We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the Best Indian Restaurant We Have Visited”
Review of Royal India - CLOSED

Royal India
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Brodie Ln & West Gate
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We have traveled throughout India and have been to untold number of Indian restaurants in many countries. We think this may be the best Indian cuisine we have had.

Unlike many Indian restaurants, this one has a fully stocked bar and an ample wine selection. From appetizers to desserts everything was tasty and perfectly seasoned. What a joy to dine here with a friendly and attentive staff.

We will have to find a way to return to Austin in the future just to dine here again...

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2008floridatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 21 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

The service is fantastic. The food is great. I have never tasty such good fresh food. It seems like they prepare/blend/grind spices the same day. The taste is so fresh. The atmosphere is very tradional Indian with soft music playing in the back ground. One must visit this restaurant while in Austin Texas.

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HondaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2014

went for a family dinner & all of us ended up with diarrhea & cramps the very next morning. Very disappointed.
The service is nice though, I will give them that.
Definitely not going back.

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We ordered takeaway from Royal India and enjoyed every dish. The pappadum ($2) were crispy and tasty. The butter chicken ($14), lamb saag ($15), and garlic naan ($3.50) all exceeded expectations. We will definitely return.

Date of visit: March 2014
Thank TravellingTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The buffet was one of the best Indian buffets that I have eaten at. There was about 20 choices and a small salad bar.

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing