We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good deal for the money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn Austin University Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Austin University Area
Ranked #153 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Dallas
Level Contributor
543 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“good deal for the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Good central location for this La Quinta. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly. Room was very clean but it has not been updated like it seems most la quintas I have gone to lately have. This was the least expensive Laquinta in the Austin area at the time I booked it. I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangojohnDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    57
    75
    51
    44
See reviews for
82
40
17
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Exterior halls/door. Dirty towel on the sink. Burning smell from the light. Poor breakfast. Did I really save that much?

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rylie2719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

The hotel room was very dirty. There were also bugs on the bathroom counter. When I informed the employee at the front desk, he handed me a key to another room. No apologies, I'll get someone to clean the room, nothing. The second room was a mirror-image of the first one. I left and went to another hotel. Would not recommend this hotel! To ANYONE!!

Room Tip: Go to a hotel where cleanliness and customer service matters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tremt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Clean, economical, great location. Not as nice as the one down the road, but not as expensive. Breakfast was minimal but adequate-- most La Quinta's have waffles that you cook yourself, but this location has waffles that need to be toasted. If you have pets, beware of the psycho manager of the Ramada next door. If your dog even looks at the Ramada, he will yell and scream like a madman. He even yells if you are on a public sidewalk.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galvez_chucke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

The hotel was kind of outdated and not too much to it..I went for Heatwave which is a car show , so I pretty much just used it to go to sleep. I kinda wished I would of stayed at the Quinta right down the road which is an indoor hotel. All in all, it was a good hotel though as far as service it was good..The pool was outside and it looked clean(never got in). The hotel is by the hwy but the noise was not bad at all . I was able to sleep in like a baby. The Continental Bfast was ok..didnt have any waffles just bagels, fruit , and cereal.
I like quintas but they need to fix some of the out dated ones like this one..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srt_unit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Old, located next to I35, loud traffic noise, exterior entry, located in a substandard part of town, horrible breakfast, mattress was hard, pillows were flat, towels and soap are dollar store brand. The clerk swere frendily, only good aspect of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 55857Tella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

We were traveling to San Antonio and decided to rest our heads at this hotel. It's the cheapest compared to other La Quinta's in the area and is good enough if you only need a place to sleep.
The bathtubs are a bit odd due to elevation, but the staff/manager/front desk clerk(?) is very pleasant and courteous. I was expecting a lot of highway noise due to it's proximity to I-35, but I didn't have a problem sleeping at all.
I wouldn't swim in the pool due to its questionable greenish color or walk around the area alone at night, but it's decent enough if you are traveling through or want to make a quick trip to see the sights in Austin.
If you plan to stay longer than maybe you will want to invest in a more comfortable/cleaner hotel in a better area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgamarra28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.5 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
0.2 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#163 of 197 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin Central
0.5 km away
Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
0.2 km away
Courtyard Austin-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn Austin University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin University Area

Property: La Quinta Inn Austin University Area
Address: 5812 I-35 North, Austin, TX 78751
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just north of downtown Austin, the La Quinta Inn Austin University Area is only minutes from the Austin Convention Center, Texas State Capitol, Travis County Expo Center, and the University of Texas. Visit Bob Bullock State History Museum, 6th Street and the Wareho...see moreuse District, and the LBJ Presidential Library and Museum. No visit to Austin is complete without seeing the famous Congress Avenue Bats and the Star of Texas Fair and Rodeo. The La Quinta Inn Austin University Area has everything you need for a pleasant stay, including a helpful courteous staff. Spacious guest rooms come with such amenities as a free high-speed Internet access, a hair dryer, coffee maker, voice mail, HBO, movies on-demand, and video games. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool for your relaxation. Enjoy our Free Bright Side Breakfast every morning. Located near the Highland Mall, just north of downtown Austin at the southwest corner of I-35 and Highway 290. Stay here for the Republic of Texas Biker Rally, Austin City Limits Music Festival, the Austin Film Festival, and the South by Southwest Media Festival ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, LaQuinta and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Highland Mall Hotel Austin
Austin La Quinta
La Quinta Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing