We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of West Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my niece for two nights what a delightful experience. Everything was perfect - the room, the friendly staff, the food, even the delightful guests all contributed to make this a perfect choice. Definitely recommend the West Mountain Inn to anyone.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank ann marie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2017

We have been coming to the West Mountain Inn for almost 20 years ever since our son and daughter-in-law were married there. It is such a warm, welcoming and relaxing place. The Innkeepers, dining room staff and housekeeping staff are so friendly and helpful. Any season is a perfect time for a visit. The whole Inn is kept spotless and the food is delicious. Our visits 2 or 3 times a year are the BEST !!

Room Tip: Any room is lovely. If stairs trouble you, they have a room on the first floor and several rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CarolCGma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Three nights in the Daniel Webster suite. Meals were exceptional and the staff could not have been more accommodating. To Amy, Debbie, Karen and Paul, thank you for seeing that our every need was met. We hope to get back soon!

Room Tip: Check the Inn's web page for photos of the rooms. I peeked into every one of them and you will...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Had a wonderful time! Stayed in one of the mill house apartments, which was very cozy, and really enjoyed relaxing in the main building and having dinners and breakfasts there. Very friendly atmosphere, and beautiful property for nature walks on the mountain.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

My husband and I spent Thanksgiving 2017 at this beautiful spot in Arlington VT. We made our reservations late so we did not get to stay in the Inn itself. We stayed in the Mill House that is located below the Inn at the beginning of the driveway. The mill house has three units to stay in. The two end units have wood burning stoves. The one we stayed in did not. This unit is cute, cozy and rustic. There is a living room, kitchen and upstairs is two bedrooms with king beds and one bathroom. We had an issue with the heat on the first floor. When we mentioned it to the front desk person the problem was handled promptly. If you are a very tall person the upstairs bedrooms and tub/shower have low ceilings. You might have issues with the low ceilings. I am 5'7" and I had no problem touching the ceiling. The bathroom is basic, tub, toilet, one sink. (could use a bit of an update. Tile grout stained. Shower water faucet only moves up and down. Turning to adjust water temp did not work. But it did work and served its purpose. If you stay at the Inn the driveway is dirt/gravel, steep and has some deep gully/holes on the way up. If you have a low car be aware of this. In winter, in my opinion, you'll need 4wd. The Inn is charming and beautiful. There is a bar with plenty of room to sit at small tables. They also serve appitizers. The living room area is large and spacious with a very warm wood burning stove. The dining room is spacious as well. We had two breakfasts and two dinners at the Inn. I loved the steel cut oats oatmeal. Omelet was prepared nicely. There is standard menu plus specials for breakfast and dinner. For dinner I had the chicken pot pie. It was very tasty but a small portion for $14. Salad was very nice as well. Thanks giving dinner was wonderful. Moist delicious turkey, homemade cranberry sauce, mashed potato, stuffing and Brussel sprouts. For an appy I had the pumpkin-butternut squash soup. Hubby has the scallops and loved them a lot. Apple and pumpkin pie and three other desserts as well. There was a other entrees to choose from as well. There was always a vegetarian choice, if needed.
I would definitely come back to stay again, but I'd like to stay at the Inn. The Inn has hiking trails on site. Norman Rockwell exhibit near by as well as the house NR grew up in and a covered bridge. Lovely cheese shop up the street. Stratton mountain is close.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Mill House. Walls are thin. Crying children can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

Spent 4 nights here celebrating my wife's birthday. All I can say is WOW! Staff very friendly and helpful, Dinner was VERY good, and BREAKFAST is awesome - you won't believe how filling it is!!! There is even a resident golden retriever named LUNA who will probably come lay her head one your lap - sooo cute!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Savage93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Have stayed in the area at a few different B&B's and this one by far is the nicest overall.
From the quaint beautiful rooms to the EXCELLENT breakfast and STAFF you are not going to find a nicer place.

You can relax in the very nice common rooms or take hikes on the trails on their property either way it's a win win

We were on a weekend getaway during the off season and there was plenty to do and see

We DEFINITELY plan to return

Room Tip: Any of the rooms can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
12.7 km away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
14.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
17.6 km away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Arlington Inn
Arlington Inn
#5 of 8 in Arlington
154 reviews
5.6 km away
Hill Farm Inn
Hill Farm Inn
#2 of 8 in Arlington
91 reviews
5.9 km away
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Mountain Inn

Address: 144 West Mountain Inn Road, Intersection River Rd and Rte 313, Arlington, VT 05250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range: $230 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to the West Mountain Inn are surrounded by spacious, antique-filled guest rooms, fantastic views, and 150 acres of gardens, lawns, and woodlands. Guests can explore miles of trails, visit alpacas, walk our labyrinth, flyfish or canoe the Battenkill River and relax in the Adirondack chairs on the front lawn. The Inn’s wood-paneled dining room provides the perfect setting for the lavish breakfasts and sumptuous 5-course dinners created daily by our award-winning chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your West Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Mountain Hotel Arlington
West Mountain Inn Arlington, VT - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing