We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of W Austin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Austin
Ranked #20 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the W for a wedding this past April. We had a corner suite which was great for traveling with a toddler. The price is quite high, and not sure it is worth the price. But overall we were happy with the hotel and it's location. Before arriving to the hotel, we had received a confirmation email from the W manager asking if we had any requests please feel free to email.

I knew Austin had Tiwn Lake to run around, so I asked them if they could organize a jogging stroller and a tuxedo rental for my husband. They responded back promptly, that they had a jogging stroller and would reserve it for our dates and hold it downstairs so it wouldn't clutter our room and just needed my husbands size and they would organize the tux. It was for a wedding party so they even picked up the tuxedos and returned them for us. This was a big a help.

After our 1st night and day in the room, we returned after 5pm and our hotel room had not been made up for the day, this was extremely annoying a d we noted a complaint with management, they have us a standing housekeeping appointment for 1pm, 2000 in spg reward points and a $75 bar credit. Which is all great, but I hope not a standing practice. If rooms can't be made up earlier for checked in guests, please hire more housekeeping or find another solution..

All in all, great stay..

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

W Hotels usually leave me cold. Their muted lighting makes elevator buttons impossible to read. But this was not the case in Austin. The elevators were well lit. The swimming pool deck was great for a cocktail event. The location is in downtown within an easy walk of the Texas capitol and Lady Bird Park. Overall, a nice location to visit and the accommodations were very nice, but not over the top.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARXPRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is now my first choice for lodging whenever I'm in Austin. The location is great - right along the Lake with easy access to the running trail, Congress Avenue restaurants and the bars and restaurants along West 4th, 5th and 6th streets. The hotel itself offers a number of great spaces to relax and unwind, from the outdoor bar and pool, to the different bars and lobby area. I've had great rooms every time I've stayed there, from an amazing suite, to a good sized regular room on my last trip. To top it off, the staff is uniformly friendly and attentive, from the welcome desk, to the servers and the room attendants.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

What an experience! Loved the energy of this hotel. The evening DJ and jazz bands during the day were so cool. The lobby areas were so beautifully designed it was a pleasure just sitting there taking it all in. The cocktails were so creative, the food was fabulous(pancakes were delicious) and the staff were very friendly. The rooms were all lovely- amazingly designed and the mattress was so comfy. Even the pool area was modern and decadent! Lieing by the pool and watching the golf. Our group of 16 all had a fabulous time at the W.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

By the time you valet your car the front desk knows your name. When you're looking around an employee takes a detour from her task and gives you an impromptu tour. When you're pondering sushi the valet points you to the perfect place to dine within walking distance. And whether you seek solace or party the W is the place to be. Let the W pamper you. You are worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okapigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I've stayed here twice in the past year. I didn't fancy myself a "W" girl - but I'm convinced now that I am.

Each time I've left impressed. As an SPG member, I was well-taken care of by HM. I appreciated the communication, the recommendations and the fabulous corner room. I loved the big couch for lounging and talking with with sisters.

I found the courtesy car service helpful as it made getting around town much easier.

It's almost cliche, I realize, to talk about a W spa. But it was wonderful. Brian the masseuse was part physical therapist and part masseuse. Separately, he also helped my mother with her injured foot. Crazy good experience. 5-stars.

The Library bar is especially good on weekends when there is a good show in town at Austin City Limits. It's great to see the best of Texas and beyond decked out and made up to be out on the town. The same can be said for the "deck" on a sunny day.

The location really rocks. The bike/walk/run path around the lake is steps away from the hotel. I spent hours walking - both for exercise and people watching. I even saw Lance out running on a beautiful Sunday morning!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MK1Chicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed at this property in November 2011 for an event being held at the convention center, which is a comfortable walk away. The regular rates for this W are befuddlingly astronomical -- I got a Starpicks rate and still feel like I overpaid for what I received. The hotel is, in the typical W vein, very trendy -- this was apparent when I passed a woman in the lobby wearing shorts with suspenders over a neon-green bra. There were a ton of weddings in Austin that weekend (11/11/11), and unfortunately the room next to mine hosted an afterparty once all the bars closed down. Very unpleasant, though the hotel cannot be faulted for people's lack of sense.

My main gripe with the property was the poor service I received. The gentleman who checked me in was downright snooty and acted like I wanted a piece of the moon itself when I asked about the availability of my Starwood upgrade. My bill was also a complete mess upon checkout, and the desk clerk kept arguing with me about it until I actually pulled out my iPhone and started adding things to show him the inaccuracies. Then he finally deigned to get a manager, which took an eternity. Overall not a huge deal and it all got settled eventually, but that's half an hour of my life I'll never get back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karolinatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the W Austin. I appreciate your feedback, however am very concerned with the level of service you received while here. Superior customer service in order to create exceptional guest experiences is something we strive for, so I'd very much like to hear more specific feedback that I may share with my team. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further, and can be reached at drew.mcquade@whotels.com or (512) 542-3633. Thank you for your time.

Best,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.6 km away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#29 of 201 in Austin
2,039 reviews
0.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
2,234 reviews
0.6 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#10 of 201 in Austin
1,499 reviews
0.6 km away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
15.4 km away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 201 in Austin
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Austin

Address: 200 Lavaca St, Austin, TX 78701-3928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Austin
#3 Spa Hotel in Austin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#11 Business Hotel in Austin
#30 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: $252 - $1,072 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, located in downtown Austin, is next door to the famed Austin City Limits music venue. Our boutique hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable, we also offer over 10,000 sqft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Austin Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing