We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
202
32
4
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
32
4
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stew steam shower ruby room antique shops sitting room person jacuzzi romantic weekend knick knacks topaz room wrap around porch gas fireplace breakfast was delicious private balcony bed and breakfast each morning front porch wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 243 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time. The ruby room was so beautiful and romantic and the steam shower was awesome. Breakfast was delicious as always and Kristen outdid herself. Tom, Wanda, Kristen and Cecil treat us like we were family. We feel like we are at our second home. Can't waite to go back!!!!! We have been coming to the Inn for the past five years and we are always welcomed with open arms. Tom is so delightful especially when he comes over to your table during breakfast with great coffee in hand. We absolutely love the Inn and of course the antique shopping is great. We tried two new restaurants Judy's on Cherry St. and Checkers both were great we recommend them. We are looking forward to our next stay at the Inn.

Artie and Stephanie

Room tip: All rooms are great they are unique and romantic in their own way
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This a great place to stay. My wife and I just spent our anniversary weekend here after having stayed once before over ten years ago. We have always meant to get back to Adamstown and to stay here specifically. We were so glad that we did. The owners,Tom amd Wanda Berman, remembered us from staying there before. They and their innkeeper Kristin were very cordial and welcoming and were a big part of making our stay such a great one. Our room was large and comfortable, with a jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The breakfasts here are fabulous. We have often recommended staying at the Amethyst Inn to friends and acquaintances, and will definitely return, sooner the next time than this last visit.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our anniversary at the Amethyst Inn. I can honestly say that we both had a wonderful, relaxing time and that's saying something since my husband isn't one to sit back and relax!

From the moment we entered the house, we felt welcomed. Tom and Wanda Berman are the owners/innkeepers. Tom, entertaining character that he is, checked us in and made us feel right at home. He gave us a brief introduction to the Inn, our room, and the amenities. He also gave a us a great recommendation for a seafood restaurant (Kyma's). Any questions you might have about the inn, it's history, or the surrounding are, don't hesitate to ask. Tom and Wanda make themselves available to guests but are never intrusive.

Though the inn is one street over from the main highway, the surroundings were quiet. We stayed in the Amber Room which is one of two guest rooms on the first floor. It's located directly off the dining room, just at the bottom of the staircase, and next to the "available at all hours Keurig coffee maker, water cooler and refrigerator". You would think that this would mean you'd hear noise at all hours of the day and night. However, even with every room booked for the weekend, disruptions and noise from other guests coming and going were minimal. The most noise we heard were when guests came down for breakfast (which is served from 7:30 - 9:00 am) and when the guests in the room above us were walking around (but that's the chance you take with reserving a first-floor room).

The room itself was comfortable and spacious, with plenty of storage space for clothing and personal items, although the bathroom only had one small shelf above the sink which made it a little cramped for toiletry items. The bed was comfortable and the Jacuzzi very relaxing. There were nice, personal touches, such as a bottle of sparkling cider and some chocolates to help us celebrate our anniversary, and little gifts left on the bed for us for when we got back to the room after being out for the day.

The breakfasts were amazing! Tom, though he took wonderful care of the guests in the dining room, gave credit where credit was due and duly noted that it was Wanda and the staff who made the delicious fruit cups, biscuits, breads, and casseroles that were served. Wanda, Jean and Tom looked after us and took care that we'd had our fill.

The Inn is such a warm, inviting place to return to after a day of shopping, touring or "antiquing". Thank you for making us feel at home. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to make a return trip some time later in the year.

Room tip: The Amber Room is one of 2 rooms on the first floor, just outside the dining room. Noise was minimal for our stay, but we did hear the guests above us. The wrap-around porch extends to outside the bedroom windows. We stayed in February so this wasn't an issue, but in warmer months, noise from people utilizing the porch may be disturbing.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We went on a couple's getaway to the Amethyst Inn and couldn't be more pleased. It was perfect. The price was great, the bed was comfortable, and the jucuzzi tub was an unexpected luxury. Whether you're looking for a quiet getaway or a weekend of fun, the surroujnding area has everyhting you could want. we spent one day wandering the surrounding amish country and came back for a small bite to eat and the next day went into Lancaster to catch a show at Fulton theater. Truly a great experience. And everyone was so friendly!

Room tip: We stayed in the Topaz Room, Which happens to be the smallest and least expensive. We were on a budget. But that being said the room still went beyond all my expectations, so I can only imagine how nice the larger rooms are. Not to mention every room has a jucuzzi tub and I believe all a fireplace.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatGetawaySeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I have stayed at this B&B twice. once for my birthday (during grad school, perfect time for a break), & another time a few months later (also during grad school, while i was interning, even better time for a break!). The staff was excellent. friendly, accommodating, & they remembered us when we returned the 2nd time. the rates are also super, duper reasonable, considering how nice the place is & how just PRETTY it is.
We stayed in the Jade room both times, b/c that room has a memory foam (king size) bed & we have jacked up backs which seem to stubbornly persist in remaining jacked thru the years. That room also has a gas fireplace, a 2-person jacuzzi tub & truly is 100% awesomely decorated. it has an old organ, a nice big comfy wingback chair, teal walls, gorgeous curtains, lots of really comfy, cozy & attractive details. also, it is a verrrry romantic room, & a quite romantic house.
The house is a victorian, & i think that the decor is not true, authentic victorian, b/c true, period-victorian is petty darn tacky. BUT, it is close enough for anal-retentives like me, without the knick-knacks everywhere, the scary patterns or muddy-rust, extremely dark green or other depressing colors the victorian era's design consisted of. The thing is, this place is just beautiful. very pleasing to the eye, some very different antique pieces (i hope so, in the antique's capital of the usa!), and quite a relaxing atmosphere. so for those who like to see an historically accurate building consistent with its original design, this should be a good place for you, b/c it is not far off the original period mark, but manages to be super tasteful. there is also a realllllly whimsical quality to this house & it's decor. i think this reflects the owners' personalities, which are, as i said above, pleasant & amusing.
Both times we went were during winter (well, fall & winter), so we did not get to see the killer back yard foliage :( but i'd like to go in spring next time. I will say that the front, wraparound porch is delightful. there is a ton of lovely little objects out there, greenery arrangements, etc, and a PORCH SWING YAYYYY!! you can smoke out there, too, if you smoke.
the breakfasts are really good. the room in which guests eat breakfast is really good, too. fireplace, pretty, table service, very pretty, very lovely in the morning with the sunshine. the late-night snacks are good. During the colder months, we brought our own bottles of wine, & were able to put them on the sill right outside our room's window instead of using the fridge downstairs. b/c who wants to do the stairs every time you need a refill when drinking wine?
Also, this place is right on the main road in adamstown. you can walk to the mad hatter antique mall (maybe 2-3 blocks), which is not a bad mall at all. make sure in warmer months, you go to schupp's grove flea market. it is the best flea market i've been to. it's full of cool, old junk, vs just junk. great deals. closer to the turnpike are some other antique malls in which i have gotten killer steal-deals on great pieces over several trips. Adamstown is by far my fave antiquing place. this is not necessarily b/c of the huge selection (tho i do love that, b/c americans loooooove options) but because of the deals on their antiques. & really, unless you are pretty familiar with adamstown & its antique malls, have been there enough that you dont need to spend the night in order to have 2 full days to antique (which is actually not enough given the amount of malls), it is best to stay over. I like the adamstown inns' B&B, & i wont stay elsewhere in or near adamstown. i make a trip to adamstown just to stay there for a romantic, quiet, relaxing weekend. the B&B is so nice that you really could just skip the antiquing & stay in with your honey all weekend. :)

Room tip: i've only stayed in the jade room, & it is definitely where i'd stay again. the 3rd floor is much more private than the 2nd floor, & there is a 3rd floor room with a private balcony, i believe. check the website.
Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chakrabrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews