We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
200
31
4
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
31
4
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam shower stew amber room person jacuzzi off street parking coffee station bed and breakfast antique shopping gas fireplace each morning fruit cup my husband and i were looking bedroom and bathroom breakfast was absolutely delicious wonderful stay other guests quaint town
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 240 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed at the Amethyst Inn (part of the Adamstown Inns & Cottages family) as a family of four and loved it. Each of us, from the 44 year-old experienced B&Ber to the 9 year-old critic/princess, found something to love about the Amethyst Inn. We were so happy that we canceled our reservations for the next stop of our trip and stayed on at the Amethyst. I will break it down into accommodations/atmosphere, location and service.

Accommodations/Atmosphere: Right when we drove up, I knew we had a winner. A well-loved and cared-for B&B announces comfort and a special stay from first sight. The Amethyst inn introduces itself with terraced landscaping and a purple, gold and lavender Victorian facade. The wrap-around porch is bejeweled with pottery, chimes and special touches. We had the Cobalt suite with two bedrooms and a spacious bathroom with a large corner whirpool tub. The rooms were decked out with Victorian period detail and charm. No chintz or cheese here. There were porcelain figurines, old photos, teacups and plenty of linens. The beds were done up very nicely. This could have been a romantic retreat for the Mommy and Daddy and we would have been very happy never to leave the room. But this was not that trip and we needed the two kids to share a bed and for us to share a bed. The queen bed was very good. The full bed was very soggy and appeared to be more an antique futon of sorts than a bed. This was the only complaint of the stay and one that we could overlook but I could see how others would be very bothered by the unsupportive mattress. It just pushed us closer together to meet in the gully in the middle of the mattress and we turned that into a positive. The room has a back porch/balcony with a wooden swing and that made the suite feel more open. We were overall very pleased with the suite and with the one caveat on the bed, would highly recommend this suite to other families or just a loving couple.

Location: The Amethyst Inn is located on a safe and charming residential Main street. For us city folk, Main street was right out of a 19th century story book. Adamstown itself is central Amish country and was a great place from which to launch our adventures. We were able to see the farm country and do everything we wanted in Lancaster County. We had planned on then driving to and staying in Hershey for the "chocolate" and theme park part of our trip. We were all so thrilled with the Amethyst that we stayed on and made the 40 minute drive to Hershey.

Service: The innkeepers struck a perfect balance of friendliness and being welcoming without being annoying or intrusive. They were familiar with the area. Kristin was a big help and it was obvious she cared about our experience. As for service, the innkeepers did everything they should have done but then more. They cleaned the rooms and made the beds each day, supplied us with new towels and made sure we had what we needed. They fed us good (and not remarkable) breakfasts. They made us feel special and cared for. Each day we had at least one special present waiting for us in our room. I do not want to ruin any surprises but this extra step elevated the Amethyst from a very good B&B to a memory-maker.

The amethyst glass made the dining room sparkle. The soaps and snacks and coffee and presents and all of the special touches were appreciated and made our stay better. The value is crazy good. Stay here if you can. If it is a little out of your budget, cut somewhere else. Make it happen. This is a special place. The only reason for the 4-stars was the bed and good but unexceptional food.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms on the website before reserving.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottness_Monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamstownInns, Owner at Amethyst Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Thank you so much for your informative comments and your detailed review. We would like to especially thank you for bringing to our attention the support on the antique Davenport Bed. We were unaware that the structural support for the bed had broken. Although we are sad to see an antique be replaced, we will be purchasing a new sofa bed with a memory foam mattress. We thought the Davenport Bed nicely complimented the décor of the room; however, our guests’ comfort is much more important to us. Thus, the new sofa bed should be arriving within the next month. Again, we’re delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We actually stayed April of last year and were going to return this year but couldn't. I wanted to write a review anyway!
We went for the 'antique extraveganza' week for the first time. We happened upon this place and stayed in the suite on the first floor. We LOVED the private entrance we had. Some other features we loved were the steam shower, fireplace, jacuzzi, COMFY bed! We also loved the delish breakfast treats we go in the AM's and the traveling goody bag we got for our day of 'antiquing'. I loved browsing the little knick knacks and the window of glassware inspired me to start collectin my own!
My only caveat was that I could hear everything from the loud couple staying above us at certain times of the morning/night. I think we will try a room upstairs since they all look so cozy and quaint!
There are a couple good restaurants nearby and the drive to Lancaster wasn't so bad. We truly enjoyed this Inn and our trip!

Room Tip: If you want your own entrance, get the Ruby suite
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkwasnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We recently stayed in the Ruby suite. We had our own separate handicap accessible entrance, king bed, jetted tub and handicap accessible shower. Also, we had a sitting room and a 2nd shower/bath room that had a steam shower. The bed was fairly good. The layout of this suite is a little odd, and had steps to get from the main bedroom to the sitting room, and another step into the hallway before the final step into the steam shower. Not an issue for us, but if you are handicap, you'll need to know. The 2nd bathroom is also where the towels and hairdryer are. There were no towels in the bathroom off the main room, but there were towels next to the tub (which is in the bedroom itself.

The suite was nicely decorated, less frilly than most B&Bs, but the furniture in the sitting room is not the most comfortable - but they're antiques, what do you expect? There's also a tv in the bedroom and sitting room. No windows in the bedroom. Also, its right off the entrance, so there can be a little bit of noise.

The outside of the inn is a deep purple with accent colors. The driveway is VERY steep and narrow, but there is parking at the top. You may also park on the street. The house has a nice wrap around porch, with chairs and a swing. If you don't have a private entrance, you'll have to use the main door (On the opposite side of the house from parking.) which has a combo lock to open. Breakfast is on the main floor, and Tom chats up the guests while pouring coffee. The breakfast had a good variety - fruit cup, egg dish, croissants, and oatmeal. We don't like really fancy pretentious meals, so this was good for us.

The main drawback for us was the distance from Amish country. Had we been there for the antiques, it would be a fantastic location. Also about 30 min form the Renn Faire. There were a few other odd little things like putting the hairdryer in the 2nd bath, and not having towels in the main bath. Also, there was no hand soap, only little packets of body soap, which we found a bit odd.

Overall, it was a nice stay, and we'd stay there again, but for Amish country visits, it is a bit out of the way. We did enjoy the drive there, though.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamstownInns, Owner at Amethyst Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Thank you choosing the Amethyst Inn and the sharing this review of your visit. We consider all reviews a chance to improve our guest experience. We are striving to be more “green” oriented with our soap and shampoo amenities, but we still have the traditional bars of soap and bottled shampoo upon request. We do offer all our guests handmade scented hand soap for their room upon check-in. We apologize that you did not receive any soap prior to checking-in to your room. We have also added a second hairdryer and have repositioned some of the towel s making them more convenient to both bathrooms. Although many of the Amish attractions are a 20min.-30 min. drive, we are truly fortunate to have Amish neighbors only ½ a mile away, as well as wonderful driving tours thru Amish farmland within minutes of the Inn. We’re glad you were able to enjoy the drive through Amish country during your stay. Again, thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit at the Amethyst Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Just a Great time. We stayed May 6th and 7th it was Relaxing to the max. We stayed in the Ruby suite 2 Fireplaces a European steam shower and a Jacuzzi tub right near the bed. A sitting room with a TV Leather couch and a fireplace was great to just relax and enjoy our time. Will be staying there again the whole staff is Great and Cecil the dog is very friendly. The gift shop is great for a special gift and all of the little snacks sets this Bed and Breakfast above the Rest. 5 Star all the way. We can write a book on how awesome our room was. We were very sad to leave. Thanks for a great stay!!!!!

Room Tip: Ruby Suite is the way to go
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank repodevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2011

My husband and I just returned from our Babymoon at Amethyst Inn. It was wonderful and amazing and we did not want to leave. We requested the Babymoon package which came with a basket of goodies and mommy and daddy massages. The massages were WONDERFUL. We stayed in the Ruby Room which is on the first floor by the breakfast area. It has it's own entrance which was very convenient for us. I was in the jacuzzi several times a day and the steam shower was amazing! Plus this room had a sitting room and two bathrooms. Snacks, coffee and tea is always available, and there are always little goodies given to guests. We will surely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OkomfoAdwoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews