We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Review”

Austin Folk House Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Austin Folk House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 36 Austin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 October 2011

If you have business on UT Austin campus, then the Folk House is very convenient. However, if you are a tourist wishing to see Austin, then I suggest you consider alternatives, including the sister establishment, the Star of Texas, one block away.
We have stayed in dozens of B&B's throughout the U.S. Never before have we not seen an innkeeper in the afternoon or evening. We arrived at 5:30 pm and no one was there to greet us or help us settle in. And that is daily practice.
After the breakfast, (served by a pleasant and enthusiastic "inn-keeper") there was no one there to give advice, offer suggestions, etc. Want to use a computer to get email or print out an airline boarding pass? You have to walk down the block to the Star of Texas. Need information about bus schedules? Maybe the Star of Texas can answer your question. Need to know how to get to a leading theater in Austin? Maybe the folks at Star of Texas can answer your question. After all of this, why not just stay at the Star of Texas?
The lawn in front of the house is non-existent. Paint peeled from the window frames in our room. The breakfasts were quite acceptable but not outstanding. And there is only one narrow, winding stairway from the first floor to the second floor (this could be a serious matter if there was a fire in this old building). Need help with your luggage when you arrive? No one is at home. So, tourists should consider their alternatives including the Star of Texas.
[---]

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pateve97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

Staying at AFH is super convenient to the UT campus- 5 minutes walk- and everything was top notch. My room was incredibly comfortable- super big bed, plus lots of space to put your stuff and make yourself comfortable. Really big bathroom with everything you need- conveniences like blow drier, bath robes, but nice little bonuses like Paul Mitchel shampoo and conditioner. Decor was traditional B&B with an Austin twist- lots of folky paintings and cute details everywhere. Breakfast is great- freshly cooked and delicious. There's always lemonade, soda and wine in the fridge and fresh baked cookies :) Also has a great front porch for hanging out. Only downside is that the neighborhood is noisy, being so close to campus, but they've tried to remedy that by including earplugs and even white noise machines in the rooms. The innkeeper was incredibly nice and seemed to truly care about guests.

Room Tip: Website has pics of each room, I had #7 with the four poster bed :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeneSparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I stayed here with a work colleague while attending a conference at the university which was located about 10 minutes walk away. The B&B was very quiet and set back nicely from the road. The owners were very responsive and helpful when we booked. We didn't arrive until 10pm, but that was no problem - they left a key outside for us.

When we arrived we found that there were three other colleagues from the same conference booked-in there, which was great as we could enjoy the complimentary drinks together out on the deck. There were also complimentary cakes left out for us.

The room was nice - the decoration was very individual and nicely done. The bed had far too many pillows and cushions! :)

Breakfast was amazing - they had a cook (she described herself as a baker) come in each morning to prepare. As well as the normal cereals and coffee, there was always bacon and freshly cooked cakes, muffins, egg dishes etc. We ate far too much because it was so nice.

We never saw the owners while we were there, but the cook was happy to take our payment on the day we left. If I was visiting Austin again, I would definitely stay there again - for the service and food we received, this place was a bargain.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welsh--reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We're longtime B&B people and we've stayed in some very well-run establishments. But never before in a place so completely thought-out. Wine? In the fridge, along with soft drinks, milk, ice. Help yourself. Need something from the kitchen? Go get whatever you want. Cream puffs for breakfast? Why not? Thick-cut baked bacon? Of course. Street noise bother you . . . a couple of hundred feet from the UT campus? Turn on the white noise machine on the bedside table, or here - try the earplugs. And look at the walls, covered with impressionist and surrealist art (instead of the kitschy krap favored by most B&Bs). All this, and maid service, and parking at the back door - in a part of town where parking is usually impossible.

It's owned by the people who own the nearby Star of Texas. When we're in Austin, we'll be staying at one place or the other.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BobHouston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Just stayed here. We weren't there for campus, but if you are it is in the perfect location. It was 110F so we didn't do the walk to 6th, but wouldn't be a bad walk in the right weather. On the way home you could just hire one of those rickshaws, tons of fun.

Room was comfortable, clean, uniquely decorated in that "Austin" way. Breakfast was decent, the hostess is happy to make more fresh food if you sleep in. Free parking, which is more than you can say for staying in a hotel downtown. My only complaint is it's a little noisy at night - the B&B acknowledges this and provides a sound machine and ear plugs if necessary. It wasn't anything that bothered me though and wouldn't rpevent me staying there again - this is an old B&B not a 4* hotel.


All in all, for the price it's a great pick. All the great things you expect

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor is the cheapest, has private access and you can walk right out to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 223red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

If asked, I'd summarize this bed & breakfast as being so-so. It's sixteen blocks from 6th St., the "happening" part of downtown Austin. We did walk to 6th St. but it's quite a schlepp. The house is on a street near the university; lots of students walk past the bed & breakfast going, it seems, to and from student housing. The students weren't loud, but there was quite a bit of activity until later at night. The room, which had an "old lady" smell upon entering, certainly wasn't anything to write home about; I'd characterize it as being "okay." The front of the house appears not to have seen a gardner in quite a while.

It would have been nice if there had been someone at the house to answer various questions we had about transportation and activities but we did not see any staff members except a nice young woman (a student?) who was making breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank threedognight3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

This is a very nice place to stay very close to the Unuversity of Texas.
The room was very comfortable and the breakfast by Penelope was great.
We left some belongings by mistake and Sylvia and Chris the owners were wonderful in forwarding them to our home.
Very convient location.

Woould recommend this house to stay anytime.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRDUDEMJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#41 of 201 in Austin
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,188 reviews
The Driskill
#28 of 201 in Austin
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Folk House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Folk House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 506 W 22nd St, Austin, TX 78705-5204
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > West Campus
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range: $124 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Austin Folk House Hotel Austin
Austin Folk House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing