We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (974)
Filter reviews
974 results
Traveller rating
662
202
68
21
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
202
68
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset suite rosebud bar romance suite high class free laundry service walk in wardrobe archipelago bar bowling alley ten pin bowling round bed private transfer main restaurant aegean restaurant huge bathroom courtyard room bbq meat welcome cocktail
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 974 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

I have stayed at Xanadu Island many times and can honestly say I have never felt more comfortable in any hotel.
My first holiday this year I was a solo traveller for the first two weeks. The staff and management knew this and went out of there way to ensure I felt comfortable and safe. They are all very helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble .
The hotel has a fabulous location with sea views no matter where you are .
The rooms are lovely with various suite types available. The bathrooms are huge and beautifully designed with high quality toiletries provided and replenished throughout your stay.
There are two infinity pools with plenty of sunbeds at each. Waiter service at poolside is amazing. Drinks appear all day without even having to be ordered.

The buffet restaurant if I am honest is not as good as it was a few years ago but still a good standard. People have complained that the food can be cold but I really feel this is the case in all large hotel buffet restaurants.
The a la carte restaurants have improved over the years and standard of food in Italian and Aegean restaurants very good.
The only other thing I would say about the restaurant is that while the hotel still say they have an evening dress code it is not enforced . This is a shame as I really do feel beachwear has no place at dinner.

I normally travel early in the season. This year April /May. Entertainment is very low key and some nights non existent . Also low key in October at end of season.
I also had an extra week away in June this year and hotel was much busier with entertainment in full swing. Animation team were excellent and put on some good shows and party nights.
It is all about personal preference.

Be aware that the hotel is quite isolated however local bus at top of road will take you to Turguetres or Bodrum for very little . A taxi to Turguetres costs 40TL. There are some shops and restaurants there and a market on a Saturday. I always go out and about a couple of days but most guests are happy to stay in the beautiful surroundings of Xanadu and be spoiled .

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.
I would love to name some or the staff who make my holidays here so special but that would be all of them !!

I have made many good friends at Xanadu Island both staff and other guests. It really is my home from home.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
9  Thank Xx63cjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet M, Sales & Marketing Manager, Xanadu Hotels - High Class at Xanadu Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to Xanadu Island and for taking time to share your feelings about your stay on TripAdvisor with us.

We were delighted with your nice comment and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at your second home so much. We consider our guests a part of our family and are very glad that this feeling is mutual.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you soon again for your next stay in Turkey and remain

Sincerely yours,

Demet Meral
Sales & Marketing Manager
Xanadu Hotels - High Class

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017

Honestly don't know where to start.... hands down THE best all inclusive I have ever been to.

To start... Bodrum... absolutely stunning place, the views from the hotel are to die for and the sea is just as amazing.

The rooms are massive, spacious and the mini bar restocked every day is just what you need after a long day in the sun.

The staff are hands down the highlight of the whole holiday. They are incredibly attentive, efficient and friendly... they couldn't do more for you. No need to even go to the bar, they have 2/3 waiters walking round the pool ALL day bringing you drinks... by the end we didn't even need to tell them our order they knew it off by heart. The dancers are the nicest people and they get you involved with all the activities in the day. The entertainment was fantastic, they performed the entire Mamma Mia show, had parties on the pier, parties in the pool, bingo, live music and there was even a whole party for kids one evening!

If you are going with Thomas Cook then 10000% go on the adult escape boat trip, £55 but was AMAZING. All inclusive on board the trip, and you stop off at 3 places and snorkel in crystal clear waters during the day - not forgetting the tan time in between stops!

We will be returning to this hotel next year, and is the first hotel I have ever been to that I would return to - I couldn't imagine having a better holiday anywhere else.

Thankyou Xanadou - you were fantastic

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank chelseyhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet M, Sales & Marketing Manager, Xanadu Hotels - High Class at Xanadu Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for preferring Xanadu Island for your holidays at the Aegean coast and for taking time to share your feelings about your stay on TripAdvisor.

Your very nice comment and your praise are highly appreciated as is your recommendation.

It would be a great honour to welcome you soon again for your next magic vacation on the "Island".

Sincerely yours,

Demet Meral
Sales & Marketing Manager
Xanadu Hotels - High Class

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2017

We stayed here for a week beginning the 30th June. We had booked a courtyard seaview room and what an absolutely beautiful room and view we had, it was stunning looking out onto the hotel pool but the view of Aklaryar bay was amazing. One thing you cannot fault with this hotel are the views they are so pretty. We did get offered an upgrade to a honeymoon suite as we had asked for a quiet room and this was not quiet but we declined as the room was much smaller than ours had no big deep tub like ours and had a view of a building and cost more than our original room. Our courtyard seaview room was too central to everything and too nice to give up and had one of the best views from a hotel room i've stayed in.
The hotel and its grounds are kept immaculate and are spotlessly clean and beautifully kept with lovely flowers.
The waiter service at the pool and beach are amazing, every 15 mins someone will come and ask if you would like a drink and bring you bottles of water over, after a week they know what you like to drink and bring it anyway.
The hotel was not packed when we were there and so no queuing for meals which no-one like to do. The service at the restaurant was spot on too. No complaints about housekeeping or having our mini bar filled up. The wi-fi wasn't the greatest in the hotel, i didn't mind so much my sister did :)
Beautiful views from where ever you were on the island, though walking around you do notice how many rooms were vacant, tourism has dropped a lot in Turkey which is a shame as it is a beautiful place to visit and very safe.
The pools were spotless and each bed had its own sun canopy which did seem a good idea at first but as its quite windy in this bay it did become a bit of a nuisance when the canopy keeps getting blown off and no mattress for the sunbeds which i found strange for a 5 star hotel and would have appreciated one, The beach has no sand disappointingly and it made of pebbles. It also has a bar and waiter service. The water is crystal clear and is absolutely beautiful to look at. The water sports on the beach i felt were a bit pricey and cost 50 euros for 15 mins on a Jet Ski, I visited Side in Turkey in May and they charged half that price. The spa was also quite pricey and was totally empty, they were charging 60 euros for a manicure, pedicure and eyebrow thread and 60 euros for a 30 min basic massage. I felt they would have been better off offering some deals than having an empty spa. The Hamman was very nice and relaxing. The staff at all the bars are polite and friendly and service is great. The staff at reception were very polite and helpful especially Ibrahim. We went for a walk in Aklaryar which is not very far it looks further than it is...you get the dolmus outside and get off at the Mosque which is a 2 min bus ride. Then you can walk along the bay until you get to Kefaluka (where i have also stayed )hotel and you can then not walk any further. Along the bay there are some restaurants and bars and places to sit and the scenery is beautiful.. A lot of wealthy people from Istanbul visit Aklaryar bay and you can see their boats anchored. We walked back and it did not take long at all..We also went into Bodrum which i have visited many times before , this took us about 55 mins on the bus as there was a lot of traffic.
The food was a bit of an issue, there was not Turkish al a carte restaurant, this is the first time i have stayed in a Turkish hotel and there not been one, or a Turkish pancake lad. I love Turkish food and was very disappointed. Instead they had an Italian and an Aegean which guest relations told me was Turkish and Beth the Thomas Cook rep said was Caribbean !! It was neither, I ordered rack of lamb on a bed of vegetables and was served tasteless cold lamb chops with a baked potato of all things stuffed with peas and sweetcorn ??? The food was inedible and we left without having eaten our meal. The service in there was slow and the ambiance was dire, The food in the main restaurant didn't start off too good, i personally thought the size of he restaurant and selection of food didn't match up to the size and star rating of the hotel, I visited the Barut Arum in May and their restaurant was more than double the size and the selection of food amazing. To have 5 different veal dishes and only 1 of fish and chicken is not that appealing to me. Also on their Turkish themed night i was a little disappointed again, no special effort put in. On fish night to see reconstituted crab claws and not real crab meat is not ideal. The desserts were repetitive and sometimes uninspiring. The salads were plentiful and for me were the best thing..Lots of fresh fruit on offer too. The food got better as the week went on maybe because i had mentioned something to the rep. It was good quality just not great selection.. The food in the snack bar by the pool offered a variety of different things to eat and for me was Ok. The bar in the games room where they served coffee and cake offered the same 2 cakes every day.
What can i say about the daytime entertainment other than it was non existent, the only thing that was offered for the first 3 days was water gym , that is it. On the 4th day i mentioned it to the rep and a while later the announcement was made that somethign would be happening at 4pm i couldn't make out what just heard 4pm. Nothing happened !! On the days after that they added an extra water gym session in the afternoon and darts ! On Thursdays for 30 mins they bring out an inflatable slide and that about sums up the entertainment, i have been to Turkey over 20 times and this entertainment team were up there with the worst what do they do all day ??
The entertainment at night consisted off some live bands which were not good at all and we saw one very dire show in the amphitheatre by the animation team, it was terrible. There are so many aspects about this hotel which are amazing, the hotel, the grounds, the rooms, views, location, service by the staff and the waiter service at the pool is a great plus but the animation team let it down as does the food selection. if these 2 things were improve and a Turkish restaurant was included I would return. I want to eat Turkish food in Turkey not baked cold baked potatoes stuffed with peas and sweetcorn.. It did not seem the place to stay for teenagers as they would not be very well entertained. Everyone works very hard here and i appreciate that fact, it does however need some improvements in areas. Thank you for an enjoyable stay

Room tip: We had room 1205, one of the best views but not a quiet room, music was off by 12 while we were there..Courtyard sea view room
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank h0ney42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet M, Sales & Marketing Manager, Xanadu Hotels - High Class at Xanadu Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for preferring Xanadu Island for your vacation and for taking time to share your feelings about your stay on TripAdvisor with us.

We are very glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. Your constructive criticism, however, offers us a chance to improve our services wherever possible and we thank you for stating your opinion so clearly and in a detailed manner. We would like to express that your comments have therefore been passed on to our Quality Team for review and improvement measures.

It would be a great honour to welcome you once again for your next vacation in Turkey and convince you that your efforts were not in vain.

Sincerely yours,

Demet Meral
Sales & Marketing Manager
Xanadu Hotels - High Class

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017

Top 3 Highlights:
Perfectly serene location
The friendliness of the staff
Quality of rooms

Top 3 areas for improvement:
The food could be better
Can’t think of a second one
Certainly can’t think of a third!

This is the first place in all my 35 years of travelling that I have returned to…let me help to explain.

Xanadu Island Resort and Spa is situated about an hour West from Bodrum airport and about 30 minutes from Bodrum town. It’s located on a small spit of land that reaches out from the South West corner of Turkey as if reaching out to Kos. This means you are surrounded by beautiful stretches of crystal clear green-blue water creating a perfect backdrop for daydreaming and pictures to make your friends and relatives truly jealous! Having this location you benefit from some cooler breezes, which can be a welcome relief in the mid-Summer months where temperatures can reach mid-forties Celsius in Turkey.

The resort is quite large but not like the monster resorts of Antalya. It takes about 20 minutes to walk around the perimeter with the scenery changing slightly each corner you turn as you meander around. Both times I have been they have been significantly under capacity meaning sunbeds are freely available in all the best sun spots for those who choose to while the day away basking in the Turkish sun. There are 2 swimming pools at opposite ends of the resort allowing you to choose your perspective for the day…each has a bar with international branded drinks and are staffed pretty much until the sun goes down. Waiter/ess service is frequent and sometimes they even predict your drinks by the power of mind reading!

The rooms are huge! We booked a sunset suite and it was enormous…sweeping veranda with amazing views across the sea, living area, separate bedroom with king bed, 2 TVs, monsoon shower, two sinks, separate roll-top bath, separate WC and a massive walk in wardrobe. It’s the best standard of room you can expect for the price. There are better rooms available for more people, with private swimming pools, if that meets your needs but I’ve not seen these inside.

The hotel staff are amazing…including the entertainment team, who are not strictly part of the hotel crew. Many remembered us from the previous year and went out their way to make our time even more special than the last. They are incredibly friendly, polite and respectful. They really can not do enough to make your whole experience one to remember. The evening entertainment was as good as any 5* resort although if you’re lucky enough to be there for their annual party in June, they pull out all the stops and lay on a party to remember! A different theme each year, they dress up the main stage and surrounding area to host a fantastic birthday bash including fireworks, DJs, loads of entertainers in special costumes, lasers etc etc. I’ve been really impressed with both of the parties I’ve attended at this resort.

The only downside I can think of for this resort is the quality of the buffet food. It’s not bad at all, it just could be better in my opinion. I think buffets work better with high turnover and given the low occupancy I’ve experienced each time, it’s difficult for the catering sometimes. You often see the same dishes recycled or remodelled into something else the following day. I feel bad mentioning this because it’s not awful, it’s just disappointing to some guests.

All in all, if you’re considering this resort, all you have to consider is the time of year and whether it’s going to meet your needs weather wise. Thoroughly recommended and would love to return again sometime soon.

Room tip: Choose the best room you can afford...Sunset Suites are very special.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet M, Sales & Marketing Manager, Xanadu Hotels - High Class at Xanadu Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

Dear Mr. Stephen T.,

Thank you for preferring Xanadu Island for your vacation in Turkey and for taking time to share your feelings about your stay on TripAdvisor.

We are very glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and we thank you sincerely for your constructive criticism.

Your comments regarding the variety of our buffet have thus been passed on to our Food & Beverage Team, who are always eager to provide a great variety of excellent food and beverage choices to the convenience and appreciation of our guests.

We would be honoured to welcome you soon again for your next stay at the Aegean coast.

Sincerely yours,

Demet Meral
Sales & Marketing Manager
Xanadu Hotels - High Class

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017

Just returned from a week at this fabulous resort. Visited here last September and just had to return. As previously the staff were all so accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. We had an elegance suit which had the most amazing bathroom the only problems we encountered was that the shower gel wasn't replenished very regularly and I had to ask for some in the end, using Google translate to write a note, we then ended up with lots of everything. All pool areas were spotlessly clean. The mini bar in the room was replenished daily. The food in the restaurant was excellent with plenty of choice and the evening BBQ's were great. Called housekeeping to arrange for some laundry to be collected but nobody materialised during the day even though they were going to send someone to collect it , eventually the cleaner took it the next day for us. Similarly we called for some face cloths as the cleaner never left any and they never arrived either. We arranged a private transfer both from and to the airport with the hotel which was excellent as it saved being dragged around all other hotels . Can't wait to return

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NicciStClears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet M, Sales & Marketing Manager, Xanadu Hotels - High Class at Xanadu Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for preferring Xanadu Island for your stay at the Aegean coast and for taking time to share your feelings about your stay on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your recommendation. Please allow us to apologize for any inconvenience you might have suffered regarding the replenishment of the shower gel. We are glad that this could be solved.

It would be a great honour to welcome you soon again at Xanadu Hotels for another unforgettable holiday experience.

Kind regards,

Demet Meral
Sales & Marketing Manager
Xanadu Hotels - High Class

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews