We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In season a delight”

Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
Ranked #9 of 326 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center in Austin, Texas, is dedicated to inspiring the conservation of native plants. Located a quick but quiet ten miles from downtown, we are a botanical garden open to the public year-round and have become a favored venue for everything from conservation-focused conventions to beautiful weddings. We carry out our mission to inspire the conservation and application of native plants through our gardens, campus, research, education and outreach programs. In doing so, we improve water quality, provide habitat for wildlife and enhance human health and happiness. Visit, learn and make a better world with us. The Wildflower Center was founded by Lady Bird Johnson and Helen Hayes in 1982 and became a part of The University of Texas at Austin in 2006.
Amherst, MA
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“In season a delight”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

You don't have to be a botanist or flower fiend to enjoy this lovely park and garden

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank ESE43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    231
    75
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harper, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“I'm sure it'll be better...”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

...after the drought! Took some visitors and since Texas is in a major drought even the wildflowers couldn't survive. The set-up with the building are beautiful though, natural stone used through-out. Love the tower and view from it, you much be able to climb lots of stairs to get up to the top. The gift shop is wonderful, lots of beautiful items and they are priced from very reasonable to very expensive, something for everyone. It you're visiting, I'd check first to see if they have anything growing, so you won't be disappointed, but I enjoyed the place anyway, but then they didn't charge us to get in. If I had paid I wouldn't have liked it since nothing and I do mean nothing was growing...oh, except the cacti.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ctb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We have been here many times and always surprised at what we missed the last time. The variety of wildflowers is very Beautiful!

Helpful?
Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A well done oasis of gardens in Southwest Austin”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We moved here a year ago from Atlanta where the Atlanta Botanical Gardens were first rate. Since we live only a mile away we joined the Wildflower Center. Some of our first visits were to take classes in native plants and landscaping that were taught by excellent and talented folks who love both plants and the Center. We visit monthly and most recently attended a lecture on the trees and how they are dealing with the draught. In addition to some nicely planted areas, there are two easy walking trails into "native meadows". The cafe is excellent and the chef does great homemade soups. This year the new Texas tree arboretum will be opening, expanding the walking areas and providing some non Central Texas species of Live Oaks to view. I highly recommend the Wildflower Center for either a quick visit or a membership to visit often and take advantage of the programs.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DocHarrisHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Take a drive out to the Hill Country instead”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I've been here before during wildflower season and to be honest, you're better off just driving along 360 and taking a picture there when the wildflowers are in bloom then going to the Wildflower Center. I was not impressed at all.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank crazyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center also viewed

 

Been to Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing