We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST LOCATION, EXPERIENCE AND VIBE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimber Modern Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

You cannot beat the location of this cool hip boutique style hotel.
It is right off South Congress and the great area of SOCO.
We walked to shops, restaurants, viewing of the bats under the bridge,
and all of the downtown area attractions.
BUT the main reason to stay here is the Kimber itself! The exterior has a cool modern edge but as you proceed up the entry steps you are immersed into a garden zen accompanied by waterfalls, hammocks and comfortable lounge seating.
You dont check in but are given a key code which allows your entrance into the hotel and lounge and your room.
In the early evening they set out munchie snacks and cool drinks; even had beer and wine.
It is self serve and comes with a stocked kitchen including a 24 hr barista machine we used late night for espressos.
In the mornings a wonderful organic breakfast was set out: yogurts, whole grain breads and bagel, granola , fruit and soy milk, regular milk etc... The best OJ ever!!!
There are newspapers, a MAC desktop and various readings on AUSTIN and its scene.
This place contains all of this for your room price.
The rooms are COOL! with wonderful bath products, robes, flat screen TVS and our personal favorite : A CEILING FAN!
We WILL be back and will spread the word about this incredible place.
BY The Way though, we did drive by the #2 boutique hotel the HEYWOOD(Kimber was #3) and
although it looked like it could be interesting, it was in a very UNDESIREABLE location!
and on top of that you would have to drive everywhere....(cause you wouldnt want to hang around those parts if you know what I mean....sorry Heywood!)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rghmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

It's very seldom I come across the perfect B&B and the Kimber Modern is in every single, possible way. We stayed for four nights and had a delightful time. It's a great spot, hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the SoCo area, but still quiet and peaceful in the evenings.

The Kimber offers everything a modern traveller could ask for. The rooms are pretty spacious, the bedlinen are prestine, the mattress not too soft and it's got large despensers of my favourite beauty stuff - Malin & Goetz.

The breakfast is great - fresh baked bagels, yoghurt, fruit, granola and banana cake. An automatic coffee machine for free use. A really nice touch was the afternoon happy hour where we could try some great cheese and interesting wine/beers.

The code system had an initial hiccup - we couldn't access our room due to a faulty code being put in - but Kimber the owner turned up within 5 minutes of us arriving to sort it out.

Room Tip: If I come again I would choose another room than ours (Orange) as I'm a very light sleeper and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C_Putnam_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We loved the Kimber Modern. Situated just off of South Congress in a trendy, artsy area that's just a short walk to the Continental Club, restaurants,shops etc sits this small boutique hotel most notable for it's bright and modern but warm design. The beautiful shaded courtyard just outside of our room was my favorite spot.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vortrekker00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed in the White Suite, where there was a private patio. The bathroom was absolutely amazing, it was hard to get out of the shower, especially with the Malin and Goetz products. I couldn't imagine staying anyplace else next time I return to Austin.

Room Tip: No fitness center or pool, but happy hour every day in the common room and a very nice breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Kimber modern isn't for everyone.
If you like giant hotels with swimming pools and all-you-can-eat breakfast buffets and brown scratchy bedspreads and bathrooms with bad lighting, don't bother.
If, however, you appreciate modern design, like the feeling that you're staying at your most tasteful friend's guest house, you'll love it! Clean, beautiful, peaceful, complimentary snacks, wine, beer and breakfast—what's not to love? It's going to make my next trip (where there's no Kimber modern) miserable by comparison. Kind of like flying coach on UAL after a steady diet of First on Virgin America.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jschull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

What a great find in Austin. It is a cool little place right off s. Congress. Felt like you were staying at your friends house. Loved it.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Darren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My magnificent stay started immediately upon my arrival. I had booked the Yellow room, and the staff casually asked if I would like a free upgrade to the White Suite! Of course I would! This place was fantastic in every way. It was spotless! I NEVER take a bath in hotel tubs, but this one was so sparkly clean that I could not resist. The suite had a private courtyard, lots of quiet, and the complimentary beverages in the fridge were a nice touch. The hotel is a contemporary dream. The common courtyard was even more impressive than the pictures, and don't get me started on the free happy hour and breakfast! The breakfast food was displayed beautifully ----- fresh fruit, breakfast breads, boiled eggs, and juice in the fridge. You help yourself so you feel right at home. And the staff spent a good hour or more giving me tips on shopping (I was looking for unique furniture pieces), and printing off directions to each store! Wow! I was sad when I had to leave. From now on every trip I make to Austin will include a stay at the Kimber. And I even got to see the owner's dog Pepper sneak through the suite courtyard ------ apparently on her way to visit a friend next door :). I felt so at home here. Can I move in??

Room Tip: I saw the Yellow Room, the Red Suite and the White Suite. They are all fantastic, though the White S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaithJDallas_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,189 reviews
0.4 km away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#17 of 201 in Austin
282 reviews
1.4 km away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#18 of 201 in Austin
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel San Jose
Hotel San Jose
#72 of 201 in Austin
369 reviews
2.2 km away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
2.1 km away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 201 in Austin
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimber Modern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimber Modern Hotel

Address: 110 The Cir, Austin, TX 78704-2485
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range: $326 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kimber Modern Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are places you go. And then there are those indescribably alluring spots that draw you in at first glimpse. For the independent urban traveler seeking a unique escape, the Kimber Modern holds particular appeal. Perhaps it’s the clean lines of this architectural work of art tucked away within the hip, trendy and vibrant SoCo district. Maybe it’s the abundant light filtered through the canopy of oaks in the artfully landscaped Courtyard. Or it could be the absolute comfort and attention to detail found in each thoughtfully designed and technologically sophisticated room in this breathtaking boutique hotel. Regardless of what leads you to Austin, find yourself at the Kimber Modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Kimber Modern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing