We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Super 8 Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Athens
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Saint Marys, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I can't say this is the worst hotel I have stayed in but it definitely was not the best. For a relatively new hotel, the carpet was worn, the lighting in the room was terrible and the TV shot. The brightest spot of the room was the shower nozzle. The water pressure and stream were great. The continental breakfast wasn't special. There was no fresh fruit and not much selection.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK P, General Manager at Super 8 Athens, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor about our property. We value our guest comments and do act on our guest concerns.
In May of 2012 we completed a renovation of our property, Replacing all guestroom carpet and public area carpet as well as painting our guestrooms with new paint and accent wall. We also replaced all of our guestroom mattress/box sets with the new Simmons Beautyrest Pillowtop mattress/box sets. Our guestroom lighting does meet all Super 8 Standards.
Additionally, we have upgraded our Super 8 SuperStart breakfast to the new Super8 Enhanced SuperStart Breakfast.
We welcome the opportunity for you to stay with us again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    152
    84
    44
    69
See reviews for
221
90
56
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greeneville TN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Room was clean and appliances all worked. Hallway was hot and stuffy, and there was NO BREAKFAST OFFERED (It was 9:05 AM when I looked). Outside of town but still close enough and there is a 19 mile bike path that goes directly in front of hotel. as well asa State Park nearby. Price Too high for what you got but it was acquit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KayakC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Was not greeted upon check in, not a huge deal but it's always nice to be greeted and told to enjoy your stay. Upon getting into bed that evening i rolled over into the middle of the bed and felt something wet. Pulled the sheets and mattress cover off to find a huge wet spot, don't even want to know what is was. Called the front desk and explained to the woman and just abt a minute later here comes the manager whom is very difficult to speak with and understand. He accused us of creating the wet spot and even went as far to check our refrigerator for drinks. I told him if I had done anything I would not have called to complain. He did give us another room with a smaller bed and made no offer to refund the extra money we had paid for a king size bed. Will never stay there again and will never recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kroger383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK P, Manager at Super 8 Athens, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
This instance was the exception not the rule at our Super 8 in Athens. We did discuss this guest concern with the guest and immediately apologized for the problem, move the guest immediately to a new room, and we have sent an agreed to refund to the guest .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Monee, Illinois
Level Contributor
419 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 527 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed here one night while making our way home from our vacation out east. The hotel is located right off of US Rt 50. Check in was fast and easy. Plenty of room to park in the parking lot. We had a king, non smoking room and it was clean and roomy. Bathroom was clean and the water pressure was great. Free continental breakfast in the morning was basic but nice. Also self serve laundry room which was nice. Free wifi too. The only downside is there's no restaurants within walking distance to the hotel but it's not the hotels fault.
We encountered no problems during our stay and would gladly stay here again whenever we're in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aerowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This hotel has built in truck parking with long spots to easily fit a 53' trailer. Check in was quick, and amenities were immediately recognized like a good breakfast and small bottles of shampoo in the room, not the little stingy packages like some places try to pass off. This is really very nice for a Super 8. The room with a queen bed is huge and includes a microwave. Even my smoking room smelled like a non-smoking one and the whole property looks practically new. I would definitely stay here again and would easily feel comfortable recommending this to any of the most picky of family or friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DasPimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreland Hills
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I thought this hotel had excellent cleanliness! My room was comfortable and very clean. Something that I also like is that this hotel is affordable, quiet and offers a nice little breakfast in the morning: english muffins, waffles, pastries, juice, coffee etc..If you are looking for a hotel that is clean, quiet and affordable... this place is great!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris12393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2011

This is a very nice and clean motel. I have stayed here every week for over one year and I wouldn't even consider looking for another place. The beds are comfortable, but most importantly, the rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnsfwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#2 of 10 in Athens
482 reviews
4.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Athens
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
6.6 km away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
1.9 km away
Knights Inn Athens
Knights Inn Athens
#8 of 10 in Athens
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Athens

Property: Super 8 Athens
Address: 2091 E State St, Athens, OH 45701-2125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Athens
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Athens 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Athens Hotel Athens
Athens Super Eight
Athens Super 8
Super Eight Athens
Super 8 Athens Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing