We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We have 3 kids, and once you have five in a family, you usually need a suite. So, I booked a 2 room suite with queen bed and a sofa. I made the mistake of assuming the sofa would be a pull out, considering there were 5 of us in the room, but I was wrong. Upon arrival, I called 1800-HOLIDAY. The first 2 people I talked to told me the sofa should be a pull out. I was transfered to customer care who curtly told me that my reservation did NOT indicate a sofabed. I spoke to the front desk and was informed that all the roll away beds were accounted for, but we could have extra blankets so one of us could try to sleep on the tiny couch. I am not very happy. If I had known, I would have stayed somewhere else, or at least not splurged on a suite.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5ofusontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    56
    44
    6
    8
See reviews for
68
71
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights to attend the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from downtown Ashland, the theaters, and restaurants. We find that the tradeoff of price of the hotel vs. proximity to the theaters is worth it. It is a bit impersonal, but the hotel does have many things going for it. We have stayed here two times now, and are very pleased with the comfort of the rooms, bed, and bath. Both the room and bath were quite spacious. The complimentary buffet breakfast was good (cereal, yogurt, an egg dish bacon or sausage). The dining area does get a little crowded at peak times, but we along with our friends never failed to find a place to sit. The heated indoor pool is a good size. Although the hotel has a gym, it is fairly minimal - one treadmill, one bicycle, and one elliptical trainer. Unfortunately, both times we stayed at the hotel, the temperature in the gym was much too hot – 80 degrees. Given the length of our stay there, it would have also been nice to have access to a computer, but that is a minor complaint. The TV was a flat screen and there were many channel choices. There is plenty of parking. The downside is when you drive into Ashland, parking is not nearly so easy to come by. We would definitely go back the next time we go to Ashland.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJE_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
166 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

This property is smaller than others I have visited. They do not have a business center and I missed that. However, staff was more than happy to print out a movie schedule for an art house movie theater in town (The Varsity).

The rooms were clean and the breakfast was the standard hot breakfast that the chain provides.

Local calls are free.

The location is off Interstate 5 (not downtown) so you will need your car. However, it is near a great Sushi restaurant - called Bonsai Teriyaki and Sushi, off Ashland Ave. Lee's Korean in the same shopping center is pretty good too.

They allow pets on the first floor but not on the third. So, I chose the the top floor.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor if you don't like pets. If you have a pet, ask for the first floor. '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here for three nights in September, 2011. The room was spacious, the towels and linens very nice, and the A/C worked great, since it was very warm here. The indoor pool was clean and the complimentary breakfast had variety and was monitored very well. Even though this hotel is not in the downtown area, it is only a short drive away. The reception desk staff were all very pleasant and helpful. A great stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBellsSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
236 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Holiday Inn Express is a solid example of the genre: conveniently located to I-5 and just outside of Ashland, fast sit-down food and gasoline nearby, a comfortable ambience, and a good selection of amenities. Parking is free around the hotel and check-in was handled well: the staff was able to help with directions and a local map, wi-fi instructions and breakfast times. The lobby has a breakfast area to one side, a pool and exercise facility beyond, and a good flow of families through which make up most of the guests.

Rooms are large and comfortable, again, in style and appointments that are typical for an upscale Holiday Inn. Beds are large and comfortable, curtains are heavy and traffic noise is minimal. There is TV with local and national cable and a selection of movies, there is a mini-fridge and in-room safe and coffee. The WiFi is free, but could only be accessed from the lobby (our room was out at the end of a hall). The bathroom was clean and had the usual kit; the bathtub was small and shallow but the shower had good temperature and pressure.

Breakfast s buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. It's good to arrive ahead of the family packs, but the staff does a pretty good job of keeping up with re-stocking. Not a lot of healthy choices (it tends towards waffles and fried meats and potatoes) but there are cereals and fruits. The restaurants in walking distance are also good.

This is a comfortable if generic hotel, a good stop along the highway or a good base for visiting Ashland if you are with family. You need a car to get into town (about a ten minute drive) but otherwise it's convenient to local shopping and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duvall, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed here again twice in late August. One night down on the way to Disneyland and one night on the way home! Superior linens, super comfortable beds, clean, quiet hotel. Excellent staff! This place is a real gem on the I-5 corridor.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathmattx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Went to Ashland for the Shakespeare Festival, a little wine touring & Crater Lake. As downtown parking for plays is plentiful, booked hotel right at edge of town. HIE is right off Hwy5 in Ashland so very convenient location: about 4 mi from downtown in one direction, about 4 mi from Emigrant Lake & local wineries in another. Booked a queen suite (2 beds w/sitting area): room was clean, recently redecorated & very nice. Beds super comfortable. Standard bath, but room had 2nd sink vanity area in entrance hall which was very convenient. Small kitchen area with sink, refrig, microwave & coffee maker. Indoor pool & small gym + 24/7 Biz center, free parking & free WIFI, but the connection on the WIFI was inconsistent. Again, poor lighting so must be a HIE policy to have low wattage bulbs. As a reader, need better lights so bought light bulbs for $2 at local market. Not a deal breaker - just inconvenient. Front desk service was great! Free morning breakfast was very good with lots of choices. Rooms facing Hwy 5 can be noisy if windows are open but when closed, didn't hear anything.
Can highly recommend this hotel to families, couples, business & leisure travelers: good value, good service, good rooms - pretty much what every traveler wants.

Room Tip: HIE hotels entrance marquee's block room windows located behind them. Request rooms NOT behind m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelsavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.3 km away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
7.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
4.7 km away
Best Western Bard's Inn
Best Western Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
3.8 km away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ashland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ashland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ashland
Address: 565 Clover Ln, Ashland, OR 97520-3710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ashland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Ashland is the gateway to your Oregon adventure. Our hotel features a warm, elegant environment. Conveniently placed near all of Ashland's attractions including Southern Oregon University, you will be sure to make your stay a yearly tradition whether you are attending the Oregon Shakespeare Festival events or skiing at Mt. Ashland. The Holiday Inn Express features complimentary Continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Visit Ashland, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located just 12 miles south of Medford, Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ashland Hotel Ashland
Holiday Inn Ashland
Ashland Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing