down to the many restaurants where less than £4 will get you a full breakfast with coffee overlooking the sea - or take your own coffee and tea bags abroad (we always do) if you want to make sure you have what you like! Rooms are basic but surprisingly the beds have good quality and comfortable mattresses and showers were always warm (yes drain floor with no tray - standard in Turkey) and when we asked for additional sheets and covers they were immediately provided. Our only critism (as others have mentioned) was the music played at the bar area, sometimes loud and hardly of a relaxing nature, but when we asked them to turn it down they did and it was never played late into the night. Don't go expecting luxury but for a well placed b/b in a lovely resort and at a good price you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Upper floors get more sun but small balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the3goodwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2015

Went away for a cheap week to our favorite Bitez. Hotel was basic and clean and just what we wanted as we don't spend much time in the hotel. Staff friendly, food not so good but plenty of choice all the beachfront so not really a problem.

We did do a boat trip on Hamak boat, would not recommend it, very crowded, music too loud and captain and staff rude, only interested in woman on the boat and pushing to sell drinks, snorkels and massage. We did book a further boat trip one of the small boats from Bitez and would recommend this, food and staff lovely and no booming music and hard sell.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank YildizBodrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Firstly my wife and I have visited Bitez and the surrounding Bodrum area many times and we know exactly what to expect from a Turkish holiday.

Arrival: We arrived at the hotel early hours Tuesday morning, keys were handed pretty quickly without much waiting around, when we were given our keys there was no room number... strange... The staff did eventually figure out which room the keys belonged to, the young man helped us with our bags to the room (as is usual in Turkey), when we walked in the room we were hit with a really strong smell of mould, we looked up and there was a very large patch of mould spores on the ceiling!!! We could not stay in that room as it would be a health hazard!!!

Arrival Part 2: We politely requested a room change and the staff happily obliged with a new key (with again no number). 505 was to become our new home from home; Oh no it wasn't!!! Dodgy electrics that wouldn't stay on and a dirty, slippery floor (don't think the maids had seen much of this room!) put pay to this room.

Also on Arrival: After a long flight I requested a simple drink of water as I felt like I'd swallowed a desert!
Response... "No Water... Closed" Again I asked this time in Turkish... "No Water... Closed" ...Ok I'll be honest, two duff rooms, no water and very tired... Not funny... Starting to loose it a bit!!!

Arrival 3 (The Suite): Finally... The staff walked us to the luxury suite behind reception, fancy lighting, cool decor, massive room... There were blue lights under the bed... That was cool!!! :) Living the dream!!!

End of the Dream: On first impressions the luxury suite was fantastic, although the cracks soon started to appear (some literally). First problem was the dripping air conditioning unit which wasn't properly maintained, a sacrificial towel placed under the unit solved this little problem. The next issue was the kitchen sink and cooking area was on the other side of our wall, right behind our bed! ...this was equivalent to someone washing up (on an industrial scale) at the end of your bed when you're trying to get to sleep!!!

Reception: Turkish hospitality is usually some of the warmest and best in the world... Not in the case of the young man behind reception at the Safir!!! He did not like the fact that I dared to get angry and complain on the arrival night... Snide remarks and sarcastic comments were aplenty!!!

Breakfast (the morning after the night before): The usual Turkish offerings as expected (when in Rome...) BUT... The sausages tasted "off", a sort of chemical taste, the instant Turkish from a tin (the only coffee available) was disgusting!!! We never ate there again!

Spit and Polish: The cleaning team came in, changed the towels, made a pretty heart with flowers (to get tips) didn't clean anywhere then asked for a tip!!!

In Summary: We love Turkey, we love the people BUT this hotel sucks!!!

Please don't let this review put you off Turkey because it's a truly beautiful country with fantastic people!!! :)

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Just got back from the Safir Hotel. My main reason for booking this hotel was the look of the pool area white buidings lots of greenery and flowers and also the sunbeds looked spread out. And when we got there it was just as we expected so initially we were very pleased with this.

The rooms were very small and basic but we knew this and yes that was fine and also the beds were fairly comfy. Tiny balconys with 2 small wooden chairs no room for a table.

Breakfast was typical turkish and good but no toaster and no coffee machine.

The bad ponits are : The mattresses around the pool are absolutely filthy and as flat as pancakes. Also the music around the pool is much too loud we eventually stopped going and went to the beach .
The cleaning around the pool was strange they just bucket water out of the pool and threw it under the sunbeds!!

The bathrooms are not good. Our sink had a crack in it and also a filthy disgusting toilet brush.The cleaners went in every day but not sure if much cleaning was done.

The bar at the front of the hotel (not pool bar) ripped us of they charged 100 Lira for 4 gin and tonics (local gin) the guy there is a proper slime ball beware!!

Must mention the chap on reception very helpful and reall good fun!!!

I feel its a shame about the negative points there is a lot of potential at this hotel. Forgot to mention the location which is perfect .
We had a good holiday but unfortunately we would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kimcooke1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

My daughter and I have just arrived home after our third year staying at the Safir. Under new management for 2015 but some staff were still there ie; the cleaners and some bar staff.
I personally don't understand the negative reviews on this place. We went 5+ star to Sharm this year, and much prefer the peace and quaintness of the Safir to the hell of all inclusive, animation team, kids screaming, and sunbed searching any day!
Feel fully refreshed and happy to have made friends with the lovely guys at the bar although my only negative comment would be that I felt slightly irritated by the man at the restaurant who seemed 'over attentive'. Buy hay ho ....... I may be back next year !!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldbarbie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015

I totally agree with a previous post that says this hotel 'punches above it's weight. It's everything shown in the photos, perfectly situated for the short cut through to the beach, the pool is excellent and spotlessly clean, the gardens well tended, the rooms basic but good and the staff are really excellent. Everyone seems to want you to have a great time there. There are also two comfortable shaded seating areas where you can sit out of the sun and read your book borrowed from the 'book swap' shelves. The rooms are built in a manner where you don't feel overlooked by anyone else, the beds were comfy and there was an unexpected hair dryer in the bathroom as well as a surprising amount of coat hangers in the wardrobe. The bathroom, although supplied with a shower curtain, was basically a wet room and delightfully the water was still hot at 9 pm when I tried it. There was a very small semi circular balcony with wrought iron railings which was pleasant to sit out on but would only just manage 2 people on the wooden chairs supplied and if you wanted to use the clothes airer/dryer supplied by the hotel there wasn't room to sit out there as well. That said most people put things to dry when they were at the pool or going out so it wasn't a problem. To be fair my room looked a little tired and like most at the end of the season could have done with a repaint etc but that's normal for September in a holiday resort. Although signs advised no food to be taken into the hotel there was no problem with the fruit, crisps or nibbles which I left in the room. There was usually music from the bar but apart from one 'event' night it was never too loud and usually lulled me to sleep however the music from the hotel across the road was extremely loud one evening but I couldn't blame that on my hotel. The breakfast is a typical Turkish spread with a variety of meats, cheeses, salad and olives as well as plentiful fresh bread, boiled eggs, cereals and one hot dish usually spiced potato cubes, scrambled egg or a pasta salami dish. Tea and juice are freely available and whilst I agree that a toaster or coffee machine may be pleasant it's not common in Turkey and it's not a problem for me. The bar also served food and although the menu wasn't hugely extensive there was an adequate selection and the prices were reasonable especially compared to some of the restaurants on the beach. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone but please don't go there expecting the Hilton facilities and a full English breakfast (although you can buy one if you want to) and then complain about it. If you can accept that this is a very good, slightly more than basic, typical Turkish (possibly family) hotel where people actually want you to enjoy yourself doing what you want to do then you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a door leading directly out to the pool and gardens. This makes using the cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julesm390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015

The only problem we had, with staying at the Safir hotel,was the EAR SPLITTING VOLUME!!!, of music,that was played every night ,until 2am!.
I called down to reception to complain around 11.30pm ,But nothing was done,in fact the Music ,seemed to get even LOUDER!!!. In the morning I went to reception,to speak
to the manager,but I was informed he was not on duty,and they would not give me his or hers name, so I called the Kath the local Olympic holiday Rep ,and lodged a official complaint.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank colin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bitez hotels
0 km away
Ramada Resort Bodrum
Ramada Resort Bodrum
#1 of 40 in Bitez
327 reviews
0 km away
Doria Hotel Bodrum
Doria Hotel Bodrum
#2 of 40 in Bitez
448 reviews
0 km away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#5 of 40 in Bitez
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Orion Hotel
Orion Hotel
#8 of 40 in Bitez
206 reviews
0 km away
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
Costa Bitezhan Hotel
#6 of 40 in Bitez
470 reviews
0 km away
Paloma Family Club
Paloma Family Club
#15 of 40 in Bitez
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safir Hotel

Address: Kalafat Ali Sok. No: 2, Bitez, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Bitez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bitez
Price Range: $32 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Safir Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the deep green in the peninsula, among mandarin gardens and olive trees… We are at a point where green and blue meets in the smooth winds … This is Bitez. Bitez Bay, which is 45 km to Bodrum-Milas Airport, 8 km or 15 minutes to Bodrum centre, with the sandy beach along the bay, sea getting deeper with a smooth slope, restaurants lined up through the bay at the beach for every taste, is one of the indispensable resorts not only for surfing addicts, but also for the people dreaming a quiet holiday in the nature and for those who want to be close to the colourful life of Bodrum. We designed a place in which you will get all the pleasure you can out of in this very green resort of the peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Safir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing