We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
35
48
34
17
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
48
34
17
22
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 156 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2015

We booked 2 weeks before going the end of September so if any reviews are from those who paid less than £150 a head including flights, hotel, luggage and transfer you have got to be realistic! At this price we were expecting the worst but what we got was a basic b/b in a perfect location with a large sparkling and very clean pool amongst very pretty greenery and trees. No other hotel can be seen from the pool area which was lovely and a 2 minute walk brings you to the sea. Breakfast was plentiful with fresh bread, jams, honey, boiled eggs, water melon and cheeses - yes the sausages were bloody awful (as was the tinned ham) but again for the price we paid we couldn't moan. If you want a better breakfast take yourself down to the many restaurants where less than £4 will get you a full breakfast with coffee overlooking the sea - or take your own coffee and tea bags abroad (we always do) if you want to make sure you have what you like! Rooms are basic but surprisingly the beds have good quality and comfortable mattresses and showers were always warm (yes drain floor with no tray - standard in Turkey) and when we asked for additional sheets and covers they were immediately provided. Our only critism (as others have mentioned) was the music played at the bar area, sometimes loud and hardly of a relaxing nature, but when we asked them to turn it down they did and it was never played late into the night. Don't go expecting luxury but for a well placed b/b in a lovely resort and at a good price you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Upper floors get more sun but small balconies
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the3goodwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2015

Went away for a cheap week to our favorite Bitez. Hotel was basic and clean and just what we wanted as we don't spend much time in the hotel. Staff friendly, food not so good but plenty of choice all the beachfront so not really a problem.

We did do a boat trip on Hamak boat, would not recommend it, very crowded, music too loud and captain and staff rude, only interested in woman on the boat and pushing to sell drinks, snorkels and massage. We did book a further boat trip one of the small boats from Bitez and would recommend this, food and staff lovely and no booming music and hard sell.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank YildizBodrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2015

Firstly my wife and I have visited Bitez and the surrounding Bodrum area many times and we know exactly what to expect from a Turkish holiday.

Arrival: We arrived at the hotel early hours Tuesday morning, keys were handed pretty quickly without much waiting around, when we were given our keys there was no room number... strange... The staff did eventually figure out which room the keys belonged to, the young man helped us with our bags to the room (as is usual in Turkey), when we walked in the room we were hit with a really strong smell of mould, we looked up and there was a very large patch of mould spores on the ceiling!!! We could not stay in that room as it would be a health hazard!!!

Arrival Part 2: We politely requested a room change and the staff happily obliged with a new key (with again no number). 505 was to become our new home from home; Oh no it wasn't!!! Dodgy electrics that wouldn't stay on and a dirty, slippery floor (don't think the maids had seen much of this room!) put pay to this room.

Also on Arrival: After a long flight I requested a simple drink of water as I felt like I'd swallowed a desert!
Response... "No Water... Closed" Again I asked this time in Turkish... "No Water... Closed" ...Ok I'll be honest, two duff rooms, no water and very tired... Not funny... Starting to loose it a bit!!!

Arrival 3 (The Suite): Finally... The staff walked us to the luxury suite behind reception, fancy lighting, cool decor, massive room... There were blue lights under the bed... That was cool!!! :) Living the dream!!!

End of the Dream: On first impressions the luxury suite was fantastic, although the cracks soon started to appear (some literally). First problem was the dripping air conditioning unit which wasn't properly maintained, a sacrificial towel placed under the unit solved this little problem. The next issue was the kitchen sink and cooking area was on the other side of our wall, right behind our bed! ...this was equivalent to someone washing up (on an industrial scale) at the end of your bed when you're trying to get to sleep!!!

Reception: Turkish hospitality is usually some of the warmest and best in the world... Not in the case of the young man behind reception at the Safir!!! He did not like the fact that I dared to get angry and complain on the arrival night... Snide remarks and sarcastic comments were aplenty!!!

Breakfast (the morning after the night before): The usual Turkish offerings as expected (when in Rome...) BUT... The sausages tasted "off", a sort of chemical taste, the instant Turkish from a tin (the only coffee available) was disgusting!!! We never ate there again!

Spit and Polish: The cleaning team came in, changed the towels, made a pretty heart with flowers (to get tips) didn't clean anywhere then asked for a tip!!!

In Summary: We love Turkey, we love the people BUT this hotel sucks!!!

Please don't let this review put you off Turkey because it's a truly beautiful country with fantastic people!!! :)

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!!!
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2015

Just got back from the Safir Hotel. My main reason for booking this hotel was the look of the pool area white buidings lots of greenery and flowers and also the sunbeds looked spread out. And when we got there it was just as we expected so initially we were very pleased with this.

The rooms were very small and basic but we knew this and yes that was fine and also the beds were fairly comfy. Tiny balconys with 2 small wooden chairs no room for a table.

Breakfast was typical turkish and good but no toaster and no coffee machine.

The bad ponits are : The mattresses around the pool are absolutely filthy and as flat as pancakes. Also the music around the pool is much too loud we eventually stopped going and went to the beach .
The cleaning around the pool was strange they just bucket water out of the pool and threw it under the sunbeds!!

The bathrooms are not good. Our sink had a crack in it and also a filthy disgusting toilet brush.The cleaners went in every day but not sure if much cleaning was done.

The bar at the front of the hotel (not pool bar) ripped us of they charged 100 Lira for 4 gin and tonics (local gin) the guy there is a proper slime ball beware!!

Must mention the chap on reception very helpful and reall good fun!!!

I feel its a shame about the negative points there is a lot of potential at this hotel. Forgot to mention the location which is perfect .
We had a good holiday but unfortunately we would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kimcooke1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2015

My daughter and I have just arrived home after our third year staying at the Safir. Under new management for 2015 but some staff were still there ie; the cleaners and some bar staff.
I personally don't understand the negative reviews on this place. We went 5+ star to Sharm this year, and much prefer the peace and quaintness of the Safir to the hell of all inclusive, animation team, kids screaming, and sunbed searching any day!
Feel fully refreshed and happy to have made friends with the lovely guys at the bar although my only negative comment would be that I felt slightly irritated by the man at the restaurant who seemed 'over attentive'. Buy hay ho ....... I may be back next year !!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldbarbie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews