We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gastropub with impressive wine list in the Renaissance Hotel in the heart of downtown.”
Review of The Dime

The Dime
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dime is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 517 Restaurants in Allentown
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Dime is an upscale dining experience like no other. Our menu features locally inspired and locally sourced Pennsylvanian American cuisine. Our inspiration comes not just from our own Lehigh Valley, but from all regions of the state, including, Lancaster County, the Greater Pittsburgh area, historic Philadelphia and a continually evolving list of culinary landmarks. Our dining spaces are a timeless and elegant homage to the Lehigh Valley's rich history as well. The Dime's full-service bar features Pennsylvanian specialties among its extensive list of craft beers, wines and made-from-scratch cocktails. And our incredible assemblage of renowned chefs and restaurant professionals will ensure that every meal with us will be among your most incredible and memorable dining experiences.
Reviewed June 4, 2017

I recently stayed at the Renaissance on business and had dinner and lunch on-site at The Dime. The service and ambience were impeccable, and the food was delicious. I had crab cakes for dinner and a Caesar salad for lunch, and the chef did a fantastic job of putting a fresh, unique spin on the classic dishes. There were fabulous wine-by-glass options as well. I had the pricey Justin Cabernet, and it was so good I splurged on a second glass. All in all, a wonderful restaurant that I highly recommend.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FloridaFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd P, General Manager at The Dime, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the fantastic review. We're thrilled you had such a wonderful experience with us at The Dime! It's excellent you enjoyed our mouthwatering dishes and drink selection. That's what we like to see. We look forward to sharing another amazing experience with you soon.

Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 162 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2017

As you get off the elevator, there are beautiful hardwood floors, and try to get a view of downtown.
The oysters on half shell and margarita flat bread are good app choices. The filet mignon was well flavored and prepared to perfection.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MACHERI0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff V, General Manager at The Dime, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2017

Thanks for the 4/5 review!

We're thrilled to hear that you had a great dining experience with us! It's wonderful that you loved your apps as well as your meal - that's what we like to hear! We can't wait to host you again soon for an even more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2017 via mobile

Celebrating a special occasion in the area, I looked for something a little nicer. This restaurant is inside The Renaissance Hotel, and was recommended on TA so we thought we'd try it. The atmosphere is very cool/hip and the decor is great. The menu was interesting and was presented on interactive tablets, but there weren't enough of them for each guest. The bread was good, but the goat cheese spread it was served with was nasty. The drinks were tasty but expensive. We were a party of 6 and four of the meals were quite good. Two of us had the short ribs that were recommended on TA. They were awful- way too salty and the veggies they were served with were not cooked. I said as much in full ear shot of our waiter, who did nothing to address the issue at all. I'm on the fence about trying it in the future.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank mariannes259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff V, General Manager at The Dime, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

We appreciate the feedback, Marianne.

We're disappointed your time with us was anything less than perfect. We'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2017

The steak was melt in your mouth. The spirit was a good match. The appetizers were as good as the main entrée. I was there on business, however I think it would be quite appropriate for couples.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Coachmen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff V, General Manager at The Dime, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the fantastic review! We're delighted you enjoyed our mouthwatering dishes and wonderful ambiance so much. We aim to please and your praise lets us know we're doing our job. We look forward to your next visit.

Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile

This place is right on the Square in Allentown with a great view of the sidewalks. The restaurant is on the third floor of the Renaissance Hotel.

Drinks are very expensive. However they do offer a pretty good happy hour. they offer oysters reduce drink prices on the happy hour menu. They have what they call the crispy duck which is a very good appetizer.

I ordered the oysters which were a dollar off of the happy hour menu. They were very small.

I like the menus which look like an iPad. You can click on food items and it shows a picture of what you're ordering.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank agflag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff V, General Manager at The Dime, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 4/5 rating! We're thrilled you had such a pleasant experience with us. It's wonderful you enjoyed our mouthwatering dishes and convenient menu system. That's what we like to see. We look forward to hosting you again soon for an even better experience.

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dime also viewed

 
Center Valley, PA
 

Been to The Dime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing