We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected jewel....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Ranked #71 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Corpus Christi, TX
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unexpected jewel....”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I am still staying at the Super 8 Austin and may never leave! It is soooooo nice. There is a library in the lobby and we had 2 books already in our room. The rooms and public areas are squeaky clean. The room is decorated and appointed like much more expensive hotels are. The beds are great, the sheets and linens are higher end. The bathroom is the best. The shower has 2 heads, one wall mounted with 2 different sprays and the other is adjustable height hand held with 6 sprays. There is also a phone in bathroom. The usual shampoo and conditioner are next to the shower cap, toothpaste, 3 soaps and a cute little bud vase.
There is a cuisinart coffee pot in the room as well as a refrigerator and microwave. Free wifi, a lap desk, a regular desk with phone along with a phone beside the bed, and a business center downstairs. There is free breakfast with waffles.....from 6 to 10. There are cappucino machines in the lobby and the breakfast room. I did not check out the exercise area or know if there is a pool. I will be back here every time come to Austin.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank txoilworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    218
    78
    32
    25
See reviews for
216
224
78
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faribault, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This place was great! Everything was very clean, the food was great. The best part is that the staff was very kind and very accomdating. We took a family of 8 people down, and we didn't have any problems. Or if we did, they didn't mind helping us out. Our group of 8 was looking for a room to play some board games in, and they would let us use their breakfast room! Whenever I go to Austin, I know where I am staying at. I would for sure go back, and highly recommend this to anyone who needs a nice, affordable, acommodating place to stay in Austin. This place couldn't have been better!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just returned from a stay at Super 8 South Austin. What a great place!!! The price is very rea!
reasonable and you get many more amenities than you get at your pricier hotels: Free shuttle to the airport, free breakfast (including Belgian waffles); free gift basket in your room; Nintendo WII; exercise room and sauna; massage chair; fresh baked cookies every night; book and DVD library. I know I probably missed something - oh yeah a therapeutic bed and pillows!

Once of the perks I enjoyed the most is the series of faith and daily meditation affirming messages found on the hotel's channel in the early morning hours as well as in the lobby - definitely worth giving a few minutes to read

Finally, the staff was very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Whenever I'm in Austin, I will definitely stay here!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky River
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

Typically one would expect only the basics from this type of chain and price point. We stayed here based on the reviews and where not disappointed. The room and hotel was very clean the staff professional and organized. Unexpected pleasures like the choice of pillows and the very complete breakfast are typically seen at much more expensive hotels. I particularly liked the coffee machine at breakfast. The location suited our needs not far from downtown. The only negative was a somewhat mysterious wet spot on the carpet by the closet cubby where the ironing board was it persisted all 3 days ?? We would definitely stay here again

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Djs45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A couple years ago we took a last minute road trip to Austin. Due to last minute planning, most of our "go-to" hotel choices had no vacancies. We happened to see this hotel, they had a vacancy and it was reasonably priced, so we stayed there. As a result of that wonderful stay, Super 8 Austin Airport-South has become our "go-to" hotel when we visit Austin. Beautiful establishment, very clean, great amenities! They even provide great extras like free gourmet coffee and snacks, a massage chair, shoe shine machine in the lobby. There is a book case of books one may borrow and there is usually a book placed in the room. All rooms I have stayed in have a dvd player and vcr and there are movies that may be checked out. Very kind, thoughtful and helpful staff. I plan on staying there many times in the future!

Room Tip: We have stayed in double/double, king and even the jacuzzi suite and ALLLL are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Excellent attention to detail. Friendly staff. Stayed there on a business trip. last time I was in Austin, I stayed at W, a fancy downtown hotel. I liked this hotel better. Hot complimentary breakfast. Coffee maker, fridge and microwave in the room. Clean. Convenient. I had a whirlpool jacuzzi in my room. From now on, when I go to Austin, I will stay here. If you prefer substance over flash, this is the place. If you want to pay for flashy cache, then stay at W downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the king sized rooms with the whirlpool jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We attended a convention in Austin and we have no choice but to stay in this hotel as everyone is full. We did not regret to stay here because it was clean and Well organized. The hallways smells fresh, clean and well decorated. As we get to the room, I was impressed by the cleanliness as well and with the many amenities. The room has microwave ,fridge, coffee maker including shoe polisher and make up remover. I have never seen 4 phones in one room and tv in the elevator. We were tired and hungry and they welcome us with a free cookies and free water. The breakfast room is also nice and clean. There is always snack in the lobby. It is also good to know that they provide free shuttle to and from the airport as long as you call them in advance. I will choose this hotel if I come back to Austin , but I will make sure I have a car to get around coz it is about 2 miles to go to stores and about 7 miles to downtown. It took us 2 bus transfers to get to downtown. Our experience with the staffs are excellent.they are very courteous and helpful. By the way if you get hungry wendys and jack in the box is close by.Plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room and family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Residence Inn Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport
South Austin
Comfort Suites Austin Airport
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin/Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin/Airport South

Property: Super 8 Austin/Airport South
Address: 3120 Montopolis Drive, Southwest corner of Highway 71 and Montopolis Drive. Behind Jack In The Box, Austin, TX 78744
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#29 Family Hotel in Austin
#34 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin/Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Convention Center, Sixth Street, University of Texas at Austin and Town Lake Super 8 Austin Airport, South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Super 8 Austin / Airport South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. LOCAL ATTRACTIONSOur Austin hotel is convenient to downtown Austin entertainment and attractions. Take a walk around Lady Bird Lake and check out Zilker Botanical Garden along the way. For live music, head to the venues of 6th Street and the Warehouse District, or catch a performance at Austin City Limits. If a campus visit is in your plans, University of Texas is close to our hotel, and major events and conferences at Austin Convention Center are also nearby. Explore Capitol Visitors Center, hike along Town Lake or bring your family to Austin Childrens Museum.DINING OPTIONSSeveral restaurants are within easy reach of our Austin, TX hotel. Try fried catfish or oysters at Catfish Parlour or Mexican food at El Meson. Other choices include 888 Pan Asian and Threadgills Home Cooking. TRANSPORTATION SERVICESReach your terminal in minutes with free shuttle service to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport. Our friendly staff can provide you with details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Austin/Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin Airport, South Hotel Austin
Super 8 Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing