We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Addison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My wife and I have stayed at numerous B&B's over the years and Hartzell House is by far the nicest. The rooms are stunning, filled with incredible antiques and comfortable furniture, and Kitty's amazing room-painting skills coupled with David's carpentry/plumbing make for one beautiful home. We stayed for 2 days and the breakfasts were very good; both Kitty and David prepared wonderfully tasty, and different, food. If you like tea there is an incredible assortment to choose from. Hartzell House is close to all of the outdoor attractions in the area, and is easy to get to. We will be going back.

Room Tip: The rooms are all beautiful, you can't lose chosing any one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDCKAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
62
362
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Our hosts couldn't have been more welcoming. We chose to stay in Addison because of its location near Wisp and Seven Spring ski resorts. This bed and breakfast is a find and a good value. We'd recommend it to our closest friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmg284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Although I made a mistake with my reservation, Kitty and David were nice enough to accommodate me. The overall ambiance of the stay was great and I enjoyed myself tremendously. The quality of the breakfast provided was excellent and I would recommend it to my friends etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed in the Fernwalk Cottage at Hartzell House over Thanksgiving weekend. The cottage was recently redone and had so many nice touches. There even was a trimmed Christmas tree. We had Thanksgiving dinner with Kitty and David and the other Hartzell House guests. The turkey just melted in your mouth. Their breakfasts were wonderful especially the stuffed French toast and David's specialty waffles. I hope the recipes will be in their cookbook. Kitty's suggestions for local sites were great. This is one of the best B&B's that we have stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Kitty and David made our trip to Western Maryland/Southwestern PA an unexpected pleasure. The house itself was perfect with all the added touches that made it feel warm and welcoming. Breakfast was the best; the presentation was beyond expectation but the flavors were amazing. And Kitty & David were the perfect hosts recommending places to visit, restaurants and all the local sightseeing areas. Kitty even printed out an itinerary to follow that was a perfect way to spend the day seeing the area. It was our first visit to the area and we'll definitely be back, there is more to do out there than we had expected. Hartzell House is in a great location that is central to the tourist stops in the area. We hope to make it back there in the summer. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Teacher's room which was perfect, even though we shared a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Great accommodations, lovely and most welcoming hosts, and delicious breakfast. Perfect jumping off point for nearby sights.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_buddy0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sagamore Hills, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

My wife and I are retired and like to break up drives into 5-6 hour segments. Hartzell House was our half way point to Wialliamsburg, Va. We frequently stay at Select Registry B&B's in our travel. Hartzell house will take full measure of any B&B we have stayed at. David was our host and left nothing to chance. The room was clean and quiet, the quiche and fresh fruit plate were presented professionally and tasted grate. This is probably one of the best values in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addison
39.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
18.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
39.5 km away
Hampton Inn Uniontown
Hampton Inn Uniontown
#1 of 9 in Uniontown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
21.6 km away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
19.3 km away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 728 Main St, Addison, PA 15411-2001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Addison
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartzell House is a casual-luxury B&B, close to both Fallingwater in Mill Run, Pa, and Deep Creek Lake, MD. We love our guests, and strive to make sure a stay with us leaves you feeling relaxed and valued. We currently offer 3 guest rooms and 3 suites, one of which is fully handicap accessible. Our breakfasts please even the pickiest palate, and we are happy to accommodate your dietary restrictions and strong preferences. While at Hartzell House you will find that the Southern Laurel Highlands offer everything from whitewater adventure, biking, hiking, and birding, to 5-diamond dining, two of Frank Lloyd-Wright's residential masterpieces, first-class spas, an artisan village, and numerous antique stores. And the winter is awesome with miles of CC ski trails and two downhill ski resorts nearby! Come play with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hartzell House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartzell House Hotel Addison
Hartzell House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing