We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly, Nice Pool, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Central
Ranked #105 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family Friendly, Nice Pool, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We just returned from our trip and stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The staff was friendly and the location was a quick drive to most things. While the hotel is a bit older, it does have a Spanish hacienda feel to it which is nice for a change. The lobby had lots of koi/goldfish that my kids loved to visit. The indoor pool was nice and warm and seemed clean. My only complaints would be 1) the dishwasher for the breakfast mugs seemed to be on the blink and 2) the room didn't seem to have any ventilation to the outside so it seemed a little musty - couldn't open any windows or anything to change it. That being said, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    328
    206
    143
    120
See reviews for
338
156
35
530
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Great staff at front desk, breakfast bar and managers reception. These folks go to great lengths to please their guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBG49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

A very average Embassy Suites as the hotel is one of the older ones in the chain. That being said it is in good shape and standard for an ES. Location is convenient to freeway getting north, south, east or west but not the greatest area of town. If you need a central location in Austin close to downtown it is good but other two ES in Austin are better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank be32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed here on recent business trip to Austin and I must say that I was very impressed with this property as well as with the level of service that I received from the staff.
As is stated in the hotel name this property is located in Central Austin about 20 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from downtown Austin and the 6th street area. This hotel is an all-suite property with each room having a separate bedroom and seating areas as well as a small kitchenette with microwave and mini-fridge and a sink etc. It was nice to have the extra space!
The décor of the hotel is very Tex Mex with tile on the floors and an arboretum in the middle of the hotel with koi pond, tiny bridges and vegetation. This area leads to a restaurant onsite as well as to the breakfast area, business center, and pool area. Breakfast is served daily with many hot and cold items and there is a reception every night with snacks and drinks.
The staff here was amazing and really helped us make the most of our trip to Austin. With limited downtime we received excellent recommendations on what we must see as well as great places to eat and drink. The shuttle service from the hotel is great and is a gratuity only service and you can call and have them drop you off or pick you up anywhere. The staff also remembered our names and was very solicitous of our every need. Calls to the front desk were answered promptly and requests met quickly and kindly.
Whether it will be another business trip to the area or one for pleasure I would stay at this property again! It is a great hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This is not the new ES in Austin, but the one we usually stay in when traveling to Austin for business. I typically stay here 2-3 times a year. It is an older property, but the staff is the best. Breakfast staff remembers you (and your preferences) throughout the trip - usually 3-4 nights in duration for me. The front desk is super helpful. We usually book 8-10 rooms and a conference/board room for the duration. The AC was struggling last summer, but the staff was on top of it to make us comfortable as we worked late into the night each night. I ate in the restaurant downstairs once and it was well-prepared.

Room Tip: I've never had a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Four-from-Tyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Very pleased with our stay. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. On a highway but the interior is very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Ive stayed here a alot over the years, for many different things and its always a great stay. Business trips, party weekends downtown, trips to the river, concerts/events, you name it, I stay here.

The location is choice since its in a more centralized location. This keeps the place more upscale and still at a great price. You'll get the most bang for your buck here. Its a shot down the highway to downtown (5 miles maybe) and UT (even closer), further south to the river and lake travis. Or head north and go back toward shopping and chilling in Round Rock. Anywhere you need to go, you can get to quick and simple
No sense in staying downtown in a hotel like this where you'll pay at least $60 more per night. Which turns out to be more like $100 more per night when you factor in parking fee's and whatever else.

The hotel itself is beautiful. The lobby is huge and with all the trees and fountains, it's got kind of a tropical vibe. Not that tropical Hawaiian-shirt vibe but more tropical villa vibe. There are big koi fish and goldfish swimming in the little ponds attached to the fountains and a few mini bridges and terraces that you cross to get to where your headed. see pictures.

There's a steak house on the lower level thats pretty good for a few drinks and a nice meal before heading out. Of course its going to be a bit overpriced but when was the last time you could walk out of your room and into a steakhouse and bar? convenience.

They also do this happy hour thing where you get free drinks and snax for a couple hours per evening. It's nothing to write home about but if you feel the need to pre-booze then have at it. from what i remember the drinks are really small and kind of light on the sauce, so you better be ready to slam em down.

There's also a complimentary breakfast in an area of the first level that is pretty nice. It has all your cold breakfast items, fruit, breads, cereal, juices, donuts, muffins, etc, etc, but it also has HOT items. a breakfast MUST and its good. pancakes, build your own breakfast with eggs, omelets, bacon, sausage, etc. its good if you get up in time to go eat, which i usually dont... but i have a few times and its the bomb. just get up as soon as it opens.

The pool area is always clean and the hot tub works wonders during a hangover day. Its all indoors so its always open. The gym area isnt much but it does the trick. Ive pounded out a few hundred miles on those treadmills over the years and thrown the free weights around like a madman. There's usually never anyone else in there when im staying there so if your a fitness buff you'll probably have the whole place to yourself. Or maybe i'll see you in there one day.

Im not familiar with the business area or anything since I work via laptop. No need for a fax/scanner/printer/etc or computer for internet, but they do have all that.

So the rooms are nice as well. Overall pretty spacious. Pretty big beds, always comfortable, couches in the living room area fold out to beds as well but those arent very comfortable. good place for straggler friends to crash. All your basic amenities, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, 2 tv's in each bigger room, some of the rooms have back balconies in the rooms that will open up to the outside. which is pretty nice if you have a good view of the southeast side or the downtown view. There's a little wet bar in the living room areas and a dressing area within some of the rooms that is good when staying with multiple people in the rooms.The rooms front doors are inside the building facing the lobby so you have easy access directly to your floor via elevators and they are FAST. Speaking of the front doors of the rooms, if you've read complaints about noise outside since the lobby and hotel area is right outside your door, dont worry. its really not that noisy at all except for maybe during a busy weekend in Austin with lots of travelers. There's a middle door that separates the bedroom from the living room area so you can close that as well to block out any noise or bother. and it has a lock on it.

The bathroom was, well... a bathroom. Not too big but was clean and served its purpose. And housekeeping does a fine job of cleaning up.

The staff and service is always amazing. They have a shuttle van that they use for airport pickups and certain things but ive used it for trips to, and from, downtown during weekend nights and for business drop off's on meetings. i've got a corporate connection so i dont know if they do that for everyone but it sure as hell beats calling a taxi.

All in all, this is another one of my go-to hotels when im in that area. book early and stay here. 2 thumbs up.

Room Tip: always try to get a room on the top floor and in a corner. its the most quiet, private, and makes fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thecool272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Johns
Drury Inn & Suites Austin North
Northwest Austin
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin Arboretum
Crowne Plaza Austin
#28 of 202 in Austin
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Central

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Central
Address: 5901 North I-35, Austin, TX 78723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Central 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing