We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darling and Delicious”

Moonshine Patio Bar & Grill
Ranked #19 of 4,188 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Moonshine Patio Bar & Grill takes you back to a simpler time. Comfortable and familiar, relaxed and easygoing, Moonshine greets guests like family. Serving up great cooking with an innovative take on classic American comfort food, Moonshine's menu satisfies even the big city tastes.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here because reviews were good, menu wasn’t insanely expensive and the charm of the building just brings you in...

There was a bit of a wait but was less than they promised - which is always appreciated.

Mom ordered the pan fried chicken alomndine with a side house salad. I ordered the cornflake fried chicken salad... we both were tired from a long day and weren’t expecting much....

But, to our surprise, it was delicious! Like, really really good.

They serve popcorn while you wait and the glasses and tableware was perfect for the setting. We also tried the rosemary fries... because why not?

Everything that came out of the kitchen looked incredible and we wanted to stay another day to come back and eat some more.

Thank jaureliak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonshineGrill, Owner at Moonshine Patio Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're very happy to know that both you and your mom had a great meal with us after a long day, Jaureliak! Sounds like you guys picked a couple of great dishes -- you can't turn down an order of rosemary fries. We wish you guys would have stayed another day, but now you have an excuse to come back to Austin. Looking forward to your return.

Thank you,
Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 2,597 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited serval times and always been good. Fun bar and patio in the back. Great place to eat and be able to have a conversation.

Thank Bronkco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonshineGrill, Owner at Moonshine Patio Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for being a repeat guest, Bronkco! We're so happy to know that you've always enjoyed your visits to us and that the patio hit the spot for a nice drink and a great conversation. We look forward to your return soon.

We appreciate your review,
Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place was in walking distance to our hotel so we dined here on our first night in town. It’s a fun, casual environment with great burgers. The food was very fresh and prices were reasonable. Austin is a foodie city so even the food carts and ice cream shops can get pricey. One of the best meals we had was at the Moonshine. They have a robust offering of brews but the whiskey and moonshine are the draw for serious drinkers. They have some fun cocktails and very unique appetizers. The warm kale and bacon dip was surprisingly tasty. The cedar plank salmon and the pimento cheese burger were two of our favorite entrees. The favorite desert is the chocolate bread pudding but we refrained from indulging. Our child just started school at the U of Texas so we will be a frequent visitor to Austin and this place is definitely at the top of our favorites list.

Thank Hanna2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonshineGrill, Owner at Moonshine Patio Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for coming in during your visit to Austin! We're honored to be one of your best meals while exploring our city and look forward to your many returns while visiting your child in college.

Thank you,
Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Moonshine is excellent place for Brunch. The covered patio is so nice. Food was delicious and soooo many items to choose from and the breed pudding just top off a great meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonshineGrill, Owner at Moonshine Patio Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for coming in for our Sunday brunch, John! We're glad you enjoyed seating on our patio and that the bread pudding was the highlight of your experience. We appreciate your visit while exploring Austin.

Thank you,
Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We got here just before 10am on Sunday and were able to sit at the bar right away. It started getting busy a few minutes later. Great variety of food on the buffet, and I love the little pastries so you don’t fill up on one biscuit. Everything was good but my favorites were fried chicken, French toast, caramel tart and the Bloody Mary.

Thank snaffle821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoonshineGrill, Owner at Moonshine Patio Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It's great you arrived right on time to beat the line! Thanks for coming in to try our brunch -- the fried chicken and French toast are the perfect way to start your Sunday. Come back and see us next time you're in town.

Thank you,
Jordan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moonshine Patio Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Moonshine Patio Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing