We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It feels like home”
Review of College House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
College House B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Ashland B&B and Inns
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It feels like home”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This was one of the best places I've ever stayed and I'll tell you why:

Location: it was very near the university and Main Street. Also close to all sorts of restaurants and markets.

Room: One of the best things of the place is that the rooms are organized thematically and the attention to detail is impressive. I, for instance, stayed in the "History Room", which was decorated with American themes, like flags and so on. It was all with really good taste and even the toy duck had the American flag! The room was really clean and new. The fact that there was a necessaire in the bathroom with everything included (toothpaste, razor, sunscreen etc) was a plus. Not to mention chocolate candies everyday - a great treat!

Atmosphere: The best thing about this place is that it feels like home. Kathy, the owner, is a very talkative, polite and attentive person. Moreover, she's a great cook. The breakfast is unbelievable - beautiful and delicious. You haven't known pleasure yet until you tasted her bacon with brown sugar and pepper. Kathy was also super-helpful in trying to find my luggage which was lost by the airline company. If you're lucky, you'll also meet the B&B's "staff": Kathy's adorable twin sons, the most polite children you'll ever meet. Ask them anything about Pirates of the Caribbean or Lord of the Rings and they'll know. However, when I needed to be alone in the room, the place was really quiet and I had all the privacy in the world.

Value: The price was really affordable for the high-level of this place.

In conclusion, College House B&B is a great place for someone travelling alone (my case), couples or families. The price is good, and you'll certainly be well-treated.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anderson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
12
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maynardville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I can't begin to explain how pleased we were with our stay. Kathy went out of her way to make us feel at home. The place was beautiful and super clean. The Breakfast was wonderful and we really enjoyed the fellowship with Kathy. Not hard to tell we would recommend this Bed & Breakfast.

Allen & Nancy

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awhitetn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at College House for a night the weekend after our wedding. We wanted a nice place to relax and recover from all the craziness of our wedding. College House was perfect! The room was very unique (we stayed in the Art Room) and had lots of little details that made it memorable. Kathy even made sure to put a bride and groom rubber duck set in the bathroom.

The breakfast was phenomenal, I can't say enough about how delicious it was. I've stayed at a few bed and breakfasts, but this was probably the best breakfast of them all. When we were finishing up eating, Kathy came and talked with us at the table, along with her sons. It made it feel much more like we were visiting a friend than staying at a hotel or something. It really made the whole stay there an experience.

College House was the perfect getaway for us and we're definitely looking forward to making the trip down there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmc1of3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olive Hill, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Our stay with Kathy @College House B&B was awesome! The house was very clean, the food was excellent and the beds were very comfortable. I would recommended it to couples or families. The house is within walking distance of Ashland College and super good resturants within blocks.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie41164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My wife and I were in town for a wedding, we had never stayed at a B&B before. This was our favorite experience staying away from home. The B&B really gives you the comfort of a home and the relaxation of a vacation. The house provides you with everything you need for a vacation and goes beyond hotel service. You cannot compare the breakfast you get here and the ones at a hotel, the College House blows hotels out of the water. We stayed in the Art Department and had a great time. We loved all the decorative features of the room as well as the spacious area. When we return to Ohio we will be staying at the College House B&B.

Room Tip: Loved the Art Department
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Just back from a two-night stay at College House B&B. Kathy, the innkeeper, has thought of absolutely everything--including warm brownies on our arrival! We stayed in the Music Room, and our son and his wife were in the Art Room. We all agreed this place was perfect. The rooms were comfortable and spotless. Kathy is a fantastic cook. I'd love to stay longer and see what else she serves for breakfast. We enjoyed her egg blossoms and her Dutch baby pancake. Fresh fruit, ham, peppered bacon. Yum!

Kathy is a friendly innkeeper and obviously loves what she is doing. I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Reserve early. This place fills quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyinMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Within walking distance to Ashland Seminary/University & many eateries was a great plus. The Art Dept. room was like going up to our own little loft apt. at the end of the day.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank me2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
0.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ashland
4.0 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Ashland
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Surrey Inn Hotel
Surrey Inn Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ashland
32 reviews
24.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71
25.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to College House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College House B&B

Property: College House B&B
Address: 134 College Ave, Ashland, OH 44805-3912
Region: United States > Ohio > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable four room bed and breakfast centrally located in Ashland, Ohio between Ashland University and Ashland Theological Seminary. Flat screen TV's with hi def cable boxes, private en suite bathrooms, jetted tubs, heated tile floors, fitness room, wifi, filling homemade breakfasts, family friendly relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
College House B&B Ashland, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing