We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food! New Chef Dino Reed”

Wiseguys Lounge and Grille
Ranked #171 of 572 Restaurants in Akron
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 20, 2017

Had an incredible clambake at Wise Guys October 11th! Way too much food for one person! My boyfriend had a Bone-In Pork Chop that was gigantic and delicious! Same atmosphere as Nick Anthe's and not much has changed in the way of decor over the years. Very attentive waitstaff. I think the New Chef Dino Reed is a definite asset and has a following that will benefit Wise Guys.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 15 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2017

The restaurant has been in business for a few years now. We went in the very beginning to follow a chef to the new restaurant. And then continued to return as that chef moved on. We have never been disappointed in the food. It is always tasty and we leave happy. Our current favorite items are the crab bisque and rib eye. We often will enjoy appetizers and take a steak home for the next day. The staff is friendly. The food is excellent. it's a nice place for a quiet evening with friends or a celebration.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank MissDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

This is a restaurant you should try--and if you were disappointed when it first reopened (used to be Anthe's) you should try it again. We have eaten there 6 times in the past year and have always been blown away by the excellence of their kitchen. The food--particularly the halibut--is wonderful. While it was at first overpriced, their current pricing is more than fair. Ambience is pleasingly old school and the service is friendly, though they can get overwhelmed easily and then the service slows markedly. This would have been a 5 star but for that unfortunate fact. Really, you should try this place!

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank mrbicx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2015

We have dined here twice and found it to be pleasant enough. Some of the menu items we sampled were quite good. One test item for us is usually calamari, and they did a very nice job with this. On one evening, they served a seared salmon special that was outstanding -- quality ingredients with excellent preparation. Not everything was to this same standard (rice pilaf was tasteless and dipping oil was poor quality). but most items were well-prepared. The place tries to be up-scale and is in some ways. Our advice is to choose wisely from their menu, and ask for advice from the wait staff who seemed to us to be quite accommodating. There is a dining room and lounge bar, and the bar side can be a bit noisy. However, it is a generally cordial place with repeat clientele who tend to be beyond the age of young rowdies. Since we fall into that same category, we'll probably return.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PCmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2015

We used to love this place when it was Anthe's so maybe our opinions are tougher based on an unfair comparison. It's never crowded but always friendly. The owner and bartenders are great. We were surprised that they ran out of Grey Goose on a Friday. Had dinner in the bar because the restaurant side is always so empty and the food was great. Always have a good meal when we are there. Would love to see their business pick up and get a bigger following. Try it; you'll really like the place, the food and the people.

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank cndyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wiseguys Lounge and Grille also viewed

 

Been to Wiseguys Lounge and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing