We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fifth Season Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fifth Season Inn & Suites
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
San Angelo, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is the most disgusting hotel!! Here is a list of my concerns: duck tape holding carpet in place, carpet coming loose from the wall, exposed concrete on the inside, hallway feels like a sauna, breakfast was cold, appears to be blood spatter on the ceiling of our room, dirty bathroom, dirty sheets, hardest beds imaginable, small box style television, no Bible in the room, exercise equipment has exposed wires, trash in game room, cloudy/murky pool with grime on bottom, missing ceiling tiles over pool with exposed insulation, grungy carpet, broken tiles, rocks in main foyer that have been moved, broken tiles have sharp edges, no sprinkler in room, missing nobs, no hair dryer in bathroom, no cream for coffee, missing light bulbs, strong bleach/chlorine smell in entire hotel, chlorine content of the pool entirely too high, questionable characters in parking lot, toilet flushes only if you hole down the handle......stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you pay. Don't think the foyer is indicative of the room you will ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    46
    53
    70
    139
See reviews for
146
74
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Well should have known, coupon voucher is only for rooms down the back in Wing section.
OMG, that area should be pulled down, but having a coupon doesn't justify letting people stay in that area. Passage way dirty, carpets horrible. At first glance room looked ok and we unpacked our things, but a few hours later when we pulled covers off the bed, it was absolutely disgusting. Not the sheets but the bottom mattress(of dblbase bed) was stained and filty-didn't dream off pulling up top sheet to see what that mattress looked like.
Also this far down the hotel can,t pick up WiFi.
My husband refused to sleep in it, so off down to Management. Of course for more money we could upgrade which we had to do.
Good marketing tool by hotel, give you the worst rooms with the coupons and then because they are so bad, you pay more for the upgrade.
Breakfast was good, unfortunately didn't get to use pool as this particular weekend was overrun with unsurpervised children, who were running through the hotel, up and down in the lifts and running riot.
To be fair I will rate Hotel on our stay in the upgraded rooms.

Room Tip: Don't stay in rooms in Wing section. If you don't want to pay more to upgrade, then don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

we had a voucher for the fifth season inn, i asked the girl on reception if i could see the room, it was clean enough but smelt funny and was upstairs at the back of hotel where everywhere looked grubby. i didnt feel i wanted to stay there and told the girl on reception, she said she could give a room downstairs in the main part of the hotel for $10 more, looked at this room, it was a good size and very clean, i think it had just been decorated, we decided to stay. our stay was fine, pool was nice and beds very comfy.

Room Tip: ask to see room first and a room inside the main building.if you have a voucher ask to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

By chance we passed that hotel and were more than surprised. They charged no more than the motels we had had before but what a difference!
Very good breakfast, friendly service, clean rooms and a very nice pool (indoor) that allowed our family to relax and enjoy swimming without being dependent on the outside weather!
Really close there were restaurants but you also could have dinner here what we didn´t try but will do so next time in July of this year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose1011_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at this place because we had a coupon from one of those little rest stop hotel/motel discount magazines. When we pulled up it looked like a fabulous place to stay! The lobby was very nice, warm and inviting. The room that we got was horrible! There was food on the walls, the carpets were filthy, there was stuff under the beds (garbage), one of the comforters had food stuck to it, the room reeked of cigarette smoke (to be fair it was a smoking room) and the TV didn't work. We called to the front desk where it seemed that I was bothering the girl. She rudely said that someone from maintenance would be there shortly and hung up on me! My husband messed around with the TV and got it to work so I called back to the front desk to cancel the maintenance call (about 10 minutes later) because noone had showed up and my husband had fixed the problem. The girl at the front desk rudely said OK and hung up on me yet again. It was then that I noticed the food on the walls. Since we had already had a bad experience with the front desk and it was quite late we just went to sleep. I would never, ever recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Don't ever use the coupon out of the hotel/motel discount book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank disimile2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

What a disgusting place! We found the air conditioner didn't work, moved to another room same problem! This one had a complimentary crack pipe in the desk drawer with lots of scratch offs. Acoustic hanging from bathroom ceiling, including the vent. Never again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kneegrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Why, oh why, did we stay here?

We stayed at the Fifth Season in Amarillo, TX, because it looked decent.
DO NOT STAY HERE!

Upon arrival in the parking lot, we decided that if we had an outside-facing room we would pay for an upgrade, or just find somewhere else to stay. Going inside to check in, the hotel lobby looked nice, but it stank of chlorine - lots of chlorine. The sound of screaming children echoed through the atrium. We wrote off the idea of getting into the pool. We also wrote off the idea of peace and quiet, 'cause the little water creatures were screaming up and down the hallways until well after 11:30PM.

We checked in, and got an interior-facing room on the third floor. Hooray! No meth-lab-esque rooms at the back of the hotel for us! The desk clerk gave us two vouchers for a hot breakfast - which should have been a tipoff. Even at really expensive hotels, they just ask you to show your room key or have you write your room # on the bill.

We decided for the first time since we hit the road that we would unload the entire contents of the car, instead of just the expensive and sentimental stuff. Why? Well, the parking lot looked a little…drug addict-y™. And we’re from the Los Angeles area. We know what drug addict-y™ looks like.

We took the old bellhop’s cart out to the car, and loaded it up. One of the wheels was terribly bent, and keeping the thing going straight was a trial. And at one point an epic fail as the thing careened into the hood of our car.

Finally, with the wonky "cart" all packed up, we headed for the glass elevator. Ooh, fun! Yeah, no. The elevators here were REALLY slow, and the doors took forever to close. There was no "Door Close" button. There was also a weird kid sitting on the floor of the elevator, eating, and staring at the doors (WTF? Kids these days...) when the doors opened. He finally got up, and shambled towards the stanky pool area after a while, but it was still weird...and it reminded us to catch the Walking Dead this week.

Now for the room. The ceiling are low. We moved from a house where the tallest ceiling, thanks to Depressions-era construction, was 7’10”, so if a ceiling feels low to us, it’s low. We could both reach it from the floor. Also, one of the queen-sized beds was sagging badly. Inspection in the morning revealed that the box frame was splintered in the middle.

The bathroom features new granite tile, which is ice-rink fun with wet feet. No floor towels were provided, but plenty of other towels were there.

There was no room service menu, nor did the phone have a dial tone when you lifted the receiver. We were on the third floor, so we thought we would get some fresh air (when we arrived, the room smelled of stale perfume). The window was broken, and unless you propped it open with a plastic ice bucket, it would slam shut. Now we know how it got cracked.

There was a hole in the wall next to one of the beds (the one that wasn’t sagging). There was a patched hole in the door of the bathroom. Any repairman worth their salt should be able to patch both of these quickly, without leaving much visible remnant of the damage. Not so much in this hotel - looked like someone needed to get to that bathroom BADLY. Maybe it was the continental breakfast.

Something that apparently bothered us both enough that we had bad dreams about it - there are no clocks in these rooms. No alarm clock. No wall clock. No clock on the television or phone. Nothing. It's like they don't want you to know how much of your life is ticking away in this hellhole.

Oh, yeah, and bonus points for the mirror positioned so that you have wiz-cam™ as you sit on the toilet - what a view!

Extra bonus points for the large number of beer guts and cowboy hats that stared you down as you walked through the atrium.

Would I stay here again?
HA! Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!
No.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Run away from this place while you still can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaybeTooHonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
9.1 km away
Amarillo Inn & Suites
Amarillo Inn & Suites
#28 of 73 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
8.8 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Amarillo East
0.1 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 73 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
Red Roof Inn Amarillo West
#44 of 73 in Amarillo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.8 km away
Extended Stay America - Amarillo - West
8.7 km away
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
Red Roof Inn Amarillo East
#36 of 73 in Amarillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fifth Season Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifth Season Inn & Suites

Property: Fifth Season Inn & Suites
Address: 6801 West Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79106-2608
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fifth Season Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Fifth Season Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifth Season Inn And Suites
Fifth Season Hotel Amarillo
Fifth Season Amarillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing